We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, average rooms and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hali Hotel
Ranked #608 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, average rooms and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

You can't beat this location! Right in the heart of Sultanahmet, it is near every thing- Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. About a 10 min walk is the Spice Bazaar which gets you close to the Bospherous.
The hotel itself leaves a bit to be desired. Rooms are small-ish (even for Turkey) and have very little charm. But, the hotel is clean and provides a nice breakfast on the rooftop terrace with wonderful views. The staff could've been a bit more welcoming, but overall, not a bad place for $110 US a night for a room with 2 twin beds and nice bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on front side of hotel. No view and darker in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jteaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    103
    39
    13
    9
See reviews for
38
45
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

The hotel is nestled is a side street about 5 minutes walk from the Blue Mosque, as a matter of fact our room overlooked it. The hotel is great value for money, in part because of its location, near the tram sation, and generally friendly atmosphere.

The hotel provided a buffet typre breakfast which was quite nice, however after a couple of days got a bit boring because of lack of variety. Free wi-fi was also included in the hotel price, which was more or less usable. Maybe the only negative experience was that the air conditioning intake was located under our room and it was making a heavy noise even though one of our neighbours was using the AC. This meant that we had to sleep behind closed doors with our own AC on, which is not my favourite way of sleeping.

Room Tip: Double rooms overlook the Blue mosque, therefore ask for double rooms if you want a view, otherwise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank regshammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

beautiful hotel. excellent service. spacious and clean. perfect toilet. very appropriate price (25 € / person x day). excellent location. Close to the tram stop. 5 minuts to santa sofia & blue mausoleum! nothing to add! super recommended! I write only because i have tu use all the 300 characters. By by and have a nice holiday in Istanbul!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aabbccddqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The Hali Hotel was very strategically located to all of the important sites in Istanbul. The hotel is off, what I would call the main strip. The hotel is steps away from restaurants, money exchanges, travel agencies, the tram, etc. It is located a few blocs from the Haghia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. Also, it is easily within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar.

The room was an ok size, quiet, clean, and comfortable. Our only complaint was that we were there for two nights and was not able to take a warm shower because there was no hot/warm water.

The breakfast was the best out of the many hotels we stayed while traveling. It is served on the rooftop and the sites that can be seen while dining are the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Bosphorus, etc.

Everything at this hotel would have been perfect if we had hot water.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

The Hali Hotel is in a great convenient location just off the main street with the tram line in Sultanamet. Walk to Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia , cafes, patisseries, restaurants, hop-on-hop-off bus etc. The view from the top floor breakfast room is sensational. The rate seems reasonable comparible to other hotels, however it is a bit tired looking. I had some issues with maintenance problems in my room and they were fixed quickly. The cleaners seemed diligent but were extremely noisy yelling to each other and slamming doors. One strange thing happened. As a solo female traveller I was alarmed to get a bang on my door at midnight waking me up, to be asked by the male receptionist if my air conditioner was working! Was it necessary to ask this at midnight or was there some other reason...?

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willynillyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at the Hali over the past 12 years and each time my experience has been similarly positive. There is a wonderful view from the rooftop terrace. What more could one want when eating breakfast than to see the panorama of Aya Sofya and Sultanahmet Mosque with the Marmara sea and the Bosphorus Bridge as the backdrop? The hotel is located on a quiet street just off Divan Yolu, which is the main street running through the Sultanahmet neighbourhood. It is less than 5 minutes from the tram station and all of the major sights (Topkapi, Aya Sofya, Sultanahmet Mosque, the covered bazaar, the Cemberlitas baths, and the cisterns are just a 10-minute walk away. The staff are very pleasant , the hotel is very clean (though the decor is rather old-fashioned) and there is free wi-fi in the rooms. If you are a woman traveling alone and don't want to spend a lot on your hotel, this is a very good choice, as indeed it would be for couples or families.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front and preferably on a higher floor in order to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PercyP_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
164 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is has a very central location. The view from breakfast on the terrace is great. The rooms are a bit dated and could use renovating. The only issue I have with this hotel is noise. You can hear everyone open and close doors run water in the bath, or use the toilet. If noise does not bother you then this hotel will be fine.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TX_Flyer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#299 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#506 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lady Diana Hotel
Lady Diana Hotel
#384 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nena Hotel
Nena Hotel
#78 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
May Hotel Istanbul
#539 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hali Hotel

Property: Hali Hotel
Address: Klodfarer Cad. No 20 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #608 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hali Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing