We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I recommend this hotel for history buffs!”
Review of Hali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hali Hotel
Ranked #542 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Hali Hotel in Sultanahmet. We stumbled on it by chance after we discovered that our original hotel reservation in the same district had evaporated. We were nicely received by Jenkiz at reception and were offered a medium sized room on the second floor. Normally we avoid lower floors but were immediately taken by the view of the park and Aya Sofia, sitting there on the hill like a respected lady. In addition to the view, the hotel offered free Wi-Fi and reasonable breakfast served on roof overlooking Istanbul harbor and the tips of the Sultanahmet Minarets. We remember fondly the tea lady that offered tea/coffee with such elegance. She fitted beautifully with the grand scenery.
The room was adequate for our needs with a little desk and comfortable side chairs. Contrary to other old hotels in the area, the bathroom was medium sized and the shower did not flood the floor. After a reminder, enough toilet paper was supplied. The mattress was a bit thin though.
I wish to mention also Ismail at Front Desk who was always ready with answers to our many queries. He also arranged a taxi to the airport and negotiated the fare, and thus saved us from the normal tricks that Istanbul taxi-drivers are notorious for!
I recommend Hali Hotel highly!

Room Tip: The Aya Sofia view is only available to a handful of rooms at the face of the building (rooms number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mussafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 209 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed with a tour group for a couple days. It was a pretty dumpy room. Old and tired. Bathroom was small with mold. The shower was terrible with a little shower base and a wrap around curtain the stuck to your body if you turned. Room smelled of mold. Staff wasn't very friendly. If you don't mind old, tired budget hotels you'll probably find this place suitable. I also stayed about a half block away at the Mina for about $40 more. To me it was worth it. Location is the only positive thing about the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveltoseetheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Location is the major draw here, and we recommend the hotel for that. Nice view. OK breakfast. We found the desk staff indifferent and not particularly helpful. The room was indeed a little 'tired,' but the price is fair given the proximity to key sites. Staying in the Sultanahmet area for a few days is great for visiting the major sites, but we strongly recommend that, if possible, travelers also stay elsewhere (e.g., Karakoy/Galata) to get a feel for much nicer, non-touristy, Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Hagia Sophia.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank rekmvbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Cannot fault the location.
Rooms have old carpets but who cares, the AC works and you are in istanbul to roam about and not stay in the hotel.
Staff helpful.
Breakfast 8/10 with a v nice view.
Check in and check out effortless.
Value for money: Absolutely yes.
Will I stay here again: Probably

Room Tip: Choose a quite room but wi-fi does not work as rooms farthest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelfastLampost66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited in June 2012 . The hotel itself is a little 'tired' and in need of refurbishment, but the location is fantastic, being less than 10 minutes walk from the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia (and much more)".
The breakfast terrace offers spectacular views of the mosques and surrounding areas. Breakfast was good and the service also good.
We asked to change rooms as the first room we were allocated was very cramped and overlooking the back streets. The staff were quite obliging and the second room was better.
I would return simply for the location.

Room Tip: There are few rooms with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29SueJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We want to thank the staf at Hali Hotel for making our visit to Istanbul so nice. For our grandson it will be an unforgettable memory and a very good historylesson! Surely we will try to visit again with all our grandchildren, one at a time.We appreciate Hali Hotel very much. You have such a nice athmosphere and very good service. Esp thanks to Mr Ibrahim fot taking time with all our questions.
Mr and Mrs Erland and Kerstin Smith with grandson.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerstin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The last time that I stayed in this Hotel and wrote a review was 14 months ago, I have just stayed for a week in January 2013. The Hotel has been completely refurbished, every room on all floors. New fitted carpets and curtains have been placed throughout, together with new bed covers, the rooms have very tasteful pictures on the walls. In the foyer is a well designed fish pool with a fountain. The new decoration has give a light airy feel to every room, floor, and lobby in this busy and well located Hotel. The staff and breakfast are as always faultless and the ensuite rooms are comfortable and very clean. There are two Internet screens in the foyer and wi-fi on all floors and finally the only thing that has not changed is the great view from the breakfast terrace. The management of this Hotel are clearly keeping a constant eye on all of the important points that together make staying in this Hotel a good experience. 5 Stars to the team at Hali Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front of the Hotel have a better view than others. Klodfarer Street is quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank biltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#83 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,489 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#350 of 1,181 in Istanbul
455 reviews
Sultanahmet
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#387 of 1,181 in Istanbul
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#81 of 1,181 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#189 of 1,181 in Istanbul
163 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#211 of 1,181 in Istanbul
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Hotel

Address: Klodfarer Cad. No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #542 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hali Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing