We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second year running at Hotel Ilkay :)”
Review of Hotel Ilkay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ilkay
Ranked #65 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family stayed here last year and had such a great stay that we vowed that we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Istanbul.

We struck up a great friendship with one of the reception staff named Sedat so going back was like visiting an old friend :)

The hotel standards have not slipped a bit, instead they have made many improvements with a recent refurbishment. It was always very clean, with the loveliest staff. The location is unparalleled, right on the tram line so every major sight is within walking distance - Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, grand bazaar, follow the tram line to the left. For the Spice Bazaar, New Mosque, water front and Galata bridge, just follow the tram line to the right. You can never get lost!

We want to say a big thanks to reception staff Cengis, Ugur and our great friend, Sedat. Nothing was too much hassle for them and they always had a smile on their face. You made our stay so amazing, can't wait to come back next year. They are a real asset to Hotel Ilkay.

Also a special mention to the brilliant staff at the Red River Pub, which is an adjoining pub/restaurant. They were so great and helpful, and also helped to waiter the breakfast, which was very varied and so delicious!!

Thank to all of you, especially Sedat, can't wait to come back next year inshallah. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SanahUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (972)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 972 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have booked this hotel based on the good reviews here at TA and we weren't disappointed. We have stayed at Ilkay for 5 nights and it was a good hotel in terms of service, location and price.

We were able to check into our room even though it was still early. The triple room was alright, there was enough space to walk around even with our luggages. There was a cupboard with a safe, a tv, a small dresser and complimentary bottles of water everyday. The beds and specially the pillows were comfortable. Bathroom was spacious and always clean and the towels were changed everyday. Carpets were worn out but at least it didn't smell bad.

The elevators were small but functional. They have a separate room for luggage storage which can be used upon check-out if your flight was scheduled for later as was in our case.

Breakfast was good with a lot of choices... bread, cheese, 3 kinds of coldcuts, hotdogs, eggs, fresh fruits, vegetables, yogurts, jams, fresh honey plus coffee, tea, juice. More than enough to start your day. The music in the breakfast room was somewhat loud, though, so having a peaceful breakfast was not ideal.

I love the location of the hotel. It was walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Underground Cistern, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. Two tram stations a few minutes walk and a lot of restaurants and souvenir shops surrounding the hotel. It was a good base for exploring the city.

Overall, it was a good choice of a hotel. It wasn't grand by any means but it was comfortable. It's reasonably priced and you get good service from the staff. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chingquit_auh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in ilkay hotel in august 2012 what a hotel everything was nice in every way possible
Every thing was charming, the rooms in the new wing were clean and comfortable, the location central and in the heart of every thing, the breakfast very nice, the staff was helpful and friendly, and the price was reasonable
Perfect

Room Tip: Choose the new wings , specially rooms number 503 and 504
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr aly elariny e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We wanted to visit Istanbul for a concert and of course sightseeing and having fun, so we didn't really wanted to spend a lot of time in hotel. We mainly chose here because of good location and cheap price. We booked a room for 3 of us, but it was really small. after bringing our baggages (which nobody helped) there was almost no room for us to hang. The view was terrible and we preferred to spend days and nights in the city. the location is excellent: near a tramway station and near many sights, it really helped us to wander around all the time! The breakfast was great and the cleanliness was so-so. the receptionist was really kind and always helpful. I don't recommend here for a romantic trip or even for families with little kids, but for easygoing friends, its great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hadiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had a perfect 6 nights at Ilkay Hotel. Front desk personnel were more than friendly & helpful. The hotel was very clean. The first thing I did when I entered my hotel room was to go straight to the bathroom to have a look at it because bathroom cleanliness is very important to me. GREAT! It was EXTRA CLEAN! I was alone and was given a room with 2 single bed. Overall, everything was perfect. Will definitely stay in the same hotel on my next trip. Thanks, Guys!!

Noor_SIngapore, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UgoRolando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Last week I was in Istanbul with my family and I have lived in Hotel Ikay 9/9/2012
hotel was very wonderful close to all tourist sites you can access everything walked on foot
Rooms were very clean and comfortable and there was no noise and was cleaning day.
Wonderful breakfast consists of milk, coffee, tea, eggs, lots of cheese, butter, meat vegetables ....... etc.
The reception staff have been very friendly and helpful especially Mr. Fathi always smiling and he was very cooperative and very friendly and the other colleague was wonderful and polite

Next time I will live in this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mristanbul2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Portsmouth, UK
3424
Reviewed September 14, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#58 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,774 reviews
Sultanahmet
Lalahan Hotel
Lalahan Hotel
#151 of 1,163 in Istanbul
103 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotellino Istanbul
Hotellino Istanbul
#47 of 1,163 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#30 of 1,163 in Istanbul
714 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#69 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,472 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#67 of 1,163 in Istanbul
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ilkay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ilkay

Address: Hudavendigar Street No: 44-46 | Eminonu, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $35 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ilkay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Agoda, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ilkay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing