We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cartoon Hotel
Ranked #980 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Cartoon hotel has an ideal location - right next to Taksim square and Istiklal. So very very convenient.

Otherwise, it has small rooms, but all amenities present. Some rooms are noisy, especially if you are close to or facing the road.

Good value for money compared to other hotels in the same location.

Room Tip: Away from the road...higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    91
    92
    51
    31
See reviews for
71
87
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Ive been to Istanbul twice in my lifetime and the two years I chose to stay at Cartoon. It is of ideal location, being a 2 minute walk from taxim square. The staff speaks english and comprehends minimal arabic. If I decide to visit turkey again, this hotel will definitely be my temporary home a thrid time!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hahaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

With a great location in Taksim square and friendly reception, Cartoon is the best economy hotel I have ever been in.
The hotel is near bus and metro stations, and it is only 2 minute walk to Istiklal Caddesi, the most famous road in Istanbul, with lots of attractions and shops.

In comparison to Antalia hotels, like many other hotels in Istanbul, Cartoon provide less services and is not luxurious. The rooms and lobby are small, but the atmosphere is excellent. The reception is polite and help me in finding any places I wanted to visit; moreover, they helped me to find the cheapest way to go!

The most advantages of this restaurant is its breakfast table! you can find almost every delicious food on the table. Don't miss olive and fig!
I heard that the hotel has a good Argentinian Restaurant, but I didn't try it.

Room Tip: 1- The hotel has free WIFI with good speed. 2- The hotel is at Taksim square, so chose your room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatemeh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Sadly after checking the reviews I decided to stay there for 3 nights, and I booked there. First of all there are lots of constructions going there all around the hotel, which makes it very difficult to go anywhere or even enjoy any view.
The rooms are extremley small, the bathrooms aren't that clean, and also very small.
I got locked inside the bathroom, and after a couple of minutes with the help of somebody outside I managed to get out, and then when I got out I closed it and it was locked again. I called the reception and the man who talked to me tried to convince me that I'm the cause of the problem that I'm using the bathroom lock as it's somehow should be a decoration not for use. The conversation took half an hour as I wanted to leave the room, and he didn't want to or maybe he didn't have any empty rooms, so I left the hotel exactly after one night.
The day of my departure they were cleaning the lobby, and the cleaning lady came to us while we were sitting waiting for our car to come, and waved to us to left up our legs so she can clean underneath the couch we were sitting on.
Maybe I'm unlucky in this day, but really this is the last time I would ever think of going to this hotel again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khaled H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very good hotel, good location. Only rooms are small. Breakfast buffet needs to be renewed at least three times per week cause same breakfast every day is a bit boring. Over all good value for this price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karim-ashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

i read so many hotel reviews before i decide where to stay in Istanbul. To be honest, I was a bit hesitating when I read the reviews of cartoon hotel. But i decided to book it anyway because of its location and value for money. The minute i checked in i realised that the reviews were not very fair.. The reception guy is so friendly and helpful.. our stay in the hotel was for 7 nights, so he voulenteerly gave us a large room even though i booked the standard room. when i walked into the room it was very satisfactory. not very large but large enough. the bathroom was very nice and clean.. no bad smells what so ever. the elevator is not very good but will do the job. house keeping was very good. breakfast was very good and with many varieties, but same items everyday.In general, I strongly recommend this hotel for your stay in Istanbul.
.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m0ataz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Al Qahirah, Egypt
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Cartoon hotel that,s very good hotel
and breakfast is very good taste and stuf there was very friendly
don,t listen to any body that tell you that,s not good hotel
very good hotel
try it and you will win

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shady B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Taksim Gonen
Taksim Gonen
#525 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#443 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#527 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taxim Hill Hotel
Taxim Hill Hotel
#864 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#352 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Beyoglu
Aston Residence
Aston Residence
#409 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Property: Cartoon Hotel
Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#481 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing