We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #114 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed there for a week during my honeymoon in Istanbul. I chose the hotel because of the excellent location (only 3 minutes from Gulhane Tramstop) and also the reviews on Tripadvsior and also the excellent price. The room was small but very clean and was prepared daily. The breakfast was good with multiple choices. The air-conditioning in the rooms was excellent. The location of the hotel was the real deal, it is close to Hagia Sophia Church (less then 8 minutes) close to Eminono (about 5 minutes of less) and close to 2 tramstops (Gulhane and Sirkeci). Overall it was an excellent hotel and I would definitely recommend it. For the price you are getting a real deal here.

Room Tip: choose a room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertGreen88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    324
    92
    26
    7
See reviews for
199
262
83
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a great location at the center of Istanbul
Good rooms good service
It only needed a minibar in the room and a little improvement of the breakfast but overall great hotel and a beautiful vacation

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mazen730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Hotel was very clean and well kept. Meriç Ünlü and the other service staff were very friendly and approachable. They assisted me with all my questions as best as they could, making my stay more comfortable. Breakfast provided was good, well presented and had an array of choices.

Hotel was walking distance to the key attractions in Old City as well as Gulhane tram station if one needs to go to New City. The final best part for me was a view of the sunrise from my room on the highest floor (6th) as I was staying in a single room, which came to me pleasantly unexpected.

Overall, I definitely enjoyed my stay at Ilkay Hotel and I would recommend this wonderful hotel!

Room Tip: Sunrise view in single room on sixth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

It's an awesome hotel in a great location. Close to the severel musems including Topkapi palace, Hagia Sophie, Sultahahmet mosque and Basilica Sistern. The hotel personnal were very helpfull and did everything to make your stay comfortable. I would stay in this hotel if I will be in Istanbul again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Zahid_Ismayilov_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
190 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

close to tram stop for transport to Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque...further from grand bazaar. Room was small but adequate...some street noise as our room fronted on a busy one. Coffee/tea in room, breakfast bar in morning with adequate food choices. Not a bad value for the price.

Room Tip: one away from the street and pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SadieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2014

The Ilkay Hotel provided me with a comfortable place to stay for my two nights in Istanbul. The breakfast is excellent, however the noise level at night is pretty high. There is a pub connected to the hotel and my room was very near the noise. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There is a baggage room for free as well. The area is very close to the river and within walking distance of the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SavvyTraveler963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2014

we are very glad we have chosen Ilkay hotel for our trip to Istanbul. Everything was wonderful there: location, food, room, cleaning etc. however the air conditioner did not work good - although it was on, the air it provided was still hot and did not help during hot nights.
it was good we had 3 windows in our room, so we did not suffer.

Room Tip: room 110 is a corner room, all its windows face the street, so may be very noisy for someone sensiti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#55 of 1,140 in Istanbul
972 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#147 of 1,140 in Istanbul
923 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#70 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#54 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#204 of 1,140 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,140 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing