We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not good at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cartoon Hotel
Ranked #823 of 1,114 Hotels in Istanbul
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not good at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I recently stayed in Cartoon hotel Istanbul for 5 days, and would not recommend it to anyone for many reasons such as (1) very small rooms, (2) breakfast was terrible (3) front desk always extremely busy so you have to wait so long just to get to talk to them (hotel is very understaffed), and location is not quite as was suggested to us by the travel agent. Overall poor and definitely not going there again.

Room Tip: There are simply no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walid_F_Saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    85
    90
    49
    30
See reviews for
67
82
25
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo-Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed there with my family for 7 days ,the hotel location is perfect with a walking distance to isteklal st Taksim square and Under groung station.
Room quality is fair and you can hear all outside noise if you are in early floors...breakfast is good for 4 star hotel.
It was good value for money but will try another in my next visit.

Room Tip: Try the higher floors to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mezz-Nono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was spacious and clean..The downside was it's location in the ground floor where you could hear conversations on the street if you decide to keep the windows open. The hotel has central heating and during winter we find it a bit too hot and we had to keep the windows open to sort of equalize the temperature. Hotel staff are fairly polite. Location is strategic but currently construction is ongoing in front the hotel. Breakfast is nice but same menu for all the 4 days we are there. Overall, decent place for low price and strategic location.

Room Tip: Any rooms above the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivasini A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The air condition is not working and when I asked about it they tolled me open the window , one of the elevators out of service due to maintenance for one week , the rooms is not similar there are big and small ones with the same rates u must refuse the small one in order to get the bigger one,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashraf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The room was large with good facilities. However the wifi and the jug didn't work and the window wouldn't close. There were not many western guests. The room faced a busy road which made sleep difficult at times. There was a problem with the reception staff. As a result I missed an important business appointment because I was registered as being from an incorrect country. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimps575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

-AC was hot! Outside tempreture @night was better than the room, even a fan was not provided upon request!
-Bed sheets are not very clean! We booked a triple room, the sofa was converted to bed however u could feel the metal when u sleep on it! They did not place a proper matress
-Bathrooms smell weird even when not used!
-no iron provided upon request!
-limited/repeated food items for breakfast

Overall, I'd rate the hotel as 2 stars, I will never stay here again nor recommend it 2others!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donknow_doncare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 4 nights at cartoon hotel, the hotel is clean with good breakfast and cheap price.
Rooms are clean and the hotel is near istiklal street and taksim square
However there are bars and clubs everywhere so u cant sleep on saturday nights because of the very annoying music

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hasan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#445 of 1,114 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#133 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Beyoglu
Alkoclar Keban Hotel
Alkoclar Keban Hotel
#376 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#114 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Beyoglu
Taksim Metropark Hotel
Taksim Metropark Hotel
#470 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#487 of 1,114 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Property: Cartoon Hotel
Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#409 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing