We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #85 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
zgharta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“perfect stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

perfect hotel nice staff delicious breakfast and delicious restaurant dishes and perfect location next to the most interesting cite in istanbul like ayasofia topkapi blue mosque cistern basilica grand bazar and next to the gulhane tram station thanks erboy hotel

Room Tip: family room type it's excellent for med family 2 adults and 2 children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aboushim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,331
    800
    115
    21
    5
See reviews for
483
972
164
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level Contributor
144 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Location: the best you can find as it is very safe. Staff: really helpful and polite. Breakfast: quite boring and with no interesting selection of things. Also the dishes and cups were not very clean and I tried hard to find a clean one. Also it took a lot of time until they refilled the empty bowls. So many times we waited at our tables until they do it. And we stayed for 8 nights= 8 breakfasts. The room was small but clean (although the furniture could be newer). Maids were very polite unlike their colleagues in other countries.The doors do not really ptovide isolation as they are very thin and you can hear anyone moving outside your room! Finally its price was quite high (75 Euros) for a single room. I don't know if I will stay there again as there many hotels around that are as good but less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Location is perfect, minutes from the metro station, and excelent price per nght, better than a four star hotel i have been to in istanbul. It's very close to a place where you can buy good quality clothes with cheap prices (bazar) and also close to the sea. Don't bother go for five stars hotel, you will only need the hotel to sleep not for luxury, been there in August of 2012 but tripadvisor is not giving me the choice to select that date. Will go this year too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalalKhaled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I recently spent 8 nights at the Erboy. We booked through Travel Republic and paid approximately £67 a night for a standard double room and breakfast for two.

First, the positives. The hotel is well located although, to be fair, it is no better located than all of the other hotels in the same area – and there are lots of them. The breakfast was fine - a little repetitive, and we have had better fare at other 3 star hotels, but no complaints. The reception staff were friendly and helpful e.g. they changed large denomination lira notes into smaller ones and they booked restaurants for us, they arranged to have ready for our arrival 2 Museum Passes and 2 Istanbulkarts, they telephoned our Turkish transfer company to get our pick up time for us and so on.

What really disappointed us, and in fact spoilt our stay to quite an extent, was our room – number 1504 on the 5th floor.

I had read in reports that some rooms were on the small side but I did not realise just how small some were. Our room was approximately 10 feet by 9 feet (around 3m by 2.9m) with, in addition, a small built in wardrobe and a bathroom that was approximately 6 feet (1.8m) square. When you consider the room had in it a large double bed, two bedside tables and a desk with hard chair there was very little room left to move about (and very little surface space to put things on). For a short stay it would have been OK but for a longer stay, like ours, it was just too small. That apart, the room was clean, well equipped and the bed was comfortable

I had also read that internal soundproofing was not great. In fact I think it was virtually non-existent. From outside we had the constant hum of nearby air conditioning plant - that plant was actually the bulk of the view from our room (see picture). People talking on the corridor could have been talking inside our room. People banging their room doors could have been banging our door. People using the bathroom in the next room could have been using our bathroom. You get the idea! But what was even worse was that our room (and rooms 1501, 1502 and 1503) were directly below the rooftop terrace and bar. So until midnight every night, and often beyond, we could hear chairs scraping, people walking across the tiled floor, beer barrels being changed and so on.

There were other issues with the room, although they were minor in comparison. On arrival our bathroom wash basin did not have a plug. It took two requests to get one. There was no water at times coming out of the basin taps or to flush the WC. When the supply did return after a short while (a few minutes usually) the tap would gurgle and splutter suggesting an air lock somewhere. The shower sometimes went cold.

If the hotel responds to this report by saying something like ‘you should have told us and we would have moved you’ then they have completely missed the point. Room 1504 is a bad room and they would only have given it to someone else anyway.

Would we stay at the Erboy again? No, because there is a chance of getting room 1504 again (or indeed rooms 1501 to 1503). If you decide to stay there just be aware you may be the one they give those rooms to.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms 1501 to 1504
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hallyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is very well located to most of Istanbul's major attractions, all being short, comfortable walking distances from the hotel. The staff were extremely helpful, the room had everything you needed, the breakfast spread was ample, the onsite restaurant was very good as were the surrounding restaurants. My main tip would be to allow plenty of time to get back to the airport as the traffic can be a nightmare during the middle of the day and the airport is extremely busy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TACCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Erboy Hotel is the perfect place to stay if you arrive in Istanbul( even if you stay one night or 1 week, this is the perfect place to start your vacation in). It is located in the heart of the city, 5-10 minutes away from the main attractions by foot and 3 minutes from the train station that takes you to all other important attractions.The room was very nice, very clean, there was no noise in the room as others said, the food was plenty and very good and also the staff was more than helpful(they made us feel like being the only guests in the hotel), they offered us all the informations we needed before we arrived in Istanbul and after we arrived they helped us with the informations about restaurant, attractions, and other things we need information about. They waited for us with a cold tea in the reception, after they transfered us from the airport to the hotel and also helped us change our room(because we made a reservation for a twin room by mistake).
I would stay there again without thinking one second before.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Erboy Hotel is a very good choice if you are staying in Istanbul for vacation. The location is excellent – within walking distance of pretty much every main attraction: Topkapi Palace, The Blue Mosque, Aya Sophia, The Bosphorus and Galatia Bridge, Grand Bazaar and Spice Market. In addition, there is a tram station at the end of the street that you can take to go over to the other parts of Istanbul. The rooms themselves are small but not so small you feel cramped. The rooms were clean and the beds were ok…they were pretty hard mattresses, but we found that was the case in several hotels we stayed in Europe. The breakfast was very good with tons of options the only complaint which I think may have been mentioned before is that the breakfast room was very warm, they need to do something about adding more AC in there. We used the hotel’s arranged private transfer for 25 euros to get from the airport to the hotel (which turned out to be a bargain because the next hotel that we stayed in later on our trip, which was right down the street charged us 35 euros for the transfer) and the hotel had a shuttle for even less money that left at designated times to go back to the airport. We took this option with no problem. The rooftop bar has a lovely view of the Bosporus, and the drinks were reasonably priced. Great place to end your evening for a nightcap. The staff was helpful and professional, and when we left, it was too early for breakfast so they gave us sandwiches to go which I thought was a nice touch. The wifi was free and worked fine, and they had computers with a printer available for use in the lobby. Overall we had a nice stay at the Erboy and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for mid-priced lodging in the old part of the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank divegirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#67 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Sultanahmet
Olimpiyat Hotel
Olimpiyat Hotel
#122 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Sultanahmet
Raymound Blue Hotel
Raymound Blue Hotel
#493 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#113 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#4 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,937 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sude Konak Hotel
Sude Konak Hotel
#428 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Property: Erboy Hotel
Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing