We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cartoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cartoon Hotel
Ranked #979 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Alexandria, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cartoon hotel is in a very good place in the center of istanbul, very near to taksim square and istiklal st. The breakfast in the hotel is nice and plentiful. The disadvantage of the hotel is that the hotel is small and the ordinary rooms are small and there is a bad smell in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farid s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    91
    92
    51
    31
See reviews for
71
87
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
egypt cairo
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel's location was more than perfect 2min walk for istiklal street a great shopping place u can enjoy a late stroll or bite there and don't carry bags around 3 min and put them in ur hotel room the breakfast was good it is a nice small hotel a real bed and breakfast I recommend it

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EgyptCairoFunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Cartoon hotel 

I stayed in cartoon hotel on September 2012
As a whole I can never give this hotel a 4 star rating 
Yet allow me to give you the review , I will try to be fair as far as I can 
1- location
Actually this is the main advantage of the hotel and it's biggest asset , it is 2 blocks from taksim square , actually if u have a street view in ur room , u can see taksim square from ur room 
Yet to be fair for the same price or few dollars more u can get another hotel with equal distance 
Many shops are around to supply basics , fruits , water and potato chips for a midnight snack , but do not try other varieties here as they will rip u off , and always ask for the price before you buy
The street is busy all day long around , this is safe but very bad if you are not accustomed to sleep in a traffic jammed town
2- cleanliness 
I can rate it as 6 of 10 , it is clean but not super clean , if you have a clean errors picking eye ,  then your stay there will not be fun 
3- lobby 
The lobby is very basic 
It is very narrow and cannot take 10 standing persons 
It has  three couches and 6 chairs 
The hotel is very crowded in the morning , this is when u can barely stand 
The stuff speaks moderate English ( and this is a big problem in your whole stay in turkey , it starts in the airport and will accompany you in your whole trip )
2 elevators are in the lobby , they can hold  two chubby people with no bags , it is horrible to wait for an empty elevator in rush hours or when a group is checking in , plus the elevators are that the spiral type that you cannot use when u r in a hurry or carrying anything
4- breakfast 
Another positive item for this hotel , breakfast is full , stuffed with everything you might need and can satisfy many tastes 
The bakery is fresh and fruits are wonderful 
But the daily problem is to find a seat to have ur breakfast upon , specially between 9 and 10 am 
Another problem that it is the same breakfast every day , so in extended stay it starts to get on your  nerves
5- rooms 
Tiny , and I guess tiny is the word for it , the whole hotel is , and I guess that it needed cartoon figures to live in it not real people
Refurbished , silly picture on the wall , very basic , with a mini bar and nice mirror and a safe inside the closet 
The AC is horrible - actually the weather during the night is better in the streets than the room with the AC on and set on 15 degree celsius
The hotel has plumbing problem , there is sometimes weird smells coming from the bathroom even if no one is inside 
Towels are changed daily and shampoo is refilled

Verdict 
It is a barely 3 star hotel in my book 
Good location if this is what you search for 
No view , not for honeymooners 
for me I won't come again here but I tried to be as fair as possible 
Have a safe trip 
And good luck

Room Tip: Stay away from street view if u want to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waelmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

It's not all a matter of location, when it comes cleanliness & service.
The AC is not working in the rooms & the hotel sure has a sewage problem as the hotel once you enter the lobby & the coridors smells like a bathroom & the pillows are terrible.
After spending a night we changed to a smaller room with a modern design but still have the same problems, receptionist are trying to show that they are helpful but the are not, it seems that's they don't need any customers.

this a 2 star hotel that worth no more than 20$/night

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

An excellent hotel if you’re looking for the best location in Istanbul which is taxim square .....so close to the metro station and one minute far from istiklal street, cartoon hotel was our choice for the 2012 new year vacation, our trip was for 4 nights it wasn’t the first time but first time @ cartoon a decent hotel that I can recommend to all my friends good staff, standard rooms and clean,wifi inside the rooms and loby,regular breakfast .....Everything was fine not to forget the good rates per room....if you don't seek luxury go ahead and book it..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_yas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Very good service, perfect location (Taksim Square), very clean room with comfortable king size bed, great breakfast with a lot of variety. For us, it was also an excellent value for money since we got the room with a discount. Overall, we were delighted with this 4-star hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank areusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Th hotel was centrally located for the new city with very good transport to the old city. The room we received was in the 'residence' behind the main hotel and was a large room with salon, very clean and ornately decorated. The staff were charming and helpful. We were very very impressed considering the price we paid. Definite recommendation for the mid-price tourist

Room Tip: the 'residence' room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Taksim Gonen
Taksim Gonen
#527 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Beyoglu
InnPera Hotel
InnPera Hotel
#438 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Beyoglu
Senator Hotel Taksim
Senator Hotel Taksim
#517 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Taxim Hill Hotel
Taxim Hill Hotel
#864 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Beyoglu
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
Germir Palas Hotel Istanbul
#351 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Beyoglu
Aston Residence
Aston Residence
#398 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cartoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cartoon Hotel

Property: Cartoon Hotel
Address: Tarlabasi Bulvari No.36 | Taksim, Istanbul 34435, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#482 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cartoon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cartoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cartoon Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing