We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel near Airport”
Review of Gunes Hotel Merter

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gunes Hotel Merter
Ranked #529 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average Hotel near Airport”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Its easy to get to the Expo and the Airport from the Hotel. You have a metro and bus network quite close. Since its not on the main street its also quite in the evenings. The furniture in the rooms is a little bit old, but clean. You have free wifi in the rooms with decent speed and satilite Tv. If you are lucky to get a LCD if not a regular tube tv.
The breakfast was quite good for such a hotel, bar average. I did request a medicine due to a sudden illness. The whole process did take me one hour since there was supposly only 1 bell-boy and they didn't waned to let him go. So had to pay for cap and the security guy went.
However beside this minor matter, it was a decent Hotel to stay. If you have to go to the EXPO everyday the distance is perfect. They have also a car park (free of charge)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delta31tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    36
    9
    2
See reviews for
7
20
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I really give kudos to the staff for their warm reception on the night of March 6, 2012 when I arrived at the hotel in the company of a friend in transit to Lagos, Nigeria, the next morning. I was greeted with a single but large room with 2 beds and I had a really good night rest. In the morning, you will be humbled with the sumptuous and what I can describe as a mega breakfast - pardon me! I was also delighted to discover that the hotel is located in a busy textile/fashion centre in Istanbul when I took a long stroll around the area walking up the street to the games park on the street to the road behind visiting some shops and back to the hotel. I love to commend the staff and management for an excellent service and to thank the airline for making my trip a worthwhile one with a transit to experience the hospitality in Istanbul. Well done and all the best!

Room Tip: Hotel has single rooms with 2 beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

A friend of the family actually recommended me to stay at this hotel and was not disappointed one little bit.The room was spacious,clean,the staff was friendly,the breakfast was fantastic,and the location of this hotel was great..Good in every way.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redsea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2011

wonderful staff very clean and good size room ....i stayed twice in this hotel and soon will be back to istanbul and sure in gunes (the sun) hotel : )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kikokarim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed several night at Gunes Hotel as I was working at the Expo centre (close to the airport) and wanted to be a bit closer to the city. The hotel itself is situated in a residential neighborhood, 10min on foot to metro (Metro) and 15min to Zeytinburnu (Tram). The tram goes straight through downtown (Blue Mosque, Bazar and all the way to Kabatas).

So it is perfect for being between the airport and the city on a short layover. The buffet is excellent, probably one of the best I've had for a 4star hotel. There are numerous local clothes shops en route to Zeytinburnu, nice shirts, pants etc for less than $5USD. Downside, since the hotel is in a residential area it is hard to find food after hours.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

From the metro-station "Merter" it´s ca. 10 min. to walk to this hotel. I had a nice single-room and the breakfast was okay. From Merter you can reach the old-town within 30 min. with the tram.

I had a small problem with the service. I booked an appointment with a masseur, but this appointment was blown off-

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquafactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Three of us stayed at the Gunes Hotel in early May. We planned on staying in the Sultanahmet area of Istanbul but we had less than 16 hours so we decided to stay fairly close to the airport.

Our room was very clean, the staff were friendly and professional and the breakfast was the best we've ever had in an Istanbul hotel. Although the hotel is not in a touristy area, the streets were still lively with lots of restaurants and shops to choose from. The metro stop is also very close and we were tempted to take a ride into the city.

We would definitely go back to this hotel next time we're in Istanbul.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.3 mi away
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
#430 of 1,140 in Istanbul
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Green Park Merter
The Green Park Merter
#1,002 of 1,140 in Istanbul
159 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zoe Boutique Hotel
Zoe Boutique Hotel
#634 of 1,140 in Istanbul
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Istanbul Merter
0.8 mi away
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#443 of 1,140 in Istanbul
156 reviews
2.6 mi away
White Palace Hotel
White Palace Hotel
#616 of 1,140 in Istanbul
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gunes Hotel Merter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gunes Hotel Merter

Property: Gunes Hotel Merter
Address: Nadide Cad. Gunay Sok. No: 1 | Merter, Istanbul 34173, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #529 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gunes Hotel Merter 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 minute drive from Istanbul International Airport, this hotel offers 24-hour room service and a well-equipped fitness center. There are 2 restaurants and a bar. The Gunes Hotel Merter features economic rooms as well as spacious, standard rooms with smoking or nonsmoking preferences. They include free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and a minibar. Each bathroom has a bathtub, shower and hairdryer. For those catching an early flight, breakfast is available from 6am. For lunch and dinner, guests can enjoy Turkish and international cuisine in the Neptun and Venus restaurants. After a massage or a session in the sauna and solarium, guests can enjoy a quiet hour in the Yildiz bar, which has large windows and overlooks a green lawn. Guests can work out or play ping pong in gym. The Gunes Hotel Merter is a 5-minute walk from the Merter Metro Station, which offers direct access to the airport in 15 minutes. Historic central Istanbul is 7 km and Marmara Forum Shopping Mall is 1 Km away from hotel. Free parking is provided ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Gunes Hotel Merter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing