We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than the reviews !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Ranked #581 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Benghazi, Libya
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Better than the reviews !!”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

we spent one night !! it was provided by the Turkish airlines for transit , the hotel was nice, clean BUT i was shocked when i saw the price online !! ( of course i didn't pay any thing as it was paid by the airliner) for sure its not worth 5 star hotel, breakfast wasn't the best !! staff were ok & there was no concierge to carry our bags at arrival which wasn't very late !! after all i wouldn't pay that price for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZFraitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for all criticisms and commentories.Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    78
    72
    21
    26
See reviews for
28
59
49
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel doesn't deserve 5* at all. Maybe 3 at best. As soon as we checked in they came knocking at our door and a guy with a bag came and collected all the drinks for the minibar. I asked why, and he just looked at me silly saying something in Turkish which I obviously did not understand. Breakfast is the same thing, over and over again, as somebody else said around here. Beds are small, carpet in the room is disgusting, full of dirt, they probably change quickly the towels and that's it. Even the room door was funny for a 5* hotel. It would not close properly, unless you gave it a nudge. At night we kept the safety lock on too, just to be more safe. Staff barely speaks English, which again is very disappointing for a 5* hotel. And the cherry on top, we wanted to extend our vacation with 1 day so we asked the receptionist to charge us for 5 nights instead of 4, at which he said, why don't you give me 800 euros and we'll settle later!!! You thnk that's what they do in a serious establishment? I've seen quite a few countries myself but never met a receptionist that wants to haggle ! If you're considering staying here for more than 1 night, don't ! It's not worth it !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavilein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your all criticisms.
We will take notice of your all criticisms.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

just spent a day stay here paid for by TK. Actually not a bad hotel by Istanbul standards... ok room is a little tired - but very clean. Breakfast was good after a night flight and got a good days sleep prior to the long haul to Dushanbe - and what has made me smile and write this review in the lobby is the service standard of the staff.... friendly, helpful - even willing to make copies of my passport for free!! And unlike many Ist hotels actually have good turkish coffee!! Hope my stopover on way back is here... and would happily consider staying here as a paying customer - massage looks fun!

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms were great ! 724!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your all praiser.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed in this 5 star hotel only one night because I had more than 10 nights between my connecting flights in Istanbul.
The room was tidy and clean. It was very nice that they provide a good breakfast for guests leaving the hotel before 7am (my breakfast was served at 4.30 am). There is free wi-fi with password available on the reception desk. The staff was very kind.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maraquan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yetkili, Director of Sales at Akgun Istanbul Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your allpraises.
Hope to see you again.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Fener & Balat
Dosso Dossi Hotels & Spa Downtown
Holiday Inn Istanbul City
#303 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Eresin Hotels Topkapi
#146 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Topkapi Inter Istanbul Hotel
#771 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
Legacy Ottoman Hotel
#253 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akgun Istanbul Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akgun Istanbul Hotel

Property: Akgun Istanbul Hotel
Address: Adnan Menderes Bulvari | Topkapi, Istanbul 34093, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#182 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#359 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Akgun Istanbul Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akgun Istanbul Hotel, surrounded by city walls in the old center of Istanbul is near the historic Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia Museum, Blue Mosque, Kariye Museum, the legendary Grand Bazaar, 5 km from Taksim Square, 10 km to Ataturk Airport and many other magnificent mosques, monuments and museums all within 2-3 km. The underground Metro station and bus stops are within walking distance (30 meters). Ataturk Airport, World Trade Center (CNR) and the Forum shopping center can be reached by using the light rail line which passes in front of our hotel.Akgun Istanbul Hotel boasts 263 deluxe rooms with Jalousie bathrooms (6 Connected rooms), 2 deluxe rooms for the disabled, 10 junior suites and 1 Presidential suite resulting in a total of 276 rooms consisting of 550 bed capacity. Akgun Istanbul Hotel provides a variety of services including restaurants, bars, sauna, Turkish bath, Finnish bath(steam bath), gym, spa, massage center, 24/7 room service, business center, fax, printer, indoor-outdoor parking, valet service, baby care, outdoor pool, male/female hairdresser, photo lab and drugstore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akgun Istanbul Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akgun Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing