We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location , good price !!!”
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #599 of 1,155 Hotels in Istanbul
Tehran
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good location , good price !!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I have been there 3 times! Best Location, near Istiklal Street, near SiShane underground metro station , bus stop is opposite the hotel. We like the fresh and good breakfast .The rooms are very clean and comfortable but small. The internet connection is good. The Staff at reception were really helpful specially Erdal !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarysaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    134
    113
    59
    23
See reviews for
72
108
21
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I share the.views of other travellers. Apathetic describes them well. We had the same experience, air contioning on heating mode and they don't switch it till May so you have to lump it. They provide kettles and cups in the rooms but if you want to brew yourself a cup of tea you need to buy the tea bags at six lira a bag. Don't go there. I am sure you can find others in the same budget which offer better service.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the waterfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgulvady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Hotel: looks nice from the lobby.
Guestroom: small, dated and smell bad in the room (telephone is not working in the room)
Reception: general the people in the hotel are not very helpful (such as luggages) my feeling is "oh is another group"
Restaurant: buffet breakfast no service staff at all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalvinLeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Clean rooms (everything worn and tired, hardly worthy of a 4 star status) and reception areas, but the front of house staff couldn't be more apathetic if they tried... Which they won't. Because they are apathetic. Hotel runs off of centralized air con so if you are boiling hot and the air con is set to winter mode, well that's just tough - as a result, open your windows so as not to swelter and accept that you will communicate in sign language for the remainder of your stay (very loud main road with non stop traffic. Frankly, you would be far better off staying somewhere else. Anywhere else.

Room Tip: Not staying here should greatly enhance your experience of Istanbul
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QOD_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

First, the staff, specially reception: they are unhelpfull at all times and try to get rid of you in any way and are rude sometimes.wow. The resturant staff are as unhelpful as the reception staff with no English knowledge. Only the bill boys are helpfull and do speak English.
Our room was not clean, worn out furniture but overlooking the Golden Horn. The AC is there for comfort that it is there with buzzing sound and no air, cold or hot. The ceiling around AC is never cleaned. The drainage in shower is awful, it stays for 30 min in bath before drained. Breakfast is same everyday and is terrible, my advice if you were forced to this hotel eat only bread and chesse, singular, as there is only one type of chesse. Room service is so expensive so just go to neaby resturants with greater choice and quality for less. Location is the only plus point to this hotel. very clost to ShiShane Metro and to Istklal street.
my advice Stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: overlooking the Golden Horn and lower floors as there is a night club at 8th floor and is so noisy p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

The Grand Hotel Halic is an old but sweet property in Istanbul, the public area's are clean and nicely appointed. Our room had everything needed and was clean and well kept by staff during our stay. On the downside, we had a room with a view of the courtyard, which was dismal. Make sure you ask for a room with a view because its is an amazing view from the front of the hotel. Our room included wifi and a safe in our package as we were there with a tour group. Having said that, the only reason I gave the hotel 3 out of 5 was our meals provided (breakfast and dinner) were substandard at best.

We wouldn't hesitate staying again, but would eat elsewhere as there are many great restaurants close by.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank djgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I thought it was worth the view out my window. (Even if the traffic below was loud at rush hour.) The breakfast was nice. Our room was very nice. We actually walked from the spice market, across the bridge, talked to some fishermen (actually tried to talk to them) and up the hill to the hotel. It was a nice walk. So the location is good. I thought Taksim square is too far. Others in our party said they found good food in the area behind the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#419 of 1,155 in Istanbul
633 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#495 of 1,155 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#239 of 1,155 in Istanbul
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#890 of 1,155 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Beyoglu
Rose by Molton Hotels
Rose by Molton Hotels
#662 of 1,155 in Istanbul
340 reviews
Beyoglu
Golden Age Hotel
Golden Age Hotel
#958 of 1,155 in Istanbul
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Property: Grand Hotel Halic
Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#366 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing