We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was good just for sleeping”
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #668 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed August 12, 2013

we spend a week in this hotel from 26 of July to 1th of Aug. when you are in Istanbul you can't use hotel so much you spend most of your time in city so i think choosing hotel like this is not bad. the location of hotel is very good you can use bus and metro and minibus every thing near this hotel, and you can walk to Istikhlal street and also to Galata tower and Galata bridge and reach every where by foot. the hotel is clean you can use the pool ( it's clean) in the room there is safe-box, the staff are not so friendly, just one woman can speak English and she could help you for the address, i don't like the breakfast it's repetitive, they clean the room every day, the best thing about this hotel is just the location.
if i go to Istanbul again i will use this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raha p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Halic for 3 nights during my trip to Turkey fom 7/28/2013-8/9/2013. I would say that the hotel is pretty basic, and good for your average tourist who just wants a clean room, reliable free wifi and a relatively comfortable bed after a long day of sight seeing. The first thing that struck me about the hotel upon arrival was the musty odor in the lobby area, it wasn't especially offensive but it was definitely noticeable. The bathrooms in the room were very clean, and the water pressure in the shower was excellent, however the showers were pretty high and would definitely be difficult for an older person to get in and out of.

The breakfast buffet at the hotel was basically the same every morning. Hard boiled eggs, very watery scrambled eggs, seasoned potatoes, sausages (more like hot dogs) in a tomato sauce, soup, cucumbers, tomatoes, turkish cheeses etc. Nothing really satisfied my American palate. The best breakfast item was a round croissant type pastry in the shape of a ring. It was a pity that that was only available once out of the three breakfasts I ate.

Location wise, the hotel was pretty good. For people who are interested in taking the hop-on-hop off tours, the bus stops right in front of the hotel and brings you all around Istanbul. Otherwise İstiklal Avenue is just about a 6 minute walk away where you can find many restaurants and shops. You can also walk to Taksim square which is about a 20-30 minute walk from Istiklal ave.

Overall it was a pleasant stay, clean room, reliable wifi, comfortable bed, but it certainly was not luxurious or "Grand" as the name might imply.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VegasVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed there last summer and a tour I had picked booked it for me. The staff were not so friendly and the room was really small with bad view. The most annoying thing was that they had this funny policy that u r just allowed to eat and drink from mini bar, u can't buy water and take it to ur room! But it was 20 mins walk to taksim square and the breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Nothing really!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Although the hotel is on a busy road, the location is good and within walking distance of the Galata Tower, Istikal Street, Çiçek Pasajı, Tünel (one of the oldest underground subway stations) and Taksim Square. There is a small swimming pool in the basement which was okay. The restaurant gets very busy at breakfast time and staff have little time to be helpful. We got large rooms facing an internal courtyard be cause we needed a rooms with 3 beds. Rooms were clean. The hotel entrance was quite grand although the rest of the decor could have done with an update.

Room Tip: A good location within walking distance of a vibrant and historic part of Istanbul.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My room was so dingy and uncomfortable,I wanted a double room but it was like a single room,it was so cramped,I had to move the bed to go near the window.
First day when I turned the light on,the lamp of the bubble suddenly broke and I complained alot but they didn't pay attention to me and I wanted to change my room but I didn't see any respect to my demand.
The break fast was average.
Location of the hotel was good but I never go to this hotel again,it was like 2 stars hotel:S

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gainermz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you look at the website of this hotel, the interiors look great. However, in person, the hotel is a little bit ordinary. One issue I have about this hotel are its hallways. The hotel uses motion detection to switch on and off the lights at the hallways. So, you may step out of the elevator or climb the stairs and be greeted with darkness; the atmosphere can be a little bit depressing and you may have a feeling of a little unease walking those halls.

However, we loved the swimming pool at the basement. The water is absolutely amazing and the place is spartanly clean. They offer Turkish bath at the adjacent room, albeit, very small.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk to Istikal Avenue. And about 20-25 minutes walk to cross the Galata Bridge to go to Sultanahmet area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gingermint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We spent 1 week at the "Grand" Hotel Halic from July 12 till July 19th, 2013. Th room was clean and the bed was changed every day.
It is all very 'dated', it needs adjustment to modern time.
At the lobby was only 1 (one!) lady who spoke English. The other staff just looked and stared at us when we asked something.
Breakfast was an every day repeating happening. No variation, but the same food every morning: bread, cheese, sausages, eggs boiled as hard as a stone (and green), jam, sweet bread, yoghurt, peaches, pineapple, dried apricots (with fruitflies for free), cereal, 2 kind of soups etc.etc.

The location of the hotel is o.k., close to the Sishane metro station, at walking distance from Istlal C., Karakoy and the Galatatower.
So if you really want to make more profit, Managementteam: start planning a reorgnisation & upgrade!!!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hedwigwormer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sisli
Icon Hotel Istanbul
Icon Hotel Istanbul
#941 of 1,173 in Istanbul
51 reviews
Beyoglu
The Biancho Pera Hotel
The Biancho Pera Hotel
#773 of 1,173 in Istanbul
27 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#250 of 1,173 in Istanbul
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
All Seasons Hotel
#754 of 1,173 in Istanbul
80 reviews
Beyoglu
Cartoon Hotel
Cartoon Hotel
#1,007 of 1,173 in Istanbul
328 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Park Hotel
Golden Park Hotel
#919 of 1,173 in Istanbul
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#392 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $51 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing