We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galata Antique Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Brilliant location off Istikal Caddesi ( the main shopping street in the City), in the happening Beyoglu area of Istanbul with great access to local transport networks. Everything is on your doorstep day and night. The whole area had a pleasantly bohemian feel about it. Of course this comes with a certain amount of noise, so you may want to bring ear plugs for night time! Well appointed room recently renovated, but very much on the small side, and the same could definitely be said of the bathroom. But nice extras, and well serviced everyday - and how much space do you need for a long weekend really? The enclosed roof terrace with great views was an excellent bonus,the staff were fine and breakfast was perfectly adequate. Good value for a mid priced accommodation - but be warned - the lift is particularly "authentic" - those of nervous disposition may prefer to take the stairs!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Galata Antique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 167 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 fantastic days at this delightful hotel the first week of May this year. If you plan to visit Istanbul, I would highly recomend a stay here. The staff and facilty are really top notch; built in the late 1800's and formerly the palatial home of a French ex-patriot businessman, the rooms are beautifully appointed and the common areas are terrific (including the top sunroom where your complimentary breakfast can be enjoyed while overlooking the city). The rooms are not huge - but you should not be spending too much time in your room anyway if you have the opportunity to visit and incredible place like Istanbul.

Having been to Istanbul 25 years ago and falling on love with the place, I wanted my wife Tara to see it also. We picked the hotel due to the pictures we found on the web and because of its location (it is located in Galata, across the Golden Horn, facing old Istanbul (Sultanahmet), where the most famous landmarks are located (Blue Mosque, Hague Sofia, Basilica Cistern, Valen's Aquaduct, etc.), which you can easily reach by walking through the narrow cobblestone streets to the foot of the Galata Bridge and jumping on a tram costing about $1.50 - or by walking across the bridge, which takes about 20 minutes.

As a history nut, I was in my element while Tara, who works in the fashion industry, was plenty happy to walk Istiklal Street, which is located directly behind the hotel, where thousands of people stroll the broad street, lined with hundreds of cool stores we don't see here in Canada. The street is also home to many foreign consulates and features many beautiful limestone and marble-faced buildings. Also nearby is the medieval Galata Tower, which featured prominently in the siege of Istanbul back in 1453 (be sure to read about this before visiting...you will enjoy your stay all the more when you realize what you are looking at).

In addition to site-seeing, we took an authentic Turkish bath (men & women have seperate facilities) at the "HIstoric Turkish Bath" (which is across the street from Constantine's Column) and I would also highly recomend trying this too. You will be very relaxed a ready for a cold beeer afterwards.

Bottom line, the hotel offers you so much: terrific place to stay near everything you could want to do and see while visiting incredible Istanbul.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3B...it features a little balcony, overlooking the city.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We found a suite at this hotel and it was an amazing room, while the hotel has a great location. Close to everything, but just off the crowded and noisy Istikal.

Staff is very kind and we woudl reccomend it.

Also the breakfast is served on the terrace floor and offers an amazing view.

If I had to indicate things to improve, maybe the breakfast could be more genrous.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank vlaterza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

What a wonderful experience it was to stay here..Our Host Ali was fantastic..so helpful with everything..from directions , loaning umbrellas, calling transports..you name it ..And the breakfast was so plentiful we could sight see all day and not be hungry until dinner..Charming rooms ..great location and a good price..

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Charming boutique hotel. Very conveniently and centrally located at the southern end of the main shopping street (Istiklal Caddesi) with easy access to Sultanahmet via a short funicular train ride, or walk, to the quay at Karakoy where you can catch the tram. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great views from the terrace where you have breakfast in the morning - also open for guests to relax in and have a drink in the evening. Breakfast, which is buffet style, is very good and substantial. Some rooms a little small, but clean and comfortable and absolutely fine for our needs. At the time of our stay (summer 2011) they were renovating the first two floors (the upper floors in which we stayed were already renovated) and the reception lounge - should have finished by now and will be very nice I'm sure. There is no restaurant in the hotel, but who wants to eat in a hotel when there are so many wonderful restaurants all over Istanbul serving some of the best food we have tasted? If you want a lot of space and a swimming pool, this hotel isn't for you, but if you want a comfortable, friendly, clean, convenient base for exploring both the modern and historical aspects of the city, the Galata Antique is perfect. We recommend it wholeheartedly and look forward ourselves to going back. (Access to the hotel is via stairs so probably difficult for wheel chair users).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HungryMongoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Where shall I start! Lets start with the pick up transport which never turned up, I even sent an email to remind them to pick us up from the airport after reading several reviews regarding the no show of the driver. We took a cab from the airport to the hotel. Once we reached the hotel, we told the front desk staff about the disappointment and she ignored us. We managed to have an earlier check in @ 8am. There wasn't a porter to help with your bags. (FYI: there are a few steps to access the main entrance of the hotel and a few more steps to access the lift, I hope your partner is strong to carry your bag for you, if not all the best to you). We were given a room number 401 which was very noisy in the morning as breakfast was served at 5th floor, just above our room. On top of that, the lift only stop at 4th floor, all the guests have to walked up to 5th floor. We went for the breakfast, they only served cheese, dried fruits, breads and cold cut. During check out, I told her in the email stated if I pay cash, the hotel will give us 5% discount and she said no. Then I saw a note on the folder and I pointed to her, she unhappily give us the discount. The room rate per night for superior room is 100 Euro which are too expensive. I will NOT recommend anyone to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winnie8281s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Que pidan una que de a la calle.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio3421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Gritti Pera
Hotel Gritti Pera
#712 of 1,159 in Istanbul
48 reviews
Beyoglu
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
Stories Hotel Kumbaraci
#459 of 1,159 in Istanbul
101 reviews
Beyoglu
By Murat Crown
By Murat Crown
#402 of 1,159 in Istanbul
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Meroddi Galata Mansion
Meroddi Galata Mansion
#333 of 1,159 in Istanbul
228 reviews
Beyoglu
Occidental The Public
Occidental The Public
#154 of 1,159 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Beyoglu
Meroddi Pera Hotel
Meroddi Pera Hotel
#196 of 1,159 in Istanbul
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galata Antique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galata Antique Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Street No:119, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $62 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Galata Antique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galata Antique Hotel is housed in a beautifully decorated 19th century Neo-Renaissance mansion built by the French–Ottoman architect Alexandre Vallaury. This very welcoming hotel, which is conveniently located in the Tünel Meydani district, a famous bohemian quarter, is an ideal base for visitors wishing to discover the real Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Galata Antique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing