We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next to active demolition site and no hot water for 3 days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galata Antique Hotel
Ranked #511 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This was an uninhabitable hotel. It is nicely decorated and in an interesting part of town but it is uninhabitable. There is no hot water. That is unacceptable. Further, the hotel should have disclosed that there is an active all day and night demolition site next door . Cannot recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Desigal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 167 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location. This is the neighborhood where you should stay. Lots of restaurants and cafes around the corner. Very nice atmosphere. The tunnel is around the corner and gets you to the brides where you can take the tram. The room is rather small but clean and with a good bed and a nice bathroom. Breakfast is on topfloor where you have a view of the city. Very nice. Friendly staff though they failed to get us a table on new years evening, we had to do that ourselves.

Room Tip: Room with a view. Third floor or above.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AgnesFurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

loud construction site next door with hammering noise all day long
inflexible late-check out policy even during low occupancy time in november
very small attic (premium) room
expensive
great location
clean
nice view from attic room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank better w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our style for travelling and criteria is for budget hotels at a great price and location, clean and basic rooms, a helpful staff and basic amenities met without fail. Galata Antique meets all of our criteria. Hence, it is fully recommended to all who share our preference. Lesser reviews of this hotel miss the point. We prefer a basic room albeit small to enable us to "crash" at night and be ready for the next day of sightseeing. We want value. If you are willing to pay two or three times as much for a hotel with larger rooms, a piano bar and other stuff you may not use this is not your hotel. If you prefer our criteria this is the place for you. We have stayed at at least 100 comparable hotels over Europe and Asia and Galata Antique fares well.

Gordon from Toronto wrote a favorable review about this hotel a little earlier this year. Please read his review as well. We relied upon his sage advise and agree with everything he stated.

In summary, this hotel is in the niche of value hotels with great locations, helpful staff and meeting all of the basic amenities. We will stay at Galata Antique again. So should you.

Room Tip: Look beyond the marketing and hype. Examine the basics reported by reliable sources.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RPRBBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

hotel itself: disapointing. nice style but overpriced compared to the sevice delivered.
we were 2 friends in holydays and we took a superior twin room (144 euros/night) to have more place than in the standard rooms (110 euros/night) : the room was abnormaly small, very small place for our 2 suitcases, very small closet . there was 1lamp (bedside) for 2 beds. no outlet to recharge the laptops. no outlet to recharge mobile phones . To work on my laptop in the night I had to unplug the bedside (to recharge my laptop ) and to turn on the chandelier of the room causing inconvenience to my friend. also impossible to work on the desk which was very narrow and the TV was hooked just on the wall of the desk (impossible for my friend to look TV if I work on the desk) . to recharge the mobiles we had to use the outlet of the bathroom (the one of the electric razor) and to put the phone in equilibrium on the hair dryer.
breakfast: nice vue on the bosphorus but poor breakfast and not good testing. the orange juice was a chemical one.
location of the hotel: strategic location in the district of Tunel : nice and quiet area at 2mn walk from"Istiklal road" where you can have fun all night, at 5mn walk from the nice district of galata tour. the hotel is located just near the Metro going to "Taksim place" (1 station from the hotel) and just near the old Metro called "Tunel" which takes you to karakoy district ,galata bridge which connects the 2 sides of the golden horn/ (you can cross galata bridge by walk and arrive directly in front of the "egyptian market" and Eminonu station for Bosphorus cruises).
the staff: gentle but not professionnal
until now I am not convainced that my room was a superior one. when I complained to the staff in the night they answered : your room is a standard one not a superior one . wait until tomorrow and see with the direction of the hotel. In the morning the person in charge answered that it was a superior one and thee was no possibility to change the room because the hotel was full. when I looked on the web the hotel was not full.
conclusion: despite the strategic position of the hotel I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Taking very small rooms with min luxury into account, the rates are very high. Location is perfect. But you can find the service with the same standart at a lower price even next to the Galata Antique.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demet_cemal-i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is very good situated in the popular Beyoglu quarter in Istanbul. Excellent roof terrace with a gorgeous view over the City, mosques and Bosporus Bay. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was tasteful furnished on the 5th floor with an amazing view. The other rooms I got a glance into were quite suburbany furnished but this is without doubt purely a matter of taste.

All in all the price-performance ratio was borderline, if not overpriced. In some aspects we judged it as a rip-off. We paid 139 € for per night for about a 12 square meter a room, very small bathroom without any space to place anything.

Direct in front of the hotel there's a huge construction site from the municipal with an enormous noise (pneumatic drill) you couldn't avoid even with closing the windows and using ear protections at the same time. Probably the pneumatic drill won't last for a long time, but due to the size of the construction site some noise will last at least for one year (or more). We weren't offered a price reduction due to the enormous noise (even the staff got headache), but when we asked the hotel reduced the price for 5%.

There was a water blackout for more than 7 hours (no shower, no hand-washing, no toilet). This was not caused by the hotel, but we think that the hotel should have offered a price reduction to their guests (especially taking account the high room prices), which was not the case. We really felt riped-off when we had to pay the laundry, which was the most expensive laundry in my whole travel life. We paid 24 € for 1 trouser, 1 shirt and 1 underpant (without iron).

All in all we cannot really recommend this accommodation, but we can't either discourage you to choose the Galata Antique. Make your own choice - for us it was something in between 2 and 3 points.
.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Duo Galata Hotel
Duo Galata Hotel
#534 of 1,178 in Istanbul
83 reviews
Beyoglu
The Purl Hotel
The Purl Hotel
#615 of 1,178 in Istanbul
30 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#21 of 1,178 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#234 of 1,178 in Istanbul
334 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#160 of 1,178 in Istanbul
277 reviews
Beyoglu
Sanat Hotel Pera
Sanat Hotel Pera
#378 of 1,178 in Istanbul
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Antique Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Street No:119, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $55 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galata Antique Hotel is housed in a beautifully decorated 19th century Neo-Renaissance mansion built by the French–Ottoman architect Alexandre Vallaury. This very welcoming hotel, which is conveniently located in the Tünel Meydani district, a famous bohemian quarter, is an ideal base for visitors wishing to discover the real Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Galata Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing