We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Istanbul Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$222
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$515
$405
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Hotel Amira Istanbul(Istanbul)
$218
$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$120
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tomtom Suites(Istanbul)
$112
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$420
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$121
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sirkeci Mansion(Istanbul)
$147
$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Angel's Home Hotel(Istanbul)(Great Value!)
$35
$34
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
22
37
58
33
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
37
58
33
27
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 177 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed two nights with our tour group. Very close to Blue Mosque, Bazaar, and good restaurants. Lobby was lovely. Although our room was dated and smelled of smoke it was clean and tidy.. The beds in our room were small twins, but we did find them comfortable. Although our room was facing the street, we were able to sleep despite the street noise. Buffet breakfast was sparse and milk for cereal was warm. WiFi did not work for us, but others in our group were able to log in.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccreedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed here two nights with a tour group. Pros: Good location close walking distance to Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque & Hoopdrome. Decent breakfast, helpful and friendly staff
Cons: Most rooms have only twin beds, most rooms have a strong smoke odor, rooms that face the main street are quite noisy. Our second room wasn't as clean as our original room.

We had a room on the 6th floor with a few of the water however it had twin beds, silly me I asked to change to a room with a double bed, MISTAKE, the room we ended up with was in the basement, below the kitchen of the restaurant, it was VERY small, and the tub/shower was cut in half and it had a strong smoke odor, we could of changed back but didn't since we were really only going to be sleeping in the room. There are quite a few decent restaurants very close by, a small market right next store with reasonable pricing and shopping galore right outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor, NOT facing the main street Prepare yourself for twin beds.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CherRuss M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We were booked to stay in this hotel by our tour company. From the outside the hotel's white marble exterior was appealing. Next to the entrance the hotel's name and the four stars it has been awarded were prominently displayed. In the lobby there was more white marble. The "four star" label ended there. In our room the air conditioning did not function. The toilet did not flush either; we had to lift the top and play with the mechanism to make it flush. It became clear to us that the "four star" classification was an exaggeration; such sloppy management did not deserve it. Avoid the hotel if you can.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Istanbul Royal Hotel has received 4* from the Turkish Ministry of Tourism. The evaluator must have been blind. I can only give this hotel only 2*. The lobby which was decorated with plastic flowers was a little better them the rooms. The check in process was fast because it had been prearranged by our tour operator. The room was small and the carpet was stained and did not look clean. The furniture was old and there was hardly any room to move around . The bed for two people was at best full size. The pillow cases were stained and one of them had holes. The mattress was hard which I liked but the pillow were very hard almost like a brick. We could not sleep at all. The towel were very worn and looked grey. They were probably not dirty. A small flat screen TV, hair dryer and safe were provided. Breakfast was good. I will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Farhad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The lobby and main floor area are deceiving. They look good and are nicely appointed. But the rooms are small and outdated. We arrived with a tour group and received 2 small hard twin beds for my spouse and i - as did most of my group. Rooms could not be changed till the following day. The elevators are incredibly small. Breakfast was adequate, nothing more. Location so-so. Staff spoke very little english, were rude.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank burlingtonbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews