We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erboy Hotel”
Review of Erboy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Erboy Hotel
Ranked #72 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We chose this hotel after reading reviews on this site, and we were pleased we did. The rooms are adequately furnished for a short stay, the staff without exception are the friendliest we have experienced anywhere. The location is good within easy walking distance of many of the major sites of interest. The restaurant is exceptional, great food and good service. The only downside is the cost of wine which is the same all over istanbul very expensive, maybe it's the tax but the cheapest bottle of wine of poor quality is 40 turkish lira,.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulCourt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Last December my other half decided to surprise me with a Christmas present for a 3 night stay in Istanbul. We have both been to Turkey before but not for about 10 years. The last time we were in Turkey with the currency we were millionaires! Of course, the currency has changed. Well, after a 4 hour flight and a transfer by a Turkish driver that thought he was Sebastien Vettel, we arrived at the Erboy Hotel.

First impressions, clean, small reception, friendly and welcoming. We checked in and were asked to sit down whilst our key was prepared. Thought that strange then 2 hot Turkish Apple Teas are presented to us! What a lovely personal thought. We were then called by this lovely young lady with perfect white teeth and perfect English language who explained all about the hotel and the surrounding areas. She asked us if there were any particular places we wanted to visit and took time to explain where on the map they could be found. We were very impressed with the welcome afforded to us on arrival.

We were on the 5th floor in room 1505, a rather small room, compact but clean, tidy, TV, hairdryer, safe, tea/coffee making facilities. The phone call to see if we were happy with the room was unexpected but welcome and enhanced my thoughts on this hotel.

The breakfast was good with a wide range of help yourself buffet breakfast items. We only had dinner in the restaurant once but now wish we had eaten there every night as the food was delicious and portions good too. The restaurant service was also very good. As an ex Restaurant Manager for a large Health Spa and Events Manager of a Best Western Hotel in Surrey England, I know what goes on behind the scenes. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful from the 2 young ladies who looked after breakfast to the ladies who cleaned our room, the waiing staff in the restaurant and to the reception staff we met, all were a credit to the hotel.

The location was excellent, a short walk away from the tramline stop to access all parts of Istanbul. Once we found the tramline we were on our way with so many places to visit.

On departure, the impeccable service was there again, stored our suitcases quickly and passed on a message that our transfer to Ataturk airport has been delayed by 20 minutes. Finally, we were served 2 more glasses of the excellent Turkish tea. We both loved our stay at the Erboy, a wonderful hotel and highly recommend this hotel to stay in to explore Istanbul.

The young lady who has her own desk on reception could not do any more to make our stay welcome, we did not get her name but she is a credit to the hotel and her country. When we return to Istanbul, we will stay at the Erboy!

David Onslow & Jennifer Shell.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Fantastic hotel i think the wast majority of reviews speak for them self great staff with good english, ecellent location, clean hotel, excellent breakfast, love the lobby the room, the layout. Excellent. more than 3 stars i think that's their secret.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bozirob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just spent four nights here on first visit to Istanbul and staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Rooms are compact but contain everything you could want including free wifi, a safe, a hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Also ate in restaurant one day when it was raining hard and food was very good. Only problem we encountered was noise from other guests returning late from nights out which can happen anywhere. Aya Sofia and Blue mosque within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Actually I am sitting at Ataturk airport writing this review about Erboy Hotel. I booked it as part of a holiday package and chose the hotel for its location and very good reviews. I have not mistaken. It is perfectly located in the old town, very close to all major attractions and also close to a tram stop which takes you to the airport in exactly 60 minutes(1 change) or you can travel to Karakoy and Kabatas. The hotel itself is clean, I could not find a fault, maybe the smell of fresh paint was a bit overwhelming as they are doing some refurbishment on the corridors. The staff was very helpful, knowledgeable and you could go and ask anything at any time. The breakfast choice is fair, with several types of local cheese, sausage, olives and bread.
They have Pasazade restaurant in the basement, please read my separate review on that.

Altogether a very pleasant stay in Erboy hotel and would recommend if you are travelling on a budget or you need a centrally located hotel with excellent service.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are very quite although you don't get a view just the neighbo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankieinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

This was the only hotel I could sleep like a baby. The bed was comfortable, the people were nice and I FINALLY could take a HOT bath. They understand everything I say in english, and they know how to TALK (believe it or not, this is very hard here in Turkey, even in hotels). I went to a lot of different hotels and they were all very cold and I couldn't feel comfortable. I was very happy when I found out me and my family were coming back to this amazing hotel. It feels good to walk all day knowing that in the night i have the chance to take a nice bath and sleep and a warm bed. Also, the location is perfect. It's near a restaurant called "Hatay", that is one of the bests in Istanbul (with a fair price). Totally recommended :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafaella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was my second visit and it continues to impress me for the excellent standard of cleanliness and service, the rooms are a little smallish but comfortable. The little touches like a great guest relations manger and a great daily whats on (or not) in Istanbul newsletter at breakfast are standards well above their 3 star rating. An my highest praise goes to breakfast its self, an always well stocked buffet of great quality and the delight of superb honey served on the comb direct from the beehive. What a way to start the day !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wazza2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#59 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,773 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sapphire
Hotel Sapphire
#95 of 1,163 in Istanbul
2,201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#196 of 1,163 in Istanbul
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,163 in Istanbul
784 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
Hotel Miniature Istanbul
#25 of 1,163 in Istanbul
318 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#74 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erboy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erboy Hotel

Address: Ebusuud Street 18 Sirkeci, Eminonu Fatih, Istanbul 34210, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $45 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Erboy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Erboy Hotel is located on the Historical Peninsula and in walking distance to major historical areas, museums, shopping centers and public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Erboy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing