We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #584 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Turkish airlines overbooked their flights and placed us in this hotel saying it is 5 star hotel. It is actually a third class hotel.. Would like to warn people that is not at all 5 star standard. The gym had only 2 equipments, floor in bathroom sticky, carpets extremely dirty. Swimming pool closed and seemed full of rubbish floating on the surface. Staff rude and not keen to help. Food had plenty of options but all tasteless. I would rate it maximum 2 stars!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 251 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was book here by Turkish Airlines due to my 14 hours connection to Alamty. The staff are very nice and helpful. However, the hotel is outdated. The bathrooms are really worn out. The wireless internet is free and has a very good speed. The rooms on the street side are bit noisy and the walls are thin so you can here every movment in the next room. The best thing about the hotel is the location next to a metero station so that you can use the metero instead of the expensive taxi. I would stay in this hotel for tansit or a short period.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel was very good in past year, but in 2013 the hotel is changed in service, cleanliness, tidiness... Know is terrible. This hotel is quite strategic, near Fatih street, Historia mall, Panorama 1453 park, Aksaray.. Mitro station is in front of hotel...

Room Tip: Choose front side room has beautiful scene view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abdulnaser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.We will take notice of yourremark.
Hope to see you again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a night here thanks to a 17 hour layover on my way from Manchester to Accra (Ghana) on a Turkish Airlines flight. The transit to the airport was by a comfortable bus although the signage at the airport could be much better.

The hotel itself was staffed by very pleasant people and the service was speedy. Room service was quite quick but the kebab I ate was a little
tough - acceptable but disappointing for my first night in istanbul!

I had a haircut at the salon and a swim and both were a real treat. The bedroom was large and clean, the bed was fairly comfortable and the choice of TV channels ok. Free wifi was available but coverage not amazing. Bathroom clean and large but water pressure for the shower not great so it wasn't as good as could be.

All of these are minor points, this was a pleasant stay in an amazing city - thank you, Turkish Airlines and the Akgun Hotel!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Moos3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your all praises.Your praises make us happy.Hope to see you
Again in our hotel.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

stayed here for several hours thanks to Turkish Airlines. if you have a 12 hour lay over between flights with the airline, they will give you a room at this hotel at no cost.
Location wise, this hotel is quite strategic, a walking distance to Topkapi-Ulubati metro station, 2 stations away from Aksaray station from which you can continue with tram ride to Istanbul touristy areas such as Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. You may also go to the airport through this station although Turkish Airlines provides a free shuttle bus service between hotel and the airport.
Room as other have reviewed, a bit old need to be refurbished here and there. The window in my room was actually broken and could not be locked. I asked the reception to be fixed while I'm gone to town, but when I got back to my room, the window still broken.
I did not have the chance to taste the breakfast as I arrived in the afternoon and left the hotel for my next flight at 8 PM.
Internet is available for free, good wifi signal inside the room.
all in all, for a free room in between flights, I would not mind. if this something to be paid, I would definitely find another hotel.

Room Tip: always check your room windows, make sure that it can be locked from the inside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillyGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again. Things done for Windows.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I got this hotel by Turkish Airlines.
Close to the airport, room was okay, but could't sleep.
Now it's 1 AM, and still you can hear slamming doors. The room acoustic to the corridor is horrible.
If you have a short night, find or ask for a quiet place to stay.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank yroaed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ended up here as a result of an over booking fiasco by Turkish Airlines. Judging by the slick check-in process, this happens every day.... Promised a 5 star hotel, the reality turned out to be something different. This was undoubtedly a 5 star hotel in the 80/90's but not any more. Probably more like 2 stars at present since it is very tired. We were offered a complementary evening meal which we skipped and if the breakfast was anything to go by it was a good move. Very little taste to anything on offer and significantly below the standard we experienced in Turkey in general. We stayed at Mama Shelter in Beyoglu which charges similar prices but was far superior. Staff were courteous if not friendly. In summary, borderline acceptable for a free one night stay, but overpriced given the competition. Needs a big revamp.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the front of the building as traffic noise is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuftythesquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Satış Müdürü at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We are very sorry about this situation.
Thank you for your all commentaries.We will take notice of your all criticism.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Şevket DİRİ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#798 of 1,163 in Istanbul
69 reviews
Fener & Balat
Berr Hotel
Berr Hotel
#774 of 1,163 in Istanbul
67 reviews
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#189 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,416 reviews
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#331 of 1,163 in Istanbul
619 reviews
Eser Premium Hotel & Spa
#421 of 1,163 in Istanbul
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#192 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#364 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $56 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing