We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars or not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #585 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Kermanshah, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 stars or not”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Three years ago I stayed in Akgun hotel for a week .Hotel had some problems we had a non smoke room but we felt smoke all the time also room service was poor they did not change the towel and sheets for a week .Breakfast was very good but it need more service .Hotel has a good location close to metro station and you can find good restaurant with best Kabab near the hotel .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
İf you state your check-in date and room number on your comments, we can help you more than now.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    78
    71
    21
    26
See reviews for
28
57
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Serbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Even hotel doors sais 4 star hotel, not 5. But, lets say few words. My main disturb was when I aproach the room I felt some smoke, which stayed also over the night, and for me, as non smoker, this was a trouble. Other things were pretty much ok. Stuff at the breakfast need to be much more polite and servile. Location very nice, at the foot of old town and metro station near by which can bring you in 20 minutes to the Ataturk airport.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We will take notice of your opinions and we will warn the necessary departments.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
84 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Courtesy of Turkish Airlines, but I didn't get what I expected from a 5 stars hotel. Service was not very good. The place was very noisy, from very early in the morning. Clean rooms, wifi was not working very well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepitopulpito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
ıf you want to help from guestrelation about your problem.The problem was solued.
In our hotel we have many check-in and check-out that's why sometimes it can be noisy.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugla Turkey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Dear reviewers, it is rather unfair to post a review on Trip Advisor about this hotel if you did not actually choose to stay there. As I write this review both my mother and daughter have also experienced a flight delay due to fog (or so we are told) and have been sent to this hotel. The delay from Izmir was three hours resulting in them missing the connecting flight from Istanbul to their destination. The delay was handled as most delays are, very poorly and with little information, this is an area that I believe Turkish Airline staff need much more training in and actually have an opportunity to exceed customer expectations, considering they are one of the busiest international airports. Over the past twenty years of travelline extensively with Turkish Airlines I have experienced many delays and unexpected changes to travel plans. Some handled better than others, but overall very poor communication and obvious lack of staff training. As for the hotel Akgun I called to speak to my daughter, was connected to her room, no reply and was re connected to the restaurant immediately where she was located. Polite attentive and professional service. Rooms ok as I understand from my daughter and mother, location great.....Dear Mr Sevkit Deri please accept my thanks for your staffs attention to my phone requests and ignore the reviews of the guests that did not choose to stay here. Concentrate on who your market is and ensure they are happy.....thank you

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The family and I were sent to this hotel by Turkish Airlines when our flight to Sarajevo was cancelled. The hotel itself is tired and dated and it isn't as advertised in its star rating. The buffet at dinner and breakfast was passable but not at all special.
The people at the desk were very nice and had pity on us because we were travelling with 3 small children, two of whom had fevers. Unfortunately this didn't translate into responsive service and we had to make multiple calls to get the doors between adjoining rooms unlocked and for sheets for the baby to sleep on.
The main consolation was that we didn't have to pay for anything except beer from the minibar. That, at least, was up to standard

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awilscana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I booked this hotel on my first trip to istanbul thinking it was a 5 star hotel. It didnt live up to any of my expectations.
No customer service at all !! The staff were very rude and always stared in a mean way .We asked reception for a smoking room they said when you open the window it will be a smoking room. When I asked for tissues in my room they told me to go get some from the restaurant !! Never heard of a 5 star hotel that doesnt provide the basic room amenities. We paid for a double room for two guests but bath robes and towels were provided for only one person and when we asked for more they didnt bring any . The hotel doesnt deserve more than a 2 star rating .The only good thing about the hotel is the location right next to the metro station .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
ıf you share your problem with guest relation, we could solued your problem quicker.
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Turkish airlines overbooked their flights and placed us in this hotel saying it is 5 star hotel. It is actually a third class hotel.. Would like to warn people that is not at all 5 star standard. The gym had only 2 equipments, floor in bathroom sticky, carpets extremely dirty. Swimming pool closed and seemed full of rubbish floating on the surface. Staff rude and not keen to help. Food had plenty of options but all tasteless. I would rate it maximum 2 stars!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#302 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#149 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#765 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#254 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Property: Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#184 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#361 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing