We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location clean, does the trick”
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #599 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location clean, does the trick”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel has a sweeping entry and certainly looks grand. Rooms ( had 3 different ones during my stays) clean, basic and all that we needed except for a kettle and tea:) Depending on rooms, walls thin and during our stay there seemed to be no understanding by some guests to lower voice after 10-11pm or caution their children to behave. For two nights neighbors talked loudly until 2am leaving us less than sparkling for our Istanbul day. This is a situation for the hotel to remedy .... Simple signs that remind guests ' no noise ' after 10 pm ' lower voices in halls and rooms after 10 pm' might be helpful. Children were left to run in breakfast room and at least twice I was ' run into' while carrying a tray of food. Perhaps the serving staff need to reinforce safe behavior if the parents don't :). The hotel staff were lovely, exceptionally helpful - they do their best if you present patience, understanding, humor and a smile. A real gem is both the pool after a long day walking and the simply stated restaurant on Floor 8 offers a simply magical panoramic view of Istanbul over the Golden Horn. It is perfectly situated to get to ferries, restaurants ( Takzim Square), metro ( buy card from concierge), Spice Bazaar, GalataTower area and shopping.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcglangford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    134
    113
    59
    23
See reviews for
72
108
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is the designated hotel for cosmos tours. We arrived in Istanbul a couple of days before the tour commenced. We had checked out the previous TA reviews on the Grand Hotel Halic and luckily decided not to stay there until the day the tour commenced!!! Reception was staffed by one person who had no people skills at all. Our allocated room had twin beds, was small- photos deceiving, decor pleasant. We had main road facing room...thank goodness for the double glazed windows. Air conditioning was appalling, we complained 3 times to reception, even at 3.45am with nothing being done. We had to open the windows and try and get some sleep with earplugs in situ as the city was still alive at this hour..Other people on this tour had similar problems. One poor women slept on the floor right underneath the Aircon. Breakast was average, reasonable variety. Avoid the tubs of jam...contents had dried up. Aircon not the best in dining area either.
On a plus, it was close to transport, Galata tower, and old town. Lovely views of old town especially at night !!!

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel. If you get room 402, request immediate change or stay elsew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadmus60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we spend a week in this hotel from 26 of July to 1th of Aug. when you are in Istanbul you can't use hotel so much you spend most of your time in city so i think choosing hotel like this is not bad. the location of hotel is very good you can use bus and metro and minibus every thing near this hotel, and you can walk to Istikhlal street and also to Galata tower and Galata bridge and reach every where by foot. the hotel is clean you can use the pool ( it's clean) in the room there is safe-box, the staff are not so friendly, just one woman can speak English and she could help you for the address, i don't like the breakfast it's repetitive, they clean the room every day, the best thing about this hotel is just the location.
if i go to Istanbul again i will use this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Halic for 3 nights during my trip to Turkey fom 7/28/2013-8/9/2013. I would say that the hotel is pretty basic, and good for your average tourist who just wants a clean room, reliable free wifi and a relatively comfortable bed after a long day of sight seeing. The first thing that struck me about the hotel upon arrival was the musty odor in the lobby area, it wasn't especially offensive but it was definitely noticeable. The bathrooms in the room were very clean, and the water pressure in the shower was excellent, however the showers were pretty high and would definitely be difficult for an older person to get in and out of.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was basically the same every morning. Hard boiled eggs, very watery scrambled eggs, seasoned potatoes, sausages (more like hot dogs) in a tomato sauce, soup, cucumbers, tomatoes, turkish cheeses etc. Nothing really satisfied my American palate. The best breakfast item was a round croissant type pastry in the shape of a ring. It was a pity that that was only available once out of the three breakfasts I ate.

Location wise, the hotel was pretty good. For people who are interested in taking the hop-on-hop off tours, the bus stops right in front of the hotel and brings you all around Istanbul. Otherwise İstiklal Avenue is just about a 6 minute walk away where you can find many restaurants and shops. You can also walk to Taksim square which is about a 20-30 minute walk from Istiklal ave.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, clean room, reliable wifi, comfortable bed, but it certainly was not luxurious or "Grand" as the name might imply.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VegasVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there last summer and a tour I had picked booked it for me. The staff were not so friendly and the room was really small with bad view. The most annoying thing was that they had this funny policy that u r just allowed to eat and drink from mini bar, u can't buy water and take it to ur room! But it was 20 mins walk to taksim square and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Nothing really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Although the hotel is on a busy road, the location is good and within walking distance of the Galata Tower, Istikal Street, Çiçek Pasajı, Tünel (one of the oldest underground subway stations) and Taksim Square. There is a small swimming pool in the basement which was okay. The restaurant gets very busy at breakfast time and staff have little time to be helpful. We got large rooms facing an internal courtyard be cause we needed a rooms with 3 beds. Rooms were clean. The hotel entrance was quite grand although the rest of the decor could have done with an update.

Room Tip: A good location within walking distance of a vibrant and historic part of Istanbul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My room was so dingy and uncomfortable,I wanted a double room but it was like a single room,it was so cramped,I had to move the bed to go near the window.
First day when I turned the light on,the lamp of the bubble suddenly broke and I complained alot but they didn't pay attention to me and I wanted to change my room but I didn't see any respect to my demand.
The break fast was average.
Location of the hotel was good but I never go to this hotel again,it was like 2 stars hotel:S

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gainermz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#419 of 1,155 in Istanbul
633 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#495 of 1,155 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#239 of 1,155 in Istanbul
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#890 of 1,155 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#662 of 1,155 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#958 of 1,155 in Istanbul
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Property: Grand Hotel Halic
Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#366 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing