We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the centre of the action”
Review of And Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
And Hotel
Ranked #268 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right in the centre of the action”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice and enjoyed two different experiences.

Our first visit started off a bit stressful - we had to ask the tourist police for directions as the hotel sign was obscured - it was however fixed upon our second return. There was an empty lot in front of the hotel which suggests some new development to be started sometime in the future.

This hotel's right in the centre of Sultanahmet within walking distance (between 5-20min) to Aya Sofya, Basilica Cisterns (great to escape the hot weather!), Archaeological museum, blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. There is also a tram stop about 5min walk that takes you to Galata bridge.

Our room was small and the window opened only partially but there was air conditioning and we were on the quiet side of the hotel. A reasonably tasty breakfast is included and is quite good. The staff were friendly and attentive. There is also access to free wireless if you ask at the service desk. You can also arrange a shuttle to the airport which takes about 40min from the hotel.

Our second stay, a few weeks later was only for one night and we were given a nice room on the 5th floor room, slightly bigger size, but with a balcony and the most amazing view of the Aya Sofya and Blue mosque at night.

Overall, the hotel is right in the center of the tourist area, with many sights, sounds and distractions. There are plenty of options to eat and drink or you can easily catch a tram and head down to Sirkeci or across the bridge to Beyoglu for more action.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Guest Relations Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We are happy to hear that you liked our hotel and stayed two times. We look forward to see you in the future, whenever you're in Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    175
    39
    14
    14
See reviews for
95
183
43
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Not the USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

The family and I stayed in this hotel earlier this month. Great rooms, if you can try to get a room on the fifth floor with a balcony - excellent views of the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque. But but but, it's all politics with this hotel. Initially we stayed in June for 2 nights and clearly our tour operator pulled in a few favours and we had great accommodation which was instrumental in us booking our final 3 nights in Turkey at this hotel. However for this last stay, my 3 children were squashed into a room that in reality was barely a double room. The room I had with my husband had clearly been the venue for some or other cigar/chain-smoking party with the obligatory cherry pips still lying on the carpeted floor. According to the receptionist there were no rooms available for us to move. However the next morning miraculously a room (albeit a single room into which we squashed ourselves) appeared after I had expressed my outrage sufficienty (holidaying in Turkey is NOT relaxing as the entire trip is constantly up for negotiation despite having paid a tour operator copious amounts of money for a fully inclusive tour in the hope that one would be left in peace). Anyhow, with the move to the other room I left some of my cosmetics in the previous room - oh dear, "we simply can't find your items - perhaps the next guest took them" was how I was dismissed. I wouldn't use the laundry service either as several items of clothing went missing never to be seen again and the shirt of another poor soul was found in my laundry too. Upon making an enquiry at the front desk - "oh well, nothing to be done, your clothing is probably been worn by some or other Turkish person as we speak" was the joking comment I received. This kind of nonchalance I find a little out of line.
And then to my disgust despite settling our bill for extras upon our departure and having paid the tour operator in full for the accommodation - the And Hotel had the nerve to bill my credit card for a goodly sum too - completely unfounded.
Despite all this, the hotel is clean and very well located. Just all the other stuff that leaves a bad taste in my mouth. When I visit Turkey again, will make a point of NOT staying in this hotel purely because of the the sneakiness and slyness that surrounds all their transactions (not only here but I think it's inherent in Turkey - which is a pity as one hesitates to visit again).

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the fifth floor with a balcony (not room 504 as this is a single room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinkcrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nergiz, General Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Dear Tripadvisor readers,

Guest stayed in our hotel 2 times. There was no claims for their first staying dates but for thier second stay they got lots of. We could not found it is really because of us or their travel agency but we have to answer all. Their claim about laundry came to us on their second stay which was on 13.07.2011 but they use the laundry service on their first stay on 05.07.2011. According to time difference and lack of information we could not track the laundry(which was a pair of underwears as they told)they get back from us. If they would have gave us the information about missing things in laundry we would definately ask it from the laundry we use. I have to point that is an outside service we use. It is really hard to track after 7 days to track pair of underwear. That was not a big issue cause they did not even told us twice or insist us to find them.

Second we have no information that they were non smokers.

Third when they ask to change their room because of this matter we instantly done and we send our staff with her and wanted to show him cherry pips but she only smiled because there was nothing alse. Also it is normal to have free room next day because of check outs.

Fourth our hotel have great views of different amenments starting from its entrance. Fifth and most important one is we never cheat any one for money. Extra they paid was 173.50 TL which makes 75 EUR or 105 USD for a dinner of 5. Nothing else. If they prove anything about it even a cent i by myself will refund the money they paid for their accomodation and and offer a free stay as long as they want.

The most important thing is that you don't have right to say theese rumours are same for all Turkish people. Please be kind and think about your reports. It is ok perhaps you don't like Turkish people but this doesn't give you right of judge these people by this way.

Best regards,

Necip ERBAS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2011

A small hotel with fantastic views of Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque. It is across the street from the Cistern and around the corner from the Tram and many restaurants. Most of the major tourist sights are within easy walking distance and a park is being built directly in front of the hotel. The staff is wonderful and very helpful. The buffet breakfast is more than adequate in a city filled with great food. Recently, remodeled, the rooms are clean and modern. All the rooms at the front of the hotel face the Aya Sophia and some have balconies. The night-time view of the Aya Sophia is breath-taking. The location of the AND Hotel and the friendly, efficient staff are reason to return.

Room Tip: front of hotel offers the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkeybooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Guest Relations Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We are so glad to hear your comments. Thank you for your kindness and we look forward to see you again in our hotel. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Already second time coming to this place and very much enjoying the stay at this hotel. Central location, lots of restaurants around, souvenir shops, also the Hagia Sofia and Blue Mosque are just 2 min walk from the hotel. rooms very nice, although some of them might be very tiny but it doesnt spoil the impression. On top of the hotel got restaurant where it is very nice to have evening drink with fantastic view on blue mosque.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoliaN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndHotelIstanbul, Front Office Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us as your home away from home in Istanbul.
We loved the way you've described the Hotel. There can be no greater motivator than our guests' comments.

We look forward to welcoming you again during your next trips to this magical city.


Regards,

Front Office Manager

Mahmut DEMİREL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Our rooms on Level 5 had fantastic views of the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sophia! It was great! The location of the hotel was also a great plus! We found it was so close to all the major attractions!! Fabulous hotel! The hotel staff also made our stay wonderful as they were courteous, helpful and friendly! They have a rooftop terrace restaurant on the 6th Floor where you can have food and drinks, but it is a little bit pricey. However, you have great panoramic views of the city! We only had drinks up there and it was a nice place to relax after a day of walking around the city in the sun.

Our room was a little small but we were told it was because of the balcony we had. It wasn't much of a problem as were are not big people but if we were any taller, I think the space would have been a challenge. But we thought it was worth putting up with the smallness of the room, to be able to see the fantistic view!! Just a tip - We were in room 501 which I think is the smallest of the balcony rooms on Level 5.

We used the airport transfer (provided by the hotel) from Ataturk airport, which ended up costing us 30Euros for two people!! Whilst others in our group had used Backpackers which costs 20TL for 4 people!!! We thought that was abit steep! However, when we used airport transfer from the hotel to Ataturk airport, it costs 10TL per person, total 20TL. Just a tip to be aware!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller01London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndHotelIstanbul, Front Office Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room and the location of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Front Office Manager

Mahmut DEMİREL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My son found the And on TripAdvisor and was interested in staying there rather than a "chain" hotel. We were delighted with the experience. Pros: Great location, clean, comfortable, helpful staff, rooftop views and restaurant. WiFi was free and excellent. The shower was spotless, hot and had surprisingly strong water pressure. Cons: A bit small for a longer stay, though sitting on the top floor balcony every evening makes up for that. Also, another English channel or two would help, since BBC link was painfully repetitive. The vacant lot next door mars the view at lower levels, but this is being replaced by a park, which will only add to the location and views.

Room Tip: Ask for panorama view on 4th or 5th floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagochic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndHotelIstanbul, Front Office Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this post regarding your stay. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room and the location of the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Front Office Manager

Mahmut DEMİREL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2011

The AND Hotel is a six-story hotel that has been refurbished in the recent past.
It's location is its greatest attraction; on a traffic-free side street in the traffic-controlled tourist center of Istanbul.
Requesting a room with a panoramic view, such as my wife and I had, on the fifth floor, is the main reason for staying at the AND Hotel. Our room had a balcony that looked directly across at the Aya Sophia museum; built in Byzantine times as an enormous and richly decorated early Christian church, where Byzantine emperors were crowned. It then became the principal and monumental location of the Greek Orthodox church. During that era, exquisite mosaics and murals covered the walls and the dome. It became a mosque in the Islamic era of Istanbul, and is now a museum.
Nearby, and very clearly visible from our balcony, was the monumental Sultanahmet (Blue) mosque; with six minarets.
Both monuments are beautifully illuminated from dusk to dawn.
There is an attractive restaurant and terrace cafe on the sixth floor, with wonderful views.
We did not have dinner there, but the cafe service was very good.
Our room had a large balcony, but the room itself was very compact; though attractive enough. Staying there for two nights, the room felt cramped; more than two nights might be hard to take; even with the wonderful view from the balcony.
The bathroom was new, and the compact shower (no tub) worked quite well.
A buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor cafe. It is quite adequate, but not memorable.
The hotel staff were helpful and courteous.
Our room cost seemed somewhat inflated, given the small size of the room. But the view from the balcony more than compensated.

Room Tip: ideal location near major tourist attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
And H, Guest Relations Manager at And Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We are so happy to hear from you. Thank you for your nice comments. We would be glad to see you again in our hotel, with even better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet Hotel
#587 of 1,141 in Istanbul
173 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#39 of 1,141 in Istanbul
348 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kervan Hotel
Kervan Hotel
#540 of 1,141 in Istanbul
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The City Hotel
#1,019 of 1,141 in Istanbul
90 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Million Stone Hotel
The Million Stone Hotel
#356 of 1,141 in Istanbul
95 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#106 of 1,141 in Istanbul
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to And Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about And Hotel

Property: And Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:18 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34410, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#135 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#161 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#201 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — And Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and join a breathtaking tour in the magnificent past of this glorious city and recover from your dizziness in the friendly ambiance of And Boutique Hotel. "The And Hotel" offers you an exquisite stay in an elegant and stylish environment. Located in the most ancient part of Istanbul, the former capital of the Byzantine and Ottoman Empire. The Hotel has 45 rooms and 2 suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your And Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
And Hotel Istanbul
Hotel Istanbul
Istanbul And Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing