We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Location, Cordial Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #111 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Location, Cordial Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Nice location, very short distance from most historical places like Grand Baazar, Spice Market, Galata Bridge, Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Basilica Cistern and many more. Cordial hospitality, great value, best service.

Room Tip: Road side rooms have the nice view of street and shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abdulhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our dear guest;

On behalf of Ilkay Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Reading your sincere comments motivate us more than anything. We appreciate it.

if you need anything from Istanbul or Ilkay hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us. We would love to hear from you and see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    323
    92
    26
    7
See reviews for
195
261
81
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed three nights in Ilkay and totally loved it. the room are small but mostly we experienced the same thing in other parts of Europe as well. But it is super clean-I even saw the cleaners putting soap on the carpet and thoroughly cleaning it! The room we stayed(newer building, 5th floor) has no such view but we arn't complaining for the price we paid.
We booked online and promptly a person was standing with my name at the airport. A shuttle style car dropped us. Since we were the only ppl at that time we had the car to ourselves!
We waited for an hour to get the room. Breakfast is very European-cold cuts! I have requested Ramazan to add more hot food. You receive a personalized letter in the room from him which is so cute. The most important thing about this place is its LOCATION. We walked everywhere very conveniently and took the tram to Galata Tower from the station at Gulhane rather than Sirkeci.Shop across has all the regular supplies of water, soft drinks etc.
Street across going upwards has a host of restaurants. On the last day of our trip, my husband was down with fever and the staff was very co-operative in helping me takle his breakfast upstairs.Also I must mention that when staying here, you are staying with the Sirkeci group of hotels and that is very significant.We took a taxi ride from Taksim as it was around 1am and since we weren't sure of the exact stip to the hotel, I made the cab stop at Erboy-sister hotel. The meter was completely rigged-charging us 48 liras for the ride. I asked my husband to wait, got down and walked in to Erboy, asked the manager on duty what the fare was he said:"17 liras". I told him that the cab is waiting outside and asking for 48, he promptly stepped out and the cabbie immediately changed the fare to 17!! thanks for his efforts, it saved us from being duped. Very satisfied with our stay!

Room Tip: Pay in cash, we got 7% back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Esjay05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our dear guest;

On behalf of Ilkay Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Reading your sincere comments motivate us more than anything. We appreciate it. Please do not forget us.

if you need anything from Istanbul or Ilkay hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us. We would love to hear from you and see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerod, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel Ilkay is a fantastic hotel located almost in the heart of Istanbul 's old town, we stayed at
the hotel for 14 days and since this is the first time we are in Istanbul , we arrange pick up from the Hotel transfer service in Sabina Gökçen airport at 0530 am and the driver was exactly on time as we had agreed with the hotel the price is 50 euros or 300 TL which is cheap.

The hotel has a very helpful staff no matter what or when you ask for help on
information into something everything from attractions and places to visit.

The hotel certainly living up to their stars . There is nicely clean all over.
The breakfast's buffet had a super good selection which was most likely drawn to that it was people from the West who came most ,
we fall in love with a kind of bread roll which was glance with something almost ala Donut things.

most things are within walking distance to the major & small museums, less than 100 meters from the hotel is a Tramp station.
so it is well connected to the old town and the new town.
Likewise are all Prepare the boats in a row by the garden so show you to the Asia side, do not go far.

We will be coming back at the hotel again if we are going to Istanbul in the near future .

PS .... and the Tramp ruining up and down the street , is not something you notice when you've been in the hotel after the first night . and we lived right next to the street on the 2nd floor .

Room Tip: Any room goes :-).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteenLindblad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our dear guest;

It is a real pleasure to host you and know that you have enjoyed your stay. I would like to thank you, on behalf of Ilkay Hotel, for your kind review about Ilkay Hotel. Reading your sincere comments motivate us more than anything. We appreciate it.

if you need anything from Istanbul or Ilkay hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us. We would love to hear from you and see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Right down near the old part of Istanbul. We stayed here several nights and enjoyed the experience, closeness to everything in the area. The staff went out of their way for clients (we saw the manager sitting down with other people staying there with a map showing the best destinations). We had a double room (sitting room and bedroom). Excellent value. The included breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbumAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our dear guest;

On behalf of Ilkay Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Reading your sincere comments motivate us more than anything. We appreciate it.

if you need anything from Istanbul or Ilkay hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us. We would love to hear from you and see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We had a room looking down on the street just above the red river bar and the tram going past , great to see the buzz and people going about their lives.
Breakfast basic Turkish , do not expect bacon and eggs :-) !
Staff very helpful and friendly and wifi in the room.

All the must sees within walking distance , so convenient, will definitely be our choice when going again.
They also has the Neorion just around the corner, part of the same group, very upmarket with all the fancy trimmings and of course more expensive, Depends on what you prefer.

We made our reservations on line , arranged our transfers and you get discount when paying on arrival in cash.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonora18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our dear guest;

On behalf of Ilkay Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Reading your sincere comments motivate us more than anything. We appreciate it.

if you need anything from Istanbul or Ilkay hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us. We would love to hear from you and see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed only for three nights but was very pleased. The location is excellent, very close to sultanahmet area as well as the bazaar and the tram stop is just two minutes walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. There is also a Gulluoglu shop just across the street for baklava lovers like myself. I would definately go back. Thank you ilkay for the lovely stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Zafiro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirkecigroup, Owner at Hotel Ilkay, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Our dear guest;

On behalf of Ilkay Hotel, I would like to thank you for your kind review about our hotel. It is very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Reading your sincere comments motivate us more than anything. We appreciate it.

if you need anything from Istanbul or Ilkay hotel, please do not hesitate to contact us. We would love to hear from you and see you again.

Kind Regards
Faruk Boyaci, the owner of Ilkay Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon County, Ab. Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is very very clean. The staff are not just friendly, they are very caring and accommodating. This is not a 5 star hotel, but the staff act like it is. You are made to feel like they want you there. The location is perfect to all the historical sites, you can walk which is a good thing after eating that good Turkish food. The room we had was spacious and clean. It has the basic amenities. A little noisy with the tram in the early evening but other than that everything is very good with this hotel.

Room Tip: If they are not full, try to get the room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#50 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#65 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maywood Hotel
Maywood Hotel
#142 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#98 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#55 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#254 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Property: Hotel Ilkay
Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing