We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple perfect budget hotel - totally recommend !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Aslan Istanbul
Ranked #505 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We wanted to extend our business trip over the weekend for leisure and we decided to stay in the historical part of Istanbul. We were staying in a quite expensive hotel that honestly didnt match the quality of stay offered at Aslan. First of all, we were welcomed by a great receptionist that was expecting us and knew who we were. Although we had to pay our rooms before seeing them, and the conversion rate was made by a calculator without any official reference, everything was very clean and of good quality. Dont expect a design hotel, its simple but with everything you need. Good mattress, cupboards, hairdryer, shampoo etc. The airco was also working really well. Breakfast was included and was very good as well with lots of choices and free warm egg dishes. We regreted that there was no fresh orange juice. What we also liked was that tea and coffee is available for free at all time at the reception and u can go and sit on the roof terrace overlooking the sea and the blue mosque at any time! If I go back to Istanbul, ill def stay there ! Price and quality were EXCELLENT.

Room Tip: I had the room just up the stairs from reception and I could sometimes hear the receptionist talking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmauryXH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

We stayed the week before the busy summer tourist season and were surprised to find we were the only Americans in this lovely full hotel. The complimentary free breakfast with fresh local apricots, figs and other local fare was delightful with views of the famous Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the Bosphorus. We also had an incomparable view of the water from our balcony. Staff were helpful and humorous. I loved the contrast of some of the ornate decor combined with a wall-mounted flat screen TV and free WIfi. Location is unbeatable. We walked to Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Grand Bazaar and even the Spice Market. A wide variety of quaint, yet cosmopolitan restaurant/cafes with superb flavorful cuisine conveniently nearby. Many transform to water pipe "chill bars" at night. I can truly say that I have never stayed in such a beautiful hotel. My only small complaint was that our bathroom did not appear to have been cleaned when we requested a room cleaning and the shower floor filled with water quickly. These are very small issues. I am not sure why other reviewers label this a budget hotel. Of course, we had one of the suites on the 4th floor with a balcony--and it was fairly priced--not budget priced. I would happily recommend Hotel Aslan to anyone and everyone who travels to this exotic and incomparably beautiful city.

Room Tip: I think it's worth the extra money for a higher level suite room with a balcony and amazing view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TraveltoliveMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I have never met a Turkish hotel where the reception was anything but warm and friendly and this well-situated small establishment is no exception. The rooms are small, which is usually the case in hotels in Sultanahmet which are converted pirvate houses. Free wifi, good breakfast on an enclosed rooftop terrace. Rather cheaper than some of the competition.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pantagruelParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We came home three times and found our window wide open. There was even
paint on the bed and on the door handle of the room! The worst part was how the manager and the owner treated me when I raised the issue. The manager's defence was "don't you trust us" and "well what else could we do?". My job was to answer these questions although I really didn't get a word in edgeways with him. The owner's response was even better. He said, " you should say thank you to us" and "but you weren't in the room while we did it were you!" and finally weighed in with "I'm the owner I can do what I like". So if you want your room renovated (badly) while you stay you know where to go.

It's a no more than average hotel but unfortunately because I went during Easter I paid almost £100 a night. If I'd paid half that obviously I wouldn't have mined so much but if you pay that sort of money you expect slightly more.

I'd also like to say that most of the staff worked really hard to make our stay pleasant, especially the sweet young boy at breakfast. If you're reading this patronising manager and fat owner, you should be ashamed of undoing all the good work of your staff/family.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms are under the restaurant so
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mellifluous2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest ;
First of all thank you for comment .

Our hotel owners and operators are changed 4 months ago .

All problems have been solved in our hotel .

We apologize for much from you.

We are honored to welcome you to our hotel again..Please forgive us ..

To meet again with you.

Best Regards ;
HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2010

Hotel Aslan is a small, budget, low-rise hotel (with a lift that works!) within walking distance of all the Sultanahmet region has to offer. A highlight was the ever efficient and helpful manager with a sense of humour who made every departure and homecoming a pleasant experience and was a constant source of good sightseeing advice. Breakfast overlooking the Bosphorous and the Blue Mosque was always a pleasant experience. The hotel was clean, everything seemed to work well (including the wireless internet) and the hotel was well organised. The only downside was the rooms were on the small side and most of the restaurants nearby were (not surprisingly given the location) aimed at tourists. I have no hesitation recommending Hotel Aslan. I thought it was very good value (it pays to book ahead and get cheaper rates) and have already recommended it to friends who are intending to visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joy_s7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

This is a small hotel in an excellent situation at the quieter end of the main bar/restaurant strip in Sultanhamet. We booked 4 nights (60 euros a night) and they included a free transfer from the airport which was great. Unfortunately the room we were allocated was awful; a tiny room on the ground floor at the back with no window. We spent the first night here but the next day they moved us to the first floor at the front. Still a small room but at least with a window over the street. The higher floors are the suites and much more expensive. Breakfast was good and served on the terrace (very hot!) with a view of the sea. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. Free internet on computers in the lobby along with free tea and coffee.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMR243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Hotel Aslan is a wonderful hotel and I will recommend it. The staff is very friendly and helpful, always giving tips on where, how and what to see. The hotel is great value for money - clean, neat, comfortable and in short walking distance from the main sites. We had a great stay at Hotel Aslan!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camillaocosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTELASLANISTANBUL, Sahibi at Hotel Aslan Istanbul, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2015

Dear Guest

Before all else thank you for your reviews.

We would like to see you again..

Thank & Regards;

HOTEL ASLAN İSTANBUL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Lamp Hotel
Lamp Hotel
#566 of 1,178 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Divalis Hotel
Divalis Hotel
#280 of 1,178 in Istanbul
170 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#371 of 1,178 in Istanbul
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Askin Hotel
Askin Hotel
#978 of 1,178 in Istanbul
73 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultan Hill
Hotel Sultan Hill
#415 of 1,178 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Sultanahmet
Aristocrat Hotel
Aristocrat Hotel
#282 of 1,178 in Istanbul
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aslan Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aslan Istanbul

Address: Akbiyik Caddesi 63 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $26 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aslan Istanbul 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aslan Istanbul offers a rooftop terrace with views of the Marmara Sea . The hotel offers air-conditioned accommodation units LCD TV. Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, all spacious rooms and suites in the Hotel Istanbul mesafededir.Asl 3 minutes walk from the hotel , free Wi-Fi , wooden floors and a minibar. A private bathroom in each accommodation unit , hair dryer and toiletries place almaktadir.Restor breakfast buffet is served daily in the panoramic terrace. The terrace has an adjoining bar . A 2- minute walk from numerous dining options and bars , LOCATED Staff at the 24 -hour reception provides room service during limited hours . Staff also Ataturk Airport ( 15 km) and Sabiha Gokcen Airport (35 km ) 's services are available in the immediate vicinity ayarlamaktadir.Otel free parking. Sultanahmet Tram Stop and Basilica Cistern is a 5 -minute walk from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Aslan Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing