We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot going for it but could do with a bit of an upgrade.”
Review of Hali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hali Hotel
Ranked #619 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A lot going for it but could do with a bit of an upgrade.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Great location, good people, wonderful views but the fabric of the hotel is waning. Stayed on business with a colleague and didn't sleep too well. Volumes of students going to bed and getting up were acceptable though quite noisy but I found the walls paper thin and other noises were not quite as acceptable but that's life. The Blue Mosque call to prayer around 5.30 am is part of the beauty of travel. Our room was small and a bit dingy. However the breakfast room has stunning views and breakfast was fine. The location is superb, seconds away from some of the most amazing sights and the staff were eager to please.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    103
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
38
45
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel is in the Sultanahmet district within walking distance for all the sites, restaurants and the Grand Bazaar. The hotel is quiet, the rooms clean and comfortable with good sized bathrooms. The staff were helpful and efficient. The breakfast was very good and the view breath taking overlooking the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. I would thoroughly recommend this affordable hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Hali Hotel is located near the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. It's also quite close to the Grand Bazaar & Spice Bazaar. We think this part of the city is the best part of Istanbul.
There are a lot of nice restaurants close to the hotel and we found it quite safe, even at night. If we would ever go back, we would certainly stay here again.
The rooms were clean, as was the bathroom. The walls are thin, so it's noisy. But there was double glazing, so we didn't hear the prayers coming from the mosques.
The restaurant on the roof was really nice. It's nice to have breakfast on the roof terrace overlooking the Hagia Sophia. It can be quite windy, so take a jacket with you if you want to sit outside. There's plenty of room inside as well.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the front of the hotel. I sent an e-mail to the hotel asking for 2 adjacent roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doepie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wald
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Located in the historic (and extremely touristic) Sultanahmet district, the Hali Hotel offers quiet, clean rooms and has a friendly, helpful staff that speaks English. For those travelling on a tight budget and yet want some peace in the bustling centre of Istanbul, the Hali Hotel can be warmly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SutWald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent a wonderful week in Hali hotel 8-16 September 2013. We were a group of friends and colleagues from 4 universities in Finland attending International Conference of Cultural History in Istanbul University. Hali hotel is modest but homely and cosy. Location is super. You can walk to many sights and a tram stop is quite near the hotel. Staff was polite and friendly. Most of our group wants to come to Istanbul again and stay in hotel Hali.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors with a view to the park and Hagia Sofia are just super. My first visit, 2 wee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marita_kilpimaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Hali Hotel in Sultanahmet. We stumbled on it by chance after we discovered that our original hotel reservation in the same district had evaporated. We were nicely received by Jenkiz at reception and were offered a medium sized room on the second floor. Normally we avoid lower floors but were immediately taken by the view of the park and Aya Sofia, sitting there on the hill like a respected lady. In addition to the view, the hotel offered free Wi-Fi and reasonable breakfast served on roof overlooking Istanbul harbor and the tips of the Sultanahmet Minarets. We remember fondly the tea lady that offered tea/coffee with such elegance. She fitted beautifully with the grand scenery.
The room was adequate for our needs with a little desk and comfortable side chairs. Contrary to other old hotels in the area, the bathroom was medium sized and the shower did not flood the floor. After a reminder, enough toilet paper was supplied. The mattress was a bit thin though.
I wish to mention also Ismail at Front Desk who was always ready with answers to our many queries. He also arranged a taxi to the airport and negotiated the fare, and thus saved us from the normal tricks that Istanbul taxi-drivers are notorious for!
I recommend Hali Hotel highly!

Room Tip: The Aya Sofia view is only available to a handful of rooms at the face of the building (rooms number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mussafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed with a tour group for a couple days. It was a pretty dumpy room. Old and tired. Bathroom was small with mold. The shower was terrible with a little shower base and a wrap around curtain the stuck to your body if you turned. Room smelled of mold. Staff wasn't very friendly. If you don't mind old, tired budget hotels you'll probably find this place suitable. I also stayed about a half block away at the Mina for about $40 more. To me it was worth it. Location is the only positive thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveltoseetheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#307 of 1,140 in Istanbul
436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lady Diana Hotel
Lady Diana Hotel
#421 of 1,140 in Istanbul
475 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Mina
Hotel Mina
#317 of 1,140 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#508 of 1,140 in Istanbul
218 reviews
May Hotel Istanbul
#546 of 1,140 in Istanbul
233 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Hotel

Property: Hali Hotel
Address: Klodfarer Cad. No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #619 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Hali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hali Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing