We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel.”
Review of Gunes Hotel Merter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gunes Hotel Merter
Ranked #529 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Good hotel.”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I often stay in Güneş hotel every time i visit İstanbul. My last stay was on the first week of November 2013. It is located in Meter in a very quiet area and not too far from the airport (about 15 km). A few walks, u can find the MMM Migros mall, an interesting one. About 800m there is a park (Şelale Park). You can reach the touristic sites like Aya Sofya and Sultanahmet Camii in about 20 to 30 minutes (if there's no traffic).
The hotel room is nice and clean. You can use the high speed wireless internet in your room and, of course, at the lobby. The bed is good, AC works fine, the water in the bathroom takes a while to get hot. Food was excellent. it has a huge varieties to choose from and has two locations, indoor and outdoor. The people there are friendly. There is a free parking for the hotel customers.
I recommend this hotel for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
20
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We recently stayed at the Gunes Hotel near the airport in Istanbul on a 14 hour layover. What an Amazing little gem. The room was clean, the hottest water we had had for a while, and the most comfortable beds, like sleeping on a cloud. The free full hot breakfast was amazing with a huge variety of breads and cheeses, and other delights to fulfil anyone's flavour.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loreyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

It's in a good position, between 2 subways, metrobus and close to a new shopping center. Concerning the hotel, the room was not so clean, and they don't use the vacuum everyday. You smell a strange fragrance, something between old and wet. The bathroom was the only positive thing, The fitness room was not available, they told because under-painting, but they didn't propose an alternative. Breakfast and restaurant were enough. In general it doesn't worth the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed there just for one day whilst I was connecting to BKK. The hotel is clean and in a quiet neighbourhood but honestly it does not deserve a 4 star rating.
The room was clean but not wide; the toilets were not attractive!
The food is not bad but the choice is very limited.
Something positive, the staff is very warm and friendly. They do your best to make your staying comfortable but they know themselves that the hotel does not reach the rate it pretends.
I would not recommend it for holidays or long staying

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhkebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

It is no doubt located in a very good and clean locality in the uber part of Istanbul. The rooms were tidy and clean but a little too stuffy and warm. We had a pleasant stay, I found the food to be ok. There's a small bar area as well. Internet and wifi connectivity not that good. Recommended for short stays!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FaizanVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First, the good: the breakfast is fantastic, the best I experienced in 16 days in Istanbul. Also, no problem with staff speaking English.

Why only 2 stars? The main problem was that the room was too warm and stuffy. The maintenance staff did try to help, even opening the normally locked heavy window. But nothing made the room cool enough even though it was cool outside. (I'd hate to be there on a hot summer day.) A/C? You could feel it right in front of the vent but it had no effect on the comfort of the room. So I asked for something obvious, a fan. They searched but couldn't find one. Later they told me that the room temperature is not individual to each room and that others might have wanted it warmer. Doesn't really make sense, given the supposed thermostat in each room, but then the answer for a 4-star hotel would certainly be a fan. I'd say the room remained at about 75-77 degrees (while it was about 60 outside), too warm for comfortable sleep.

I asked for an adjustment in the rate after all efforts failed, but they refused, and not in a very nice way. "That's your subjective opinion," I was told. I should have photographed a room thermometer, I guess.

Another issue, as others have pointed out, is the lack of honesty in calling this an "airport hotel." It's not near the airport NOR do they provide any help with transportation to/from. (Just take a taxi, as you would to/from any central Istanbul hotel, or you can use public transportation if you don't have much luggage to carry.) It IS closer to the airport than a central Istanbul hotel, so if you are mainly spending a night and don't want to see any of Istanbul and find the "real" airport hotels too expensive, then this is one to consider.

In general I'd recommend scheduling things so that you can enjoy being in an area of Istanbul where you can explore this great city, even if just for a couple of hours if that's all you have. (It's worth at least a week, which is what I had for an earlier segment of this trip, my 5th time in Istanbul and Turkey.) Many central Istanbul hotels allow you to do that, and in ones I've had near Sultanahmet, getting to the airport isn't difficult (although obviously depending on your luck with traffic at a particular time).

To be honest, I think I'd have a more positive attitude if they'd simply recognized that an uncomfortable room is not satisfactory and made even a small, symbolic adjustment in the room rate. What I inferred from the whole series of interactions is that they knew there was a problem with room temperature and just weren't prepared to make any rate adjustments. What I don't know is whether this is a problem only in some rooms or a more general issue. I've been in hotels where some room a/c works really well and does not work well in others. I would have asked to change rooms right away but I had hopes that the open window or some other tinkering would solve the problem, but it didn't.

Room Tip: Try to be sure there is enough ventilation so the room won't be too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesnil le roi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hello,
this hotel was our first one in Turquie.We were traveling in a group of 40 people.The location is not touristic at all .it is situated in the whole sale shop area.Nevertheless,we managed to spend 2 days visiting mosques and Bosphore and market in the centre of Istambul.Apparently,we've been told to avoid taking taxi.Anyway,staying at the hotel in the evening was not fun only if you like doing fitness.At night,I didn't sleep well cause'of the noise of planes flying over my head.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISIBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
#430 of 1,140 in Istanbul
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green Park Merter
The Green Park Merter
#1,002 of 1,140 in Istanbul
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zoe Boutique Hotel
Zoe Boutique Hotel
#634 of 1,140 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Istanbul Merter
0.8 mi away
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#443 of 1,140 in Istanbul
156 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Palace Hotel
White Palace Hotel
#616 of 1,140 in Istanbul
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel Merter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel Merter

Property: Gunes Hotel Merter
Address: Nadide Cad. Gunay Sok. No: 1 | Merter, Istanbul 34173, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gunes Hotel Merter 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 minute drive from Istanbul International Airport, this hotel offers 24-hour room service and a well-equipped fitness center. There are 2 restaurants and a bar. The Gunes Hotel Merter features economic rooms as well as spacious, standard rooms with smoking or nonsmoking preferences. They include free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and a minibar. Each bathroom has a bathtub, shower and hairdryer. For those catching an early flight, breakfast is available from 6am. For lunch and dinner, guests can enjoy Turkish and international cuisine in the Neptun and Venus restaurants. After a massage or a session in the sauna and solarium, guests can enjoy a quiet hour in the Yildiz bar, which has large windows and overlooks a green lawn. Guests can work out or play ping pong in gym. The Gunes Hotel Merter is a 5-minute walk from the Merter Metro Station, which offers direct access to the airport in 15 minutes. Historic central Istanbul is 7 km and Marmara Forum Shopping Mall is 1 Km away from hotel. Free parking is provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gunes Hotel Merter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing