We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #610 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
jeddah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

Bad service and staff
Air conditioner does not work and make sounds. Trust box is broken
Internet is fast does not work properly
The one star and not 4 Stars
بحث!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alwfyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    130
    111
    59
    19
See reviews for
65
104
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tehran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

the hotel is clean and have good location. the bus station for aksaray or taxim sq are near and near metro station allow you go to everywhere you want. istiklal avenue is 5min far from hotel and is very good for shopping and nightlife.
breakfast was good. room was small and wide but quiet and clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wander0lust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

PROS:
The hotel is in great place beside a shopping area and has great view infront of it ... easy access to transport a bus station just infront it and taxi doesnt cost much to move around ....till the airport it cost around 15$ only.
has good breakfast but they never change the menu..
small swimming pool which does not open before noon ..no GYM so if you used to practice in the morning this is not the best place to be.

CONS:
the staf were very unfriendly and rude ..we were supposed to get a 3 bed room they tried to give us a narrow room just for 2 persons and add a 3rd bed so there was no space even to move and it took 1 hour to convince them then they gave us a better room..... the rooms were good but the room service was not ..they will not change the towles just fold it and put it back.
better not to ask the hotel for any information bz they will respond rudely so we always called our agent if we wanted to ask about the city....they really make your vacation diuffcult and dont try to fix anything wrong iwth the room or service..
the wirless internet is there in each floor but it is very slow to open email it will take few hours if you are lucky and do it late at night

I think the hotel has good potentials and can be a great one if it had better managment specially regarding the staf...I dont know why they dont read the prev comments and try to fix things

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vangogh099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel Halic for two nights as part of a package tour, once on the day we arrived and the other on the day that we were due to depart from Istanbul. We stayed in the old wing (identifiable if your key is a regular key instead of a key card) and the room was nothing short of dismal. The AC was hardly cold, the 12" TV did not have an antenna plugged in and the bathroom was dark and dirty.

We were dreading our 2nd stay but were pleasantly surprised to see that the hotel exceeded our low expectations. We had a room in the new wing, the AC worked, the floor was relatively clean and we were delighted to see that they had renovated the bathrooms.

All in, the location wasn't too bad but I would take that 4 star rating with a huge pinch of salt.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treeandkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

my mum and I stayed here for three night in october 2007. The hotel is in a good central locationa dn with easy reach of all the major sights and attractions buses and taxis are easily accesable. Please be aware that not the many people in istanbul a fluent in english we do not expect it and try a few words in the local language but we did find comunicating a little difficult here. The rooms are a little on the small side but clean warm and comfortable. The breakfast was poor. not a great selection at all. The hotel was not fawlty towers but it no way a 4* hotel. I would recommend as a base but do not go with over the odds expections, as i say the main points were clean tidy and warm!!!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minty23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for a day on level 3. The room 31?(forgot the last digit) was right at the very end of the corridor and facing the side alley on the left of the hotel which could be why I find the room to be quiet unlike some of the reviews I read here. The room is long and narrow but I find it quite spacious (see photos) compared to the hotel twin rms in japan.

The room is clean but old. The aircon comes with warm air setting which is a delight as I am used to warmer climates. There were some discolouration on the toilet bowl which is due to age not the lack of cleaning.

I liked the selection of breakfast items available here (see parts of the food offered in photos). Didn't explore much of the hotel or its facilities as I was far too busy exploring the sights of Istanbul =)

I liked its location to various sightseeing locations like the Dolmabahçe Palace though the roads leading to these sights were jam packed. There was apparently a football match that evening in a nearby stadium and early in the morning you could already see street vendors selling football memorabilia, fans (dressed in the turkish team colours of black and white) thronging the streets and police doing crowd control near the stadium in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zutzut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2008

Stayed here only because we had to (booked by a travel agent as part of a tour group itinerary so we didn't really have a choice)..

The Grand Halic is apparently a 4 star hotel but there is nothing about it that suggests it is anywhere near worthy of such a rating. The rooms were small, dim and dirty (tabletops were covered with a film of dust), had no view, and the beds were saggy. My blanket looked like it had never been cleaned and had a huge stain on it. There are also no powerpoints in the room. Additionally, the walls are really thin and we kept being disturbed by the noises of guests returning to their rooms late at night/talking in the corridor.

The only thing worse than the room was the toilet, which was poorly maintained and not particularly clean. In the middle of my sister's shower, the water became this rusty brown! we ended up having to use the shower in my parents room.

The Grand Halic is far from 'grand', don't stay here if you have a choice.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank discerning_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#393 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
#916 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#787 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#421 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#76 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#459 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Property: Grand Hotel Halic
Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#369 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing