We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of And Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
And Hotel
Ranked #227 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great location, good value and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Best thing is the location is simply superb. It's more or less literally right next to the Hagia Sophia. If you sit at the tables at the front of the hotel, you are looking at the side of the Hagia Sophia, which is lit up at night. The hotel is right in the tourist area, which provides many restaurants, cafes etc. The Topkapi Palace is a leisurely 10min walk, Blue Mosque is obviously right opposite the Hagia Sophia, so maybe a 3min walk. The underground cistern museum is literally 30 secs walk (or maybe less!) at the corner of the street. Mosaic museum is also close, just a 10min walk through a reasonably worth visiting undercover market street behind the blue mosque. Be a bit careful at the hotel when you are offered coffee or tea, even if the waiter says they're free - We were charged for every single one when we left, even though they often said they were just a free coffee, as they were a gift to us and being friendly. I felt that was a bit underhand to say the least. (Also, as everywhere in Turkey, ladies need to be very aware of overly amorous waiters and staff!!!) Breakfast buffet was OK without setting any records, but pleasant enough. Room was clean and functional - More than adequate for somewhere to stay, especially if not spending any time in the room! I'd stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travologer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Guest Relations Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We can not find how to thank you for writing such a review with the bad experience you had with our staff. We have a tea break time which we serve coffee and tea from the house and it is our habbit to serve you a welcome drink on your arrival. If our staff charged you for these drinks we are willing more than anything to charge all back straight away. If you please can contact with us we will surely return your money back for the charges that should not be in your bill.

Thanking you again and again.

Best regards,
AND HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    175
    38
    13
    13
See reviews for
94
182
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed at the And Hotel for eight nights and were very pleased with being situated in such an excellent location. Although a little frayed around the edges, our room was clean, bright and tastefully furnished. The staff were very helpful and friendly to us. The breakfast offered a good variety of choice with both hot and cold food and drinks offered. If I were to return to Istanbul again I would definitely book into the And Hotel.

Room Tip: We found the double room a bit small for the two of us so we upgraded to a triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Guest Relations Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your review. We are very proud to read such good words from you.

Best regards,
AND HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just next to Hagia Sophia. Initially agreed on 80 TL per night then changed it to 80 euros the next day. Room was very small with awful furniture arrangements, very not ergonomic. Bed is covered with fine dust and particles. I got up with a sore throat the next day. They hardly smile and cares about the customers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arshall79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review but we are shocked with what you have written. You can search any online agency or contact with us without giving a name to check our rates. You can not stay in a hotel in Sultanahmet nor in Taksim for 80 TL.
For your room comments our rooms are cleaning everyday and we are changing sheets everyday as well. But thank you for your warning we will check our cleaning service more carefully.
About your room size comment i think like everyone you should have seen the room before you stayed and paid. And i understand that you did not have reservation before you arrive to hotel. If you were not happy with the room size nor with the furniture you could have ask to change room or just not stay anywhere you are not happy with. As you did not have any reservation nothing was binging you.
At all we are very sorry and accepting all of your comments except the room rate.Please check the rates of our hotel and if you find something even similar to the rate you have given please send us a link of the page and you will welcome to our hotel for a week without charge. If not please make corrections to your comment.

Thank you
Necip Erbas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Location is great. Few minutes to hagia Sofia, blue mosque, hippodrome square, grand bazaar. Will definitely stay there next visit.
I could see hagia Sofia from my balcony!
Check out the restaurant at the terrace for a breathtaking overview of Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks hagia Sofia
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesrine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for spending your precious time to write such a good view.
We are waiting for your return visits to And Hotel.

Best regards,
Necip Erbas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
354 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

AND hotel is a average hotel just has a perfect location
Room&building:old ,dingy
Staff:Not proffesional
Breakfast: very simple,far from expectations
The location is ideal for visiting blue mosque,hagia sophia

Room Tip: corner rooms have view of both bosphor and blue mosque,hagia sophia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adybeig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Owner at And Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to write a review.

Best regards,
Necip Erbas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location is superb (you can see from your window how long is the line at Hage Sofia) but that's it.

We specifically booked a one-bed room; we got two beds joined by a mattress... That, for them, supposedly was one bed.

But the worst is the bathroom facilities. After long cold days of walking around the city, we of course wanted to take a hot shower... and all we could get were 40 seconds of hot water, 50 of mild, 10 of cold as hell, and so forth. When we mentioned this at the front desk, they did not seemed surprised and gave us the magic solution: "call when you're about to take a shower and we will switch the hot water on..." And that's what we did.

Calling EVERY TIME we got 40 seconds of hot boiling water, 30 of hot water and 30 of normal temperature water. But wait, there's more: if the people staying at room next door opened a faucet... forget it. The water will be ice cold for as long as they have the water running.

(BTW: we were quite aware of the actions of our neighbors because the bathroom has no sound isolation whatsoever)

And to top it all, as we were leaving, we looked under the bed to check if we were leaving something and found a pacifier and lots of papers and things... Yes! We got to be archeologists! Would that be there from the times of Constantine I??

Room Tip: Don't boook room 404
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lorna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Owner at And Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It is the first review we got negative reponse for water in the rooms. What can we say. Just apoligies. If any other rooms had this problem and told it to reception we definately would take a look more closely but as i wrote it is the first time we got such a feedback.

Sorry again.

Best regards,
Necip Erbas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location and great value with knowledgable and helpful staff. The rooms and atmosphere were excellent and walking distance to all the major attractions, restaurants etc. The breakfast was excellent as well.. a gem of a discovery. I look foward to going back soon

Room Tip: The rooms at the front provide excellent views of Agia Sophia. Partcularly the higher ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Guest Relations Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your time to write such a review. That will surely motivate us doing our job better. We are looking forward to your further visits.

Best regards,
AND HOTEL TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#588 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#262 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kervan Hotel
Kervan Hotel
#521 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#344 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#167 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#109 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to And Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about And Hotel

Property: And Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:18 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#135 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — And Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join a breathtaking tour in the magnificent past of this glorious city and recover from your dizziness in the friendly ambiance of And Boutique Hotel. "The And Hotel" offers you an exquisite stay in an elegant and stylish environment. Located in the most ancient part of Istanbul, the former capital of the Byzantine and Ottoman Empire. The Hotel has 45 rooms and 2 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your And Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
And Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing