We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Express Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Express Star Hotel
Ranked #746 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

They opened the room while we were sleeping at 11:30 PM with the master key and all we've got is "sorry it was a mistake"
And oneday we got back the room's door was open!!!! Thank god nothing was stolen
It's the worst staff and hotel ever!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hzeiada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Ön Büro Müdürü at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    33
    28
    6
    9
See reviews for
10
35
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

First of all, I picked this hotel because price was right and location was awesome. Right at the door steps of the hotel, Besiktas minibuses were waiting. Hotel is 5 minutes walk away from Taksim square and metro station, practically you can go anywhere in Istanbul. Hotel was very clean. Room was very clean. Bed was so so good, not very comfortable but not bad either. My deal included breakfast and it was delicious with good service. Only problem was the size of the rooms, I think it was 9m2. I was able to fit, but if you are a person wearing XL shirt and pants, forget about fitting into elevator or bathroom. You will be very uncomfortable. Not sure all rooms were this small or mine only. You should better call and check. If it is 9m2 and your t-shirt size is XXL, find another place.

Room Tip: You should better call and check room size. If it is 9m2 and your t-shirt size is XXL, find another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mert51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Genel Müdür at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very friendly staff, clean rooms and excellent location at the heart of the city.. No disturbances, staff help you with any troubles or queries you may have! Right in taksim square everything you may wish to visit is in very good distance.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceyhunfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Genel Müdür at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was in this hotel for two nights with my wife. The rooms are extremely small (3.2 x3 mts small). I must say it was very clean, but it was very unconfortable. Also the noce from the street and from insideof the hotel was too much, even sleeping on the 3rd floor. Finally, and whats worst, the service from the people at the reception was very poor. They were not willing to provide any aditional help; not even calling a taxi or arranging a shuttle to go to the airport. Poor service and poor attitude.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Ön Büro Müdürü at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hotel rooms in our website and all sales channels are square to write.Our room is 9 square meters and you've already typed it. All information is provided in arrival time to on the reception in our hotel.immediately if the request is being organized taxi and the taxi to come to the hotel is within 5 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went to this hotel with my boyfriend last February. The room was nice, cosy and clean as well. The price was very good. It is very close to istiklal street but if i were going again in Instabul i would prefer to have a room close to spice bazaar or the hagia sofia because you have to take the metro to go to taksim and you pay almost 1.50 euro just for one stop. However there is a bus stop outside the hotel. The breakfast was good enough.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irida_das
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Ön Büro Müdürü at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2015
Thank you for considering us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Very rude front desk supervisor and staff is not any better. Disrespectful, difficult and unwilling to help. If you do decide to check in you better check the bed for bedbugs and linens for stains. I had to change room twice.
The hotel breakfast is very basic and you will be charged extra for the juice!!
Need a taxi to the airport? DON'T ORDER FROM THE HOTEL!! You will be charged double or triple the rate. You are also going to be charged extra for your luggage. I've been quoted up to $75 USD. You are better off walking to Taksim Square (2min away) and board Havash bus (white in colour) that leaves square every half an hour for only 10 lira (Turkish currency).
Don't be fooled by the advertisements of the Turkish bath available at the hotel. The bath is very dirty, moldy and nothing as depicted in the brochure. Even if you complain you will not be refunded since the bath is run by a "different owner".
If you would like to take a tour of the Istanbul, once again make your way to Taksim Square. You will save some serious money by boarding the bus from there. If you wish to explore on your own board a subway from Taksim Square and connect to the streetcar. You will see all attractions at the cost of 3 lira.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Satış Müdürü at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Did you not stay at this hotel. Because ve have no Turkish bad. in this hotel there are no any Turkish bad. airport pick up service 1-4 people 29.00 € and we have no any secret payment for extra laguage. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Like some of the other reviews on this page - Taksim Star Express is certainly worth avoiding. For instance, they have no regard for the DO NOT DISTURB SIGN. Apparently housekeeping like to clean the rooms early and have no problem with just walking in and kicking you out! Even if you're still in bed! If you complain - they call you 'trouble'... Like Shady L's review - 'Worst Hotel Experience!' - I echo that review but based on too many examples to mention here. I have travelled in a professional capacity for over thirty years and absolutely TAKSIM is the worst hotel experience ever. DO NOT GO THERE!...

Room Tip: Get a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank micky t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Express Star Ho... i, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Express Star Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2015
inside the door to your room and your room if you do not bother hanging suspended the card certainly does not enter the door staff.
Our staff is excited about for your request it again. staff are more careful about it.
We apologize for much from you on this subject.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Hotel Taksim Star
Hotel Taksim Star
#929 of 1,150 in Istanbul
59 reviews
Beyoglu
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
Istanbulinn Boutique Hotel
#772 of 1,150 in Istanbul
66 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marions Suite
The Marions Suite
#724 of 1,150 in Istanbul
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Economic Star Hotel
Economic Star Hotel
#1,026 of 1,150 in Istanbul
21 reviews
Beyoglu
Babu Hotel
Babu Hotel
#640 of 1,150 in Istanbul
20 reviews
Beyoglu
Sed Hotel
Sed Hotel
#582 of 1,150 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Express Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Express Star Hotel

Property: Express Star Hotel
Address: Inonu Caddesi. Dunya Saglik Sokak No.11 | Gumussuyu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #746 of 1,150 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Express Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the Heart of Istanbul ! In the heart of the city, the Taksim Star Express Hotel is just a few steps from Taksim Square. It features air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, and has a 24-hour front desk. The Star's rooms feature blackout curtains for a restful night's sleep. The rooms are all provided with simple furnishings, central heating and an LED TV. Some rooms have windows with panoramic city views. The hotel has non-smoking rooms. In the morning, the hotel serves a rich continental breakfast. The Hotel Star also has a café bar that has alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks. Guests can enjoy the hotel's dry cleaning, ironing and room service for an additional fee. At the tour desk, the friendly staff provides information on local attractions and assists with car rental. The lively streets of Istiklal Avenue are just a 4-minute walk from Taksim Star Express. Ataturk Airport is 16.9 km away. A private airport shuttle service can be arranged upon request. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Express Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Star Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing