We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, smart hotel in the center of the old city”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #86 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice, smart hotel in the center of the old city”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I stayed for five nights with my Girlfriend this February.
The rooms were clean and staff were Friendly and helpful. Walking distance from Hagia Sophia Blue Mosque, spice market as well as ferries and tram station
A special mention too for the hotel bar Red River. it was great place to stop for a quick drink and a bite to eat, or something more substantial in the evening.
so we will come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kovacs p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    324
    93
    26
    7
See reviews for
205
264
85
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is spotless clean. There is mineral water in each room which is replaced daily, also hot water pot and tea bags. Each room has a safety box at no extra price (some hotels charge for this). There is an elevator (not all hotels have one). The staff speaks English and Spanish (Ugur does who is in the afternoon shift) and are always willing to give you information, good tips or help you out. They are really very accommodating. When I came back to Istanbul I chose this hotel so I hope you try it too :)

Room Tip: I stayed in different room sin my long stay and they were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LorenciaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
My dear guest;

Thank you for your sincere review about Ilkay Hotel & Red River Pub. We are really grateful to you. It has been our utmost goal to make our guests happy and it will always be.

Please note that we are your second family here in Istanbul and if you need anything from Istanbul, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to hear back from you and to see you here.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, The owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is small but it is very well located at walking distance from St Sofia, the blue mosque and the sea. The tramway passes in front of the hotel. The personel is extremely friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast is very good. The rooms are small but clean and fonctional. The restaurant bar adjacent to the hotel offers excellent food at good price. I ate there every night.
I do not know any other hotel in Istanbul but I would not search for any other hotel during my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
My dear guest;

Thank you for your sincere review about Ilkay Hotel & Red River Pub. We are really grateful to you. It has been our utmost goal to make our guests happy and it will always be.

Please note that we are your second family here in Istanbul and if you need anything from Istanbul, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to hear back from you and to see you here.

Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, The owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

It's your lucky day - said the manager on duty when I arrived at the Ilkay Hotel weary from a long flight from Bangkok. My heart dropped as he explained that I had been 'upgraded' to a room at a sister hotel a few yards away, the Orient Express. Hmmm, I thought; here we go to cockroach city.
In fact, he took me to a pleasant-looking hotel down the street where I had a great room and a very comfortable stay. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
So, I'm giving Mr Ramazan Ovali at the Ilkay five stars for the very informative and polite emails he sent me before I arrived, and for my room at the Orient Express. The Ilkay looked absolutely fine, by the way, and I have booked another room there for my return trip next week.

Room Tip: Can't rate the rooms as I stayed at the Orient Express.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
My dear guest;

Thank you for your sincere review about Ilkay Hotel. We are really grateful to you. It has been our utmost goal to make our guests happy and it will always be. We never let anyone go upset in our properties.

Please note that we are your second family here in Istanbul and if you need anything from Istanbul, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to hear back from you and to see you here.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, The owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I can be picky, but no room complaints here. Very clean room and bathroom, and a really great hot shower!

The two bottles of water supplied in the room are just refilled/unsealed glass bottles and are labeled for use with tea/coffee (kindly supplied), too heavy and not really suitable to take out trekking. But this is not a problem since bottled water is cheap in Istanbul. ½ TL per bottle at the shop directly across from the hotel, so grab some on the way out exploring.

I was traveling alone with only carryon bags, so I took the rail/tram combination from IST to hotel (6TL total) on a Saturday late afternoon. I won't do that again! I cannot describe how packed the tram was, yet people kept pushing in at every stop. I've read the usual warnings of pickpockets on the tram, but really, if someone lifts your wallet, you would probably thank them for creating the additional space.

The hotel is located between two T-1 tram stops, Gulhane and Sirkeci. While Sirkeci might be a little closer, the slightly downhill walk from Gulhane is easier and with fewer intersections to cross.

This is a very busy tourist area along the tram line and a great area for shops, food options and atmosphere. To the south is the Spice Market, an easy downhill walk. Uphill to the north is the main historical area containing the Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Aya Sofia. While it can be walked, some may choose to take the tram going uphill, walking downhill on the return.

If you are bothered by noise when you sleep, ask for a room away from the street. My room was above the street from the 3rd floor (4th floor for us yanks), and this is the first time I ever had a problem with street noise. The nearly continuous bells and horn from the trams, combined with loud crowd noises was just a little too much.

But a great enclosed hot shower!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
My dear guest;

Thank you for your sincere review about Ilkay Hotel. We are really grateful to you. It has been our utmost goal to make our guests happy and it will always be. However, I would like to apologize that we were not able to fully satisfy you. Soon, in order to prevent noise problems, we will take precautions at our building. Paying too much attention to all feedback coming from our guests, we will redesign our structure to give the best service possible.

Please note that we are your second family here in Istanbul and if you need anything from Istanbul, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to hear back from you and to see you here.

Forgive us.

Sincerely
Faruk Boyaci, The owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

i have stayed at this hotel in 2008/9/10/13 and cannot find a single fault with the staff or with the hotel in general. the rooms are cleaned on a daily basis to a high standard. the buffet breakfast is always fresh , the receptionists, fatih, sadat, and ugur are very helpful and are bi lingual. in english french and spanish. the bar RED RIVER is a brilliant place to unwind and have a wide selection of alcoholic beverages as well as tea and coffee , and has an excepional menu if you are a little peckish. if you are looking for a hotel in istanbul and just want somewhere to rest your head and get a shower after a long day exploring the delights of istanbul, then this is the hotel i would recommend to all. without any hesitations at all.

Room Tip: i cannot say to choose any particular room, as they are all good and during my times here i have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TIMOTHY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
My dear guest;

Thank you for your sincere review about Ilkay Hotel & Red River Pub. We are really grateful to you. It has been our utmost goal to make our guests happy and it will always be.

Please note that we are your second family here in Istanbul and if you need anything from Istanbul, do not hesitate to contact us. We will be happy to hear back from you and to see you here.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, The owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Ilkay hotel is nothing special. It is a average three star hotel. Not special or memorable. But I would not hesitate recommending it to all budget travelers hence it is placed near tramp and the major sites. It is clean, the wifi works excellence, you feel safe and the room is clean. All important things!
Only downside is the toilet flush - very noisy and did not work well in our room and the breakfast is plain and uninteresting but as to expect for this kind of budget hotel...
Thank you Ilkay - perhaps I will see you again.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank maria b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear maria b;

Thank you for your kind review about our hotel. We are happy to read and hear that you had mostly pleasant stay with us. In our opinion, such feedback are the great motivation to our employees to work with desire and passion.

Furthermore, I am sorry for the problems. We are going to solve all of technical problems.

Nice to meet you and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#67 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,762 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#150 of 1,156 in Istanbul
925 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#56 of 1,156 in Istanbul
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,452 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#219 of 1,156 in Istanbul
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing