We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a happy experience”
Review of Nippon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nippon Hotel
Ranked #323 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a happy experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel provided no response to my challenge regarding our 20 room hotel bill. There was an issue over one night (out of ~100 nights for our group). The hotel management is obviously out to wring every last cent out of guests pockets. I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. The hotel attitude angered 20 guests over the one night issue and they have no idea how the word-of-mouth- poison pill will damage their reputation.

The hotel is quite far from the airport; very expensive taxi fare ! Istanbul's heavy traffic makes this hotel very time consuming to use, unless you plan to visit only the Taksin Square area.

I was not happy with the circumstances of my stay and thus rate it only two out of five.

Room Tip: watch your wallet. They charge for every slightest thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank tcmn43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    226
    91
    24
    12
See reviews for
72
108
44
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a colleague for a recent conference. This was held at the ICC which is only a brief walk from this hotel. It is also a very short walk to Taksim Square, and then on to Istiklal Street. Reception staff were friendly, and the staff member for giving assistance to the side of the reception desk was very helpful for organising dinner reservations, transport and tours (although the suggestion for a hammam was a bit off the mark).

The room I had was facing another hotel on the street. Even though I had read about lots of noise, during the week it was fine. The only noise I heard in the morning was car horns and a bit of yelling, but not bad. I had two singles beds. Pillows were a bit flat and small, but the mattress and quilt were good. Bathroom was clean and shower was good. The mini bar looked adequate, but I didn't use it. Room service was good, and not too early.

Breakfast on the restaurant level was included with my tariff. Continental and hot available, although the "sausages" looked quite strange - sliced up and served in pink liquid. Not very appetizing. Cheeses, breads and fruits were much better. The floors proved to be very slippery if any liquid was spilled, as I witnessed one lady fall and hit her head! Beware!

The business centre on the same level was helpful for internet (complimentary) access and printer use for boarding passes - you'll have to be careful with the Turkish keyboard.

There was one occasion when I smelled a sewerage odour in the lobby. My colleague had smelled it the week before on 2 days. Not sure if it was their lobby toilets, but it was not pleasant.

Room Tip: If a quiet room is necessary, ask for one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittycat888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed in Nippon hotel a year ago last October , first they gave a room at the back side of the hotel in which there was a big wall no view , the next day I asked for changing the room they gave me street view which was far more better, it's close to main taksim square , near many resturants , good transportation location near metro and bus station over all it was good experience , although it didn't offer anything special or extraordinary . Just normal clean hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A320mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very pretty hotel, situated at Taksim Place. Staff was very friendly and attentive.
Room was absolutly spotless and came with free water/coffee and a fruit basket.

The breakfast was ok, but there were no choices regarding coffee (just came black, no turkish coffee either)
Overall I have no complaints, but had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sway_thunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here when I was attending a conference at the conference centre. It was a easy 10 minute walk. Also easy access to public transport. Rooms where clean if a little small. Breakfast was good. The wifi was free and reasonable fast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We last stayed at the Nippon on our first guided tour of Istanbul 20 years ago, but when the opportunity to return presented itself, due to an event at the nearby ICC, we didn't hesitate to return!
We had no memory of the hotel as it now presents itself - I'm sure it has had multiple make-overs in between - but the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff were as remembered.
After a day out in Istanbul the coolness of the room was blissful! The room was well equiped, with a choice of pillows and a very comfy bed, not to mention the mini-bar and safe. The only thing a little too-minimalist for our taste was the lack of storage.
And on that note, I would mention that the double bed had only one bedside light so that if you were not ready to fall asleep as soon as you got into bed, reading, for one, was a challenge!
The position of the hotel would be hard to better, being only 5 minutes from Taksim square, but now (we didn't remember this!) surrounded by restaurants (many of high quality) as well.
Breakfast was included in our booking and presented a fabulous range of choices served by happy and smiling staff.
There is free WiFi throughout the hotel, so whether you are staying for business or leisure, this hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Nippon hotel for 1 week. It was a great stay. First of all it's only 2 min far from taksim square, istiklal street, metro, bus stations and taxis.
We had only breakfast at the hotel and it was very good.
Rooms were very clean but not spacious.
Some rooms have street view and others have no view at all
Staff were very helpful and gave us info about places and transportation.
Free wifi excellent in the lobby but not that good on the rooms.
Avoid room no. 15 in each floor because it's exactly the housekeeping room and you can hear the noise when they start taking things to clean in the morning
The overall review, is that you can surely ignore the negatives for tje location and the polite service.
We called the reception to send a technician to check the AC and he came in less than 5 min.
The hotel is considered first class hotel but because it has no swimming pool so it took 4 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NizarSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Midtown Hotel
Midtown Hotel
#127 of 1,155 in Istanbul
640 reviews
Beyoglu
Point Hotel Taksim
Point Hotel Taksim
#157 of 1,155 in Istanbul
864 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#197 of 1,155 in Istanbul
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#344 of 1,155 in Istanbul
428 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
#280 of 1,155 in Istanbul
179 reviews
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#414 of 1,155 in Istanbul
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nippon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nippon Hotel

Property: Nippon Hotel
Address: Topcu Cad. No: 6 | Taksim, Talimhane, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#221 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nippon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by Japanese minimalist design, this hotel offers a unique setting for your visit to the exciting shopping and entertainment district of central Istanbul. The Nippon lies just off the famous Taksim Square and a 5-minute walk from the bustling streets and nightlife of Nisantasi. Frequent and convenient metro services connect the hotel to the historic centre, just 20 minutes away by foot. After a days business or sightseeing, unwind back at the hotel's well-equipped fitness centre. The trendy restaurant offers a variety of Turkish and international cuisine to enhance your experience. Other facilities include a free Wi-Fi service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nippon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nippon Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing