We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMFORT ISTANBUL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #584 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was privileged to get an opportunity to stay at this property during my recent short trip. I was staying in R 604 between 15th to 18th May.
The rooms are spacious and the service is good. Customer service is great.

Room Tip: I was in the 6th floor. The view from the room is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pratimc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 251 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

As we came here u expect a five star hotel which is not so far from the beatiful old town of istanbul.
But the five stars must be selfgiven or there wasn't an hotel inspector for the last 40 years. It might have been a nice hotel in grandpas ages. But like grandpa it got old and has never seen a doctor.
It has a lot of space and huge rooms with dirty carpets all over. The TV was broken, the room doors seamed to be something like carboard and the breakfast was awful.

1  Thank Checkor
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2014

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Hotel has got a good location. On the red line, main highway. Easy to use the Metro (200mt away metro station), depending on the time of day it's 15-30 minutes to get to the main sites in Sultanahmet Square (where the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Basilica Cistern, etc.), Eminonu for the Bosphorus ferryboats, and to Karakoy on the other side of the Golden Horn to get to Galata Tower and Iskitlal Street.

As per the receptionist recommendation, we took meter taxi to Sultanahmet Square (Blue Mosque) for just 16 TKL during off peak hours. For a return taxi ride we paid 26 TKL from Egyptian grand market during peak hours (we were in hurry to reach hotel at that time) but some taxi people were asking TKL 40-50 directly without meter question.

Free Breakfast was very filling, a wide variety of cheeses, olives, condiments, cold cereals, yogurt, pastries, borek, dried fruits,and always scrambled eggs, juices and coffee. The bar food was also good, but not a wide variety and more expensive than you could get at a sidewalk cafe - but weren't any nearby restaurants, so any hotel would do the same with their pricing.

There was a light rain early morning so the view from window was great and make climate was wonderful. Except from road noise, it was a good experience. Front door staff (Porters) were ready to take your luggage to the room, they were picking bags from the gate and simply dropping in front of reception. After checkin they just showed the way to lift and ask us to help our-self. I noticed this while check-in and as well as the time I checked-out. Cafe and restaurant staff were very nice. Reception staff were also helpful, for guided tours and other attractions in the area.

I recommend this hotel if anyone planning to stay here/ in this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sohail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Note: this hotel advertises itself as 5 star but the quality is 2-3 star level.

Decor is very dated. Rooms are not clean.

Food is terrible. (There is only a buffet and no menu at all in the hotel.)

Service was also very poor. I asked if there was a fitness room and the hotel staff replied "maybe there is a bike downstairs"

The list of problems is too long. Avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Milan1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

If you tell us in details about your thoughts about the dirtiness of the room, we will talk with our housekeeping department about the situation in details.
Our hotel has menus for every facility that it provides, so we couldn’t understand why you couldn’t see any of them.Besides , If you are talking about the a-la carte menu for dining, our service collegues will be honored to Show them to you with pleasure.
We have fitness room in our SPA & WELLNESS center and everybody in our hotel have the knowledge of it ,so if you tell us in details, who said the ‘’bike sentence’’ to you, we can be more helpful with pleasure.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed. It is no way that this hotel deserves 5 star grade as the furniture and fittings are old, staff unhelpful and unbelievably ignorant. Despite of closed windows you can actually hear all the noise from buses parking lots, doors need to be slammed doors to close it (1 st floor), etc. I don't recommend anyone to go there.

Room Tip: I don't recommend anyone to go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Not sure why the comments of 'terrible' and 'dirty', as this was not our experience at all. Would definitely stay here again.

Front desk, dining room, cleaning, concierge, and bar staff were all very helpful and friendly to us. Very easy to get to on the Metro from Ataturk Airport - take the red line and get off at Topkapi-Ulubatli station. The trip is about 15-20 minutes, and then about a 2 block walk straight from the station steps to the Hotel which will be on your right.

It is located on a busy city highway, but there's plenty of sidewalk room and the hotel is on a frontage road - remember this is Istanbul and the associated driving habits of the locals!

You can exchange for Turkish Lira (TL) at the front desk...during our stay some days the rates were better than the exchange places on the street and some days the rates were worse. Overall our experience on the money exchange was they gave you a fair exchange.

Breakfast is very filling, a wide variety of cheeses, olives, condiments, cold cereals, yogurt, pastries, borek, dried fruits,and always scrambled eggs, juices and coffee. The bar food was also good, but not a wide variety and more expensive than you could get at a sidewalk cafe - but weren't any nearby restaurants, so any hotel would do the same with their pricing.

Room was clean. The walls are thin (have not found a Turkish hotel where this wasn't the case) and as it is along a busy street you will hear the traffic....we always travel with earplugs so sleeping was not a problem. Room has the standard security safe, wet bar, shower/toilet, flat screen TV, and electric water pot for tea or instant coffee.

Spa: Fabulous Thai massage, and you can purchase varying lengths of time and packages. For the $120TL (~$60 US) , we opted for the 1 hour body massage with dry sauna, steambath, and ending with a Turkish bath. The sauna and steambath are unisex.....towels and wraps are provided for all and drinking water. The massage is excellent, as is the Turkish bath in a beautiful re-creation of an Ottoman-era bathhouse. Perfect way to relax after either a long international flight, or a day of walking and shopping in Istanbul.

Location: On the red line. Easy to use the Metro, depending on the time of day it's 15-30 minutes to get to the main sites in Sultanahmet Square (where the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia, Basilica Cistern, etc.), Eminonu for the Bosphorus ferryboats, and to Karakoy on the other side of the Golden Horn to get to Galata Tower and Iskitlal Street.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

this hotel is what really you can name it terrible,
I spent 2 days in there, the hotel was really dirty, the stuff was dealing with people like we are there to beg them
the internet was very very slow consider there was no internet,
I don't recommend anyone to go there

Room Tip: not recommended at all to spend any night in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
If yoor complaints indicate in details, we can helped you more.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#798 of 1,163 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Fener & Balat
Berr Hotel
Berr Hotel
#774 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#189 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,416 reviews
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#331 of 1,163 in Istanbul
619 reviews
Eser Premium Hotel & Spa
#421 of 1,163 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#192 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#364 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $56 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing