We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, wonderful hotel”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed at the Erboy Hotel four times over the past two years, and have never been disappointed. You absolutely cannot beat the location: Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Grand Bazaar, Spice Bazaar, Eminönü waterfront (with Bosphorus boat tours) are all within walking distance. The staff are so friendly and helpful, the rooms are generally small but very clean and comfortable, and the buffet breakfast is good. It is a Turkish-style breakfast (e.g. cheese, olives, cucumbers, tomatoes, various bread products) but there are different cooked items every day too, such as scrambled/boiled eggs, sausage, potatoes, mushrooms, etc. My favourite thing has to be the rooftop terrace bar at the hotel - some of the best views in Istanbul. As for the price, I have stayed at this hotel in different times of the season (July and September/October), and I have found the prices to be very reasonable. Can't recommend this hotel enough! P.S. if you're on more of a budget, then its sister hotel the Ilkay is also very good.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room in the new wing. There aren't good views out of the windows, but rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen_in_Istanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed five nights at this hotel with my family. The reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times. The rooms are a bit small but that's the same throughout the Old Town. Room and bathroom were spotless clean. Breakfast plentiful and with numerous options from cereals to sausages! Perfect location. Few minutes from tram stop and all the main sites (Blue Mosque, Gran Bazaar, Agia Sofia and Topikapi Palace) all within walking distance. Amazing terrace bar too with a spectacular view. Can't wait to go back!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank kikkinauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic. Great location, great roof top bar overlooking the bospherus, clean room & wonderful staff who made our 25th wedding anniversary very memorable. Would def recommend this hotel:-)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We (4 adults in 2 rooms) stayed for 3nights at Erboy and has nothing but fond memories from our stay. Jamilya, guest relations made an impression on us, right after check in, provided us some orientation of where we are, maps, and also a list of operation hours for attractions around us. That to us is really going the extra mile without our having to ask.

The rest of the staff we encountered whether at reception, housekeeping or the restaurant were friendly, helpful and always had a smile for us. Breakfast was same throughout our stay but for me, that was sufficient. The bathroom is a good size, water pressure is good. My husband especially loves the jet inside the toilet bowl! The aircon, TV & wireless in our room works perfectly! My room (Rm 302) was located on 2nd floor, with a little balcony overlooking the back which was lined with restaurants. At night, it gets a little noisy but I dont really mind since the solid balcony door shuts out the noise completely when closed. And by all means, have dinner in the hotel restaurant! It really is one of the best we've had in Instanbul.

Location wise, it cant be better. It's central to almost all attractions, 3mins to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Museums, Blue Mosque, maybe 5mins to our fav attraction, the Basilica Cistern. It's less than a minute walk to Guihane tram station which will take you across to Taksim or Grand Bazaar. In the other direction, less than 1min away, you can reach the Sirkeci train station which will bring you through the tunnel metro, over to the Asian side. 5mins walk leads you to the Spice Bazaar or towards the ferry terminal for the Bosphorus cruise.

Prior to this, we stayed in 4days Rome & 3days Athens but unanimously, we all agreed
that Erboy was our favourite. It truly is a gem and I'm glad I booked to stay here. You get 5 stars from us! Thanks for your great hospitality. Biz tekrar ziyaret umuyoruz. Hope I got that right :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Esther349558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Very nice welcoming hotel, great location, walking distance from all historical places. Breakfast has a good selection, our room was cosy (small) but sufficient and clean we did not need to spend much time in our room as there is so much to do in Istanbul. A visit to the roof terrace is a must great view of Hagia Sophia and Istanbul’s amazing skyline. A transfer was included when you arrive which is very handy when you arrive into such a big bustling city.

Cons.. If i were being picky, the above free transfer was not waiting for us as we were told we had to make some phone calls and meet a series of people before getting on the transport which was a bit confusing, but can’t complain as it was free and didn't take long to sort out. The hotel have said this has now been fixed.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShazzaLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Very friendly and professional Personal.. nice Breakfast and great Restaurant just under the Hotel, try it!! quite pricy but worth it!! nice location to discover Istanbul, just behind the Topkapı and Ayasofya! but romms are wuite old and uncomfortable. and could be sometimes reraaly loudy, cause of your neighbor!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tuncay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JamiliaMirzoyeva, Guest Relations Manager at Erboy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Dear Tuncay A,
I would like to personally thank you for taking time to review our hotel and pleased to inform that we changed some old mattresses, our breakfast area is under renovation now and will be finished on Monday. Our management planed to renovate all hotel within 2 years.
I am sorry that the noise was challenging during your stay and I wish you would have given us opportunity to make things right and brought all those comments to our attention during your stay in 2013. Depends on hotels' availability we relocate guests to another available rooms in case if they need it due to some noise.
Can İ kindly ask you to provide your reservation number direct to me jamilya@erboyhotel.com As Erboy famİly we will do our best to meet all your expectations on your next stay.

Jamilya
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

In many cities the restaurant hotel is usually not the best option, but in the Sultanahmet/Sirkeci district of Istanbul the hotels have some of the best restaurants and the Erboy is proof of that. While not exactly budget, the quality and value are there. The hotel itself is run like a 4-star with professional attention to service and a large staff. The rooms are clean with quality appointments, the bathrooms much better than average and useful English channels populate the satellite television. Everything is close to this hotel including the Gûlhane tram stop to get to places that aren't as close. There is a roof-top terrace for gazing out to the Bosporus while enjoying a snack and beverages. There's a breakfast buffet in the morning that has a good variety and is competitive with the other hotels I've stayed at in Sirkeci. This hotel gives you everything you've paid for and little more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterEtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,783 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#256 of 1,181 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#64 of 1,181 in Istanbul
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,181 in Istanbul
3,062 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,181 in Istanbul
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,181 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing