We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice 4 nights stay in Istanbul”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We made the reservation on the hotels website and had a free pick up from Ataturk airport. The pick up worked very good, quite new MB van with good driver. Before our stay we got useful information from Ms. Ayse Sancak. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. In the breakfast room was every morning Sircesi daily Express; weather report, information about Turkey, what is happening today, hints where to eat lunch( not only Sircesi group restaurants!) etc.
Hotel Erboy has a very good restaurant Pasazade, we had an excellent dinner there. Try also restaurant Imbat with a splendid view to Bosphorus and Red River pub is a nice place to have one Efes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Risto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

424 - 430 of 2,278 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

The Erboy Hotel is a friendly welcoming place. My room was simple but comfortable and overlooked a charming street. The hotel restaurant specialised in ottoman style food that is
excellent. The included breakfast was also pretty good.The location is great in terms of tourist sites and within 3 minutes of the easy to use trams. The staff are helpful and knowlegeable and there is always someone available to give directions. I will certainly stay at The Erboy next time I go to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

the hotel is very basic. room was somewhat smallish but the bed is comfortable. aircon works. bathroom functional.
exceptional customer service. everyone greets you.
the breakfast area can get congested - a lot of people seem to book this place bec of good review i guess!! food is basic - more than American Continental breakfast. they would have 1-3 varieties of fruits (which is rarely offered in some other hotel). they have fresh honey for the 4 days i stayed there --- yummy !!!
corridors leading to lifts are a little narrow - BUT hey we are in Europe where more space means more money.
the rooftop is a good place to unwind - have dinner there. price is reasonable for the view you get.
Gulhane tram station is 5 min walk -NICE. This tram will connect you to basically anywhere you want to go in IStanbul.

The free internet works - BIG PLUS

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetheartofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights at the Erboy hotel. We found it to be the perfect place to stay, location was second to none, room - clean and sufficient, breakfast was good. The service from all the staff was probably the best part. It really is great when you stay somewhere and they value their guests. The roof top bar was nice before dinner. There would be no hesitation in booking at the Erboy next time we are in Istanbul.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neri83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

With so many sights to see in Istanbul we discovered that we were within walking distance of all the many major ones from our hotel. A huge advantage. Also they switched our room immediately when we asked for more space with no questions asked. The rooms are immaculate and quiet, the breakfast is varied and good and the staff is knowledgeable, informative and helpful. A very positive experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winstonpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

In some 40 years of travel this is possibly the best value I've found in a big city - I've certainly paid more for less in Istanbul. It's not 5-star and doesn't pretend to be, but it is very well managed and has staff as helpful and friendly as any I've experienced. They really do go the extra mile to make you welcome and comfortable. The location is superb, just metres from the tram stop at Gulhane.

The rooms are small, and storage space could be an issue if travelling with lots of luggage. Also, whilst the breakfast buffet offers a wide choice it would not appeal to those who insist on a British / American style fry-up. But the hotel restaurant is very good value, and the roof bar offers views that many swankier hotels would love to have.

On future trips to Istanbul I won't think of trying anywhere else.

Room Tip: If you book direct with the hotel you have the option of a discount if you pay in cash (euros) on ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillyoldgit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of September. We booked directly through the hotel website and therefore got a free airport transfer on arrival at Ataturk airport. It was a bit tricky to find the handler for the transfer amongst all the crowds at the arrival hall and then locate the actual taxi/driver, but the transfer was then very smooth and pleasant and took about half an hour.

We had a top floor non-smoking room as requested and although there was some noise from the rooftop bar above (scraping chairs) we didn’t find this a problem and was more than compensated for by a lovely view across the city from our bedroom windows. Although there was only two of us we had a triple which meant there was sufficient space and everything in the room worked. The only downsides were the bed was rather small and there was some noise from the corridor outside/adjacent rooms.

The buffet breakfast, which was served downstairs in the air-conditioned restaurant had a reasonable choice and was perfectly adequate. The hotel is in a great location with all the key historic sites within reasonable walking distance and also the main passenger ferry terminals and the Gulhane stop on tramline 1 was less than 5 minutes away round the corner. The highlight of our visit was an early evening drink on the open-air rooftop bar from which there was a fabulous panoramic view across the city and the Bosphorus (large Efes was 9trl but was worth it for the view). If you intend to use the trams or ferries, ask at reception for an Istanbul Card (10trl refundable deposit).

The other great thing about the hotel was the excellent staff. The reception staff were very friendly, efficient and helpful. The staff in the bar were also friendly and cheerful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#57 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,783 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Golden Horn Hotel
The Golden Horn Hotel
#268 of 1,178 in Istanbul
401 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#60 of 1,178 in Istanbul
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Neorion Hotel
Neorion Hotel
#7 of 1,178 in Istanbul
3,062 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#51 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing