We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling at home in Turkey”
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #145 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2010

Initially I was a bit taken aback by the touristiness of Sultanahmet, but the staff at the Historia made me feel very relaxed. Our departure was delayed by the volcanic ash cloud and many travellers were feeling agitated. But the staff at the Historia were so calm and helpful that our anxiety was somewhat alleviated.
The rooms were smallish and the call to prayer regularly woke us, but what else can you expect in Istanbul? Breakfasts were a feast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorelleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 547 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2010

The day I arrived to Istanbul was like a dream for me.
The complimentary airport transfer was arranged by the hotel as I have booked directly with them.And it was perfect welcome.
The hotel is more than what I have thought.
The location of the hotel is perfect. All the historical places are in walking distance.
(such as the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, The Cistern . . )
This is a real Ottoman Mansion located in the centre of the old peninsula.
The superb breakfast has so many delicious varity of choices.
And you can have your breakfast in the garden terrace which is very peaceful.
And I have a lot of things to say about the staff . Thanks again for this unique service.
I will definetly recommend

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isabelma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

When you love to be in a not to big hotel, cosy and above all, local atmosphere, the Historia Hotel is excellent. Local atmosphere, but with all the luxery you need on vacation. Nice rooms, good beds, complete bathroom, television, hairdryer. Very friendly people work here. Nice and Clean. A nice little garden for breakfast. The location is super. The highlight are even to reach on foot. Short distance to the Bosporus.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaockers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

I absolutely loved my stay in Istanbul, especially because every night, I would walk past the glorious Sultanahmet mosque and Hagia Sofia on my way back to Historia hotel. The weather was cool at the time we went so it was very pleasant to walk to the nearby tram (about 10 minutes away) and even all the way across the Galata bridge!
There was a convenient food street somewhere along the tram line (but i'm sorry i can't remember the street name). We loved one of the restaurants named Et-is. The trick is to ask the locals where they would eat. And they are usually very friendly if you ask nicely (and of course don't ask the restaurant owners standing out by the street because they'll point to their own shops).
The Spica Bazaar is about 20 minutes away but well worth the walk. Look around the Grand Bazaar but do your shopping in the Spice Bazaar! Prices go down to half or a third of Grand Bazaar prices.
Anyway, staff in Historia Hotel were wonderfully helpful and were happy to explain directions and point out places of interest on the map. They were always courteous and helpful and it was a delight to have a lovely outdoor verandah to eat breakfast at.
We got basement rooms which aren't consistent. Parent's room was nearly twice as big as ours! However, we spent most days out so this was not a big issue. The place definitely had its own charm, being one of many old converted houses in the area. I highly recommend Historia Hotel, and if you're still undecided, Istanbul as a great destination!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fxw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Spent 3 nights here at the beginning of May 2010. The location is just metres from Blue Mosque close to lots of eating places. Staff were all very pleasant indeed and were very prompt in mailing back to me a coat I had left behind in the wardrobe. Our room backed onto a railway line which made for some noise at night, but not any more disruptive than the call to prayer, which of course, is one of the charms of Istanbul. Bathroom was fairly small and not very soundproof. Breakfasts were good: interesting buffet with cereal, breads, jams, pastries, savoury things hot and cold, fruit, teas. Disappointed with terrible coffee and juice at breakfast - could do so much better. Staff very helpful with suggestions, directions and bookings locally.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PebblesSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

our stay was over-shadowed by the great volcano ash crisis, and our tour company eventually moved us to a cheaper hotel when our flight home was cancelled.

I would endorse many of the comments below. Breakfast was good; only time I had a hot option after a weeks trekking on south coast.
This area is pretty, and so convenient for many sights. But it is a western enclave type zone, with higher prices and restaurants/bars aimed soley at westerners.

Dropped lucky with a double room on the non-train track side, with a large terrace looking towards Blue Mosque - book Room 606 and you should not be disappointed!

I would stay here again. There a many similar hotels all around.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikeman1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Nice small wooden house with clean rooms in a great location. Friendly staff, everything is not luxurious but very cosy.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musafira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#150 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#122 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#66 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#278 of 1,163 in Istanbul
255 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
958 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:11 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $32 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing