We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hali Hotel
Ranked #598 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last 25 years. I've always found it clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is not a luxury hotel by any standard, but the location is truly fantastic. Ask for a room facing the Blue Mosque. If you are traveling on a budget and want a safe place to sleep in the heart of old Istanbul, this place is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hunter9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    103
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
38
45
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

stayed in hali in april 2012. i had initiially reserved for 4 nights but ended up changing it to 3 and then to 2 due to change of my plans in Cappadocia (visited capadocia first). the hotel staff was very helpful inc hanging the dates through email. i had asked for a higher floors and a view of blue mosque and i got exactly that. loved the room and the unbelievale view.
im a big breakfast person and i absolutely loved the breakfast terrace and the choice of food, epecially the yougurt and strawberry mixed they serve. the buffet was open as early as 6:45 whic h gave me great flexibility and there was nice relaxing turkish music from the radio.
the loctaion is in the middle of it all. i would go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryamRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

After reading the so so reviews about the hotel I was a little hesitant about my stay .Gladly, I had a pretty positive experience. The hotel was centrally located, not more than 10 min walk from any of Sultanahmet major attractions. The front desk staff was accommodating and friendly not pushy at all. The best feature of the hotels is the breakfast terrace, the view is wonderful just watch out of the sea gulls!

Room Tip: We had a basic double which was VERY basic, but served our purposes.It was nothing special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homesh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I spent just 2 night in Instanbul , at the Hali Hotel. Great location, just in the centre, wonderful view to the See(from the room on the 4th floor) and most of all - very friendly people at the reception desk!! They assisted me for any question and helped me a lot. Breakfast is not bad, taking place on a splendid terrace , looking over the city and to a great panorama over the see. The rooms are nice, but not luxury.More important - they are clean and pleasant!!! It might be sometimes noisy, by some curcomstances, but not from the street or the car traffic. The hotel is calm and secure. I felt well there and would return back next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trieste
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

a warm advise to all readers! avoid this hotel at all costs. its ONLY advantage is its central location and fine view from the (noisy) street facing rooms and roof top terrace. for the rest we found it very run down (electrical plugs falling down from the walls, wall paint peeling out, holes in bedsheets and so on...). behaviour of the receptionists -after you happen to refuse their insistent proposal of (expensive) guided tours- is between cold and unfriendly to even hostile. internet connection in the lobby is very slow and often pcs are kept switched off to spare electricity. waiters in the breakfast room appear absolutely unexperienced and speak almost no english at all, furtehromore we had to wait a very long time every single day to have coffee, they just didn't bother to pass through tables with coffee pots unless you shouted at them! as final deception i can tell you they even tried to ask full PRE-payment of the room on arrival: just too bad! this was our worst hotel experience in istanbul. never again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank supersamtrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

I've stayed in Hali many times, last time at the end of last year and beginning of the new one. I choose this hotel for many reasons - it's conveniently located in the very heart of Sultanahmet, the historic part of Istanbul, in a side lane, which makes it a very quiet and sort of secluded. It's within walking distance to most tourist attractions, resaurants, shops, bazaars.

The rooms, which are cleaned every day, are comfortable, with very clean bedlinen. Wifi and access to English language TV channels allow me to keep in touch with the life outside Istanbul.

The views from the room windows are stunning - Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the Topkapi Palace almost right at your feet, and if you go to the roof restaurant terrace, you can add the Marmara sea and the Golden Horn Bay with the famous bridge over it. It's a unique pleasure to sit in the roof restaurant watching the seaguls landing on the terrace and the sun going up between the minarets of the Blue Mosque. The breakfast they serve in the restaurant, including among numerous other things salted cottage cheese, olives, rose jam and Turkish tea is absolutely delicious!

I also liked the service in the hotel: in the restaurant, at the reception and the cleaning service - they were helpful. The receptionists were helpful when approached in person or by email and by phone. It was not a problem for them, e.g. to look after my luggage for a few hours until my take off in the afternoon, which enabled me to spend a few more hours exploring the city.

I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in a friendly place, with great location, comfy rooms, helpful staff and good breakfast :-)

I look forward to staying in Hali again! Thank you for your hospitality! :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katarzyna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Hali hotel is located in the exact center of historic Istanbul, Sultanahmet, with a breath-taking view of Hagia Sophia and less than a 5 minute stroll from the Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the new Islamic & Turkish Arts museum, the Archeological Museum, Chemberlitash Hamam ... well just Google the location and check the Top 10 Things to Do Guide from Eye-Witness Guides and you will get the picture.

We spent two weeks at Hali Hotel during the Christmas and New Years holidays, 2011-2012. Not only did Cengiz, the Reservations Manager, give us a perfect room with a view of the Bosphorus and Hagia Sophia, he introduced us to Ihan and Ibrahim, who took care of us 24 hours a day, no matter if we were looking for touristy info, champagne glasses or a midnight Turkish coffee. These guys embody Turkish hospitality and aimed to make our stay unforgettable. They succeeded.

So, if you're looking to spend a day or a month in the historic center of Istanbul with a view of the Golden Horn, the Bosphorus AND the Sea of Marmarus to compliment your morning coffee, look no further than this place. We're going back again.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and had a great view, but I think the view would be the same on lower flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saaaailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#293 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#495 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lady Diana Hotel
Lady Diana Hotel
#388 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#78 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
May Hotel Istanbul
#560 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Hotel

Property: Hali Hotel
Address: Klodfarer Cad. No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hali Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing