We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but stuffy”
Review of Gunes Hotel Merter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gunes Hotel Merter
Ranked #521 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Clean but stuffy”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

It is no doubt located in a very good and clean locality in the uber part of Istanbul. The rooms were tidy and clean but a little too stuffy and warm. We had a pleasant stay, I found the food to be ok. There's a small bar area as well. Internet and wifi connectivity not that good. Recommended for short stays!

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank FaizanVJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    58
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
20
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

First, the good: the breakfast is fantastic, the best I experienced in 16 days in Istanbul. Also, no problem with staff speaking English.

Why only 2 stars? The main problem was that the room was too warm and stuffy. The maintenance staff did try to help, even opening the normally locked heavy window. But nothing made the room cool enough even though it was cool outside. (I'd hate to be there on a hot summer day.) A/C? You could feel it right in front of the vent but it had no effect on the comfort of the room. So I asked for something obvious, a fan. They searched but couldn't find one. Later they told me that the room temperature is not individual to each room and that others might have wanted it warmer. Doesn't really make sense, given the supposed thermostat in each room, but then the answer for a 4-star hotel would certainly be a fan. I'd say the room remained at about 75-77 degrees (while it was about 60 outside), too warm for comfortable sleep.

I asked for an adjustment in the rate after all efforts failed, but they refused, and not in a very nice way. "That's your subjective opinion," I was told. I should have photographed a room thermometer, I guess.

Another issue, as others have pointed out, is the lack of honesty in calling this an "airport hotel." It's not near the airport NOR do they provide any help with transportation to/from. (Just take a taxi, as you would to/from any central Istanbul hotel, or you can use public transportation if you don't have much luggage to carry.) It IS closer to the airport than a central Istanbul hotel, so if you are mainly spending a night and don't want to see any of Istanbul and find the "real" airport hotels too expensive, then this is one to consider.

In general I'd recommend scheduling things so that you can enjoy being in an area of Istanbul where you can explore this great city, even if just for a couple of hours if that's all you have. (It's worth at least a week, which is what I had for an earlier segment of this trip, my 5th time in Istanbul and Turkey.) Many central Istanbul hotels allow you to do that, and in ones I've had near Sultanahmet, getting to the airport isn't difficult (although obviously depending on your luck with traffic at a particular time).

To be honest, I think I'd have a more positive attitude if they'd simply recognized that an uncomfortable room is not satisfactory and made even a small, symbolic adjustment in the room rate. What I inferred from the whole series of interactions is that they knew there was a problem with room temperature and just weren't prepared to make any rate adjustments. What I don't know is whether this is a problem only in some rooms or a more general issue. I've been in hotels where some room a/c works really well and does not work well in others. I would have asked to change rooms right away but I had hopes that the open window or some other tinkering would solve the problem, but it didn't.

Room Tip: Try to be sure there is enough ventilation so the room won't be too hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank biophiliac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Mesnil le roi
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Hello,
this hotel was our first one in Turquie.We were traveling in a group of 40 people.The location is not touristic at all .it is situated in the whole sale shop area.Nevertheless,we managed to spend 2 days visiting mosques and Bosphore and market in the centre of Istambul.Apparently,we've been told to avoid taking taxi.Anyway,staying at the hotel in the evening was not fun only if you like doing fitness.At night,I didn't sleep well cause'of the noise of planes flying over my head.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISIBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is very crowded, cold and far from every touristic sites in Istanbul.
The food was good for the breakfast and the breakfast restaurant is cozy.
The room is very spacious but there's not enough heat, the room is too cold day and night. the furniture are old and not maintained.
The good thing is that it was close to the subway and tram station. and a little close to the Marmara mall (a great mall though).
The surrounding is commercial and animated.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nisrinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was staying there during WTA tennis tournament -end of October. You can easily reach Sinan Erdem arena by metro , I will definitely choose this hotel for this year stay as well, and can recommend it for tennis fans. Good balance for money/location/comfort. Staff is very helpful . I was single accomodate but the size of the room was for double, big enough room, not small bath . Breakfast at good choice and quality . Only one minus I had that on upper floor you can get a problems with wifi . I was needed to work in reception. So if you need good internet connection better to ask for low floor rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel calls itself an Airport Hotel but it is about a 20 TL taxi ride from the airport. It is in the textile district and about a 15-20 minute walk to the Metro. The room was adequate but they turn on the heat after November 1 and the room was warm with only one window. It is on a quiet street and the house wine was good for the price. I had to go down to the lobby for Wi-Fi, it never worked in the room. The hotels at the airport were very expensive so if you need to stay near the airport it is a decent alternative. The breakfast buffet was fine and they let us check in right away after an early morning flight from Cappadocia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I felt lucky to have found this place at all, thanks to terrible information from the information booth at Ataturk. I was fleeing a bad scene and didn’t have time to research and it was night. 2 people got off at my stop and showed me the way.my room was great, especially when I asked for a softer bed, available only in twins. Its awfully close to the airport by metro, maybe 10 minutes of Metro. Its quiet, in residential neighborhood with no restaurants.not near where things are happening except expo and wholesale clothes trade. Breakfast is the same every day,which seems unnecessary. Staff is nice, but sometimes not up to the task. things were clean, not old. not smelly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank crumpet212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
#441 of 1,149 in Istanbul
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green Park Merter
The Green Park Merter
#1,013 of 1,149 in Istanbul
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Istanbul Merter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Zoe Boutique Hotel
Zoe Boutique Hotel
#666 of 1,149 in Istanbul
11 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Palace Hotel
White Palace Hotel
#644 of 1,149 in Istanbul
65 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#415 of 1,149 in Istanbul
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel Merter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel Merter

Property: Gunes Hotel Merter
Address: Nadide Cad. Gunay Sok. No: 1 | Merter, Istanbul 34173, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #521 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gunes Hotel Merter 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 minute drive from Istanbul International Airport, this hotel offers 24-hour room service and a well-equipped fitness center. There are 2 restaurants and a bar. The Gunes Hotel Merter features economic rooms as well as spacious, standard rooms with smoking or nonsmoking preferences. They include free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and a minibar. Each bathroom has a bathtub, shower and hairdryer. For those catching an early flight, breakfast is available from 6am. For lunch and dinner, guests can enjoy Turkish and international cuisine in the Neptun and Venus restaurants. After a massage or a session in the sauna and solarium, guests can enjoy a quiet hour in the Yildiz bar, which has large windows and overlooks a green lawn. Guests can work out or play ping pong in gym. The Gunes Hotel Merter is a 5-minute walk from the Merter Metro Station, which offers direct access to the airport in 15 minutes. Historic central Istanbul is 7 km and Marmara Forum Shopping Mall is 1 Km away from hotel. Free parking is provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gunes Hotel Merter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing