We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #588 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed October 9, 2012

stayed in the Grand Halic with a cosmos tour, good basic hotel, food good,very good area to be in. hotel staff very pleasant if you are lucky you can get a room overlooking the water. bus stop outside small cafe:s outside..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank william06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (356)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Halic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 356 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have been 8 days in this hotel and I had to go out (to coffee shops) for Internet!!!! the staff, especially the lady in the reception were unbelievably impolite and denied the problem. so I had to ask the ppl in the hotel if they have the same problem and only when every body admitted, they said OK, may be this is not because of your device!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank se T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Although a bit dated this is a lovely hotel. Rooms are small. We stayed on two seperate occasions - room at the front have a lovely view over the river onto the Old Town. Its within walking distance to all major atteactions. Staff helpful. Breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: ASk for a room at the front
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mariabud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The location of this hotel is convinient, just a few minutes walk from the famous istiklal strt. There is a bus station outside, and a beautiful view of the golden horn. Rooms are ok, neither big or small. The bathroom is spacious. Unlike the reviews i've read here, i found breakfast pretty good, offering a big variety of tastes.
The hotel itself is old and the furniture are definitely not modern, but still, this place is sufficient enough to reside for a few days. Overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank little_missile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we have been 3 days in this hotel...this hotel is small also their rooms are small but they do their best to give all the facilities they have to their guests...the reception knows english and the best good point about this hotel is being near taksim and istiklal area also you can get to aksaray very easily because hotel is located between aksaray and taksim area...although it is not new and very furnished,I enjoy resting in this hotel.istanbul is a place that you need hotels only for sleeping at nights and this is the best choice we had.one bad point about this hotel is their breakfast isnt various and always the same but we could tolerate it..

Room Tip: The rooms are the same without any balcony so in my mind there is no diffrence
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mhs91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here twice apart of a Cosmos Tour Group. The first time, I had a small but adequate room without a view of the nearby water. The second time, I had another smallish room but this time had an awesome view of the nearby water.

Buffet breakfast was average but was the same each day. Air conditioning in both rooms didn't work well enough for me.

Tip - If you walk out of the hotel and take a right at the first signal light (about 2 blocks), then walk about three blocks, you will be on the famous Pedestrian Street which is around 2 miles long. This street is filled with restaurants, street vendors, shopping and street performers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

the location of this hotel is very nice about 5 min walking to istiklal street, and the bus station is just at the other side of the hotel, staff is not very helpfull exept one at reception by name omran he is very kind, i reserved double room for me and my wife and 6 months baby, first they offer me twin room but when i insest to have king size room they change it after long time of talking and asking for manager incharge,room is very very small for two and baby,also rooms is very noisy you can hear every thing around you on other rooms,very bad view i got,breakfast is just normal and its the same every day,i will not be back here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#533 of 1,159 in Istanbul
252 reviews
All Seasons Hotel
#745 of 1,159 in Istanbul
80 reviews
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#490 of 1,159 in Istanbul
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#931 of 1,159 in Istanbul
270 reviews
Sisli
Icon Hotel Istanbul
Icon Hotel Istanbul
#827 of 1,159 in Istanbul
46 reviews
Besiktas
Surmeli Istanbul
Surmeli Istanbul
#480 of 1,159 in Istanbul
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#364 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $53 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing