We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Halic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Hotel Halic
Ranked #613 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed here twice apart of a Cosmos Tour Group. The first time, I had a small but adequate room without a view of the nearby water. The second time, I had another smallish room but this time had an awesome view of the nearby water.

Buffet breakfast was average but was the same each day. Air conditioning in both rooms didn't work well enough for me.

Tip - If you walk out of the hotel and take a right at the first signal light (about 2 blocks), then walk about three blocks, you will be on the famous Pedestrian Street which is around 2 miles long. This street is filled with restaurants, street vendors, shopping and street performers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank e3brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    130
    111
    59
    19
See reviews for
65
104
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

the location of this hotel is very nice about 5 min walking to istiklal street, and the bus station is just at the other side of the hotel, staff is not very helpfull exept one at reception by name omran he is very kind, i reserved double room for me and my wife and 6 months baby, first they offer me twin room but when i insest to have king size room they change it after long time of talking and asking for manager incharge,room is very very small for two and baby,also rooms is very noisy you can hear every thing around you on other rooms,very bad view i got,breakfast is just normal and its the same every day,i will not be back here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maher k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

oman
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the Beyoglu area close to the Galata tower and bridge. The famous Istiklal Avenue is just a walk up the stairs. Other than this there is nothing to rave about this hotel. We had stayed here for 3 nights as a part of our Group tour of Turkey once during the begining of the tour and later at the end. Both times we landed up with rooms without a view. However in the first instance we were in what appears to be the older part of the building which was quite bad. The rooms were smaller here and the corridors were lit with motion detector lights that switched on with a delay. Thus you had to walk a few steps in the dark when the light switches on. It was kind of eerie and appeared pointless. In the second leg we were in the renovated area which had better rooms and large bathrooms. Thankfully the motion detector lights are not employed here.

The breakfast was pretty dull and was repeated. Any by the way a notice at the entrance warns you that 'outside food/beverages are injurious to your health'. So travellers beware.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I am from Iran,so a travel agency booked hotel for us.this hotel is famous for its view to a halic but the room that they gave us had a view of gloomy,dirty back alley of hotel and when I complainedwe are told we should pay extra money for rooms with better view!...staff were cold and unfriendly and once I noticed I realized that they only treat Iranian ppl like this...:(....anyway I can add that rooms are clean and breakfast is reasonably good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Farrrfarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is situated close to the evening activities of the New Town and is about 2 km from the attractions of the Blue Mosque, St Sophia etc. The breakfast was OK but less good than most of the other hotels we have experienced in Turkey. The furnishings are modern and clean. All-in-all not inspiring but more than adequate for a few days' stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Travelled to tukey for my honeymoon with the mrs the furniture was so outdated everythimg so old and in terrible had sublime views of the aegan sea,reception area is from a 50s canteen,taxim square 20ms,rip off,food was average TURKEY IS NICE AND HOT GRAND DEFINITELY NOT

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nezar E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

It is an old hotel but the location is quite strategic, is located in the heart of the city center.
The room is average, the bathroom is clean enough, the food is good.
There are a free wifi connection, the speed is fast but unfortunately I cannot browse to the internet through my tablet as will as my laptop.
it says that the server cannot be found, even the IT staff cannot fix the problem.....

If you want to go shipping, you can go by walk about 15 minutes to Taksim shopping area.
It a very huge Shopping area in town that you can buy anything there.....

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fajar a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Tulip By Molton Hotels
Tulip By Molton Hotels
#397 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
Grand Star Hotel Bosphorus
#917 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Beyoglu
Grand Oztanik Hotel
Grand Oztanik Hotel
#790 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Grand Hotel de Pera
Grand Hotel de Pera
#425 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Sultanahmet
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
Great Fortune Hotel & SPA
#78 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Beyoglu
Galata Antique Hotel
Galata Antique Hotel
#458 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Halic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Halic

Property: Grand Hotel Halic
Address: Refik Saydam Caddesi TepebasI BulvarI 37, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#373 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Halic 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Halic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul
Grand Halic Istanbul
Grand Halic Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing