We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Family Hotel”
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #169 of 1,151 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oberhaching, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Family Hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

For a short visit to Istanbul this hotel is ideally placed close to famouse places like the Blue Mosque and the Aghia Sofia. Although the area is predominantly a tourist area with lot´s of restaurant touts lining the street, the hotel's location means that you can walk to most sights, including the old Bazar, the Bosphorus and the Egyptian Bazar, which are about 15 minutes away on foot. The Hotel itself is small, but clean and beautifull. Nice staff, very friendly and a wonderfull breakfast buffet. All in all perfect. If you stay 3 nights, they offer a complimentary transfer from and to the airport if you book direct via their homepage.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view on the Bosporus
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    201
    40
    13
    8
See reviews for
163
148
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

For a first visit to Istanbul this hotel is ideally placed close to the Blue Mosque and Aghia Sofia. Although the area is predominantly a tourist area with irritating restaurant touts lining the street, the hotel's location means that you can walk to most sights, including the Bosphorus which is about 15 minutes away on foot.
The hotel itself is compact with small rooms which is just as I expected for the setting. We paid a supplement for a side sea view which was OK - probably worth it in Spring/ Summer.
What I liked very much was the staff: friendly without being intrusive. We had noisy neighbours on the first night; after mentioning it to the receptionist, he spoke to the occupants and we had no further problems. My partner asked for advice on taking a Turkish Bath and the recommendation was spot on - a local place which was perfect.
The breakfast is very good indeed: large buffet and they will cook omelettes to order too.
All in all, perfect for a first visit to the city. If you haven't yet booked, it's worth noting that they offer a complimentary transfer from the airport if you book direct.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonTexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel was very old and small rooms, but good value for the price. It is in a good location near the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia and about a 10 min walk to the tram. The owner and staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our a/c did not work properly the first night and they quickly moved us to a nicer room with a better view with a/c that worked very well. After reading reviews we were a little concerned about the train tracks right behind the hotel, but found them to be a non-issue as we did not see one train the 3 days we stayed there. If you are on a budget I would definitely recommend this hotel if price is under 90 Euros. Anything over that and there are much nicer places for the price.

Room Tip: We were concerned about the train based on reviews, but we were there for 3 days and not one train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is a steal for the money. They are one block from all of the major attractions, and the metro is also within easy walking distance. The hotel sits at the bottom of a hill, looking up at a row of shops and restaurants on a gorgeous cobblestone street. My room had an amazing view of the Marmar Sea and I could see the Blue Mosque as well. It is only up the street. They also gave me a free glass of cold beer upon arrival and provided a free breakfast buffet that was excellent. I loved it here and would go again. The bed was sooooo comfortable!

Room Tip: Stay in 603.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Runner8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Historia for a week. I invited my future in-laws to Turkey and it was important that we stay in a clean place not far from the attractions. Not only did I get that covered,I was lucky enough to come across this hotel. The hotel manager Haluk Kilic is extremely polite and welcoming. He and his whole staff are so incredibly kind. If you are looking for a safe place, close to everything you would want to do and see, great food, this is the place. Forget all the luxuries of American hotels. In that environment, all you need is a safe place to sleep with an attentive staff. Before I traveled I had asked Haluk Kilic for two rooms, one single bed and one with three beds. When my guests arrived, my future in laws, on the first day the three bed room was not available, so to make it up to us, Haluk Kilic gave them their own rooms at no extra charge. I would have paid the difference but they felt it necessary to accommodate us and that was not something that I was expecting. That however was not the reason why I enjoyed the hotel so much, that was only a bonus. The location is perfect, the balconies have a view of the Bosphorus which is beautiful. Sultan Ahmet square is only a stones throw away. Back to the hotel, the staff- take time to speak to them, they are all incredibly polite and helpful. Front Desk Tuncay, Onur, Sahin, each and every one of them will help you and treat you like family. Ask them to direct you to what ever you want to do and wherever you want to go. Ask Tuncay where the best restaurants are and he will direct you. He was a huge help. Onur, the young man with the mustache, is so kind and quite, he will make you a great espresso and Shahin the mid night front desk will take care of your arrival and departure. Chetin is in the breakfast hall and he gives wonderful service, tip him because he works hard. The maids Sakine and Zeyvan will do whatever you ask them to do to keep you comfortable in your rooms, thank you both. It was very important to me that my future family be comfortable and they delivered. I plan on returning in about 10 months and you had better believe I'll be calling Haluk. Give this Hotel a try, tell them you read about it on Trip Adviser, by the ways the are a 4.5 on Trip Adviser. Best wishes to everyone at Hotel Historia,

Kasra

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kasra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is located in the SultanAhmet district of Istanbul. The Blue mosque is just 10 minutes walk away.
The reception staff offered a warm welcome and were helpful throughout our stay. Any request, such as new toilet roll, was handled immediately without delay. They always helped us with taking out and bringing back the wheelchair for our son. On the last I asked if I could print off our boarding passes and that was no trouble for them, not even an extortionate price for printing unlike some hotels. All these things when combined make a huge difference.

It offered a wide range of choices for breakfast. The rooms were warm and comfortable, we stayed in Oct/Nov, it wasn't noisy even though we were on the same floor as the reception.

There is a lift to all the floors, breakfast is served on the ground floor.

In terms of improvements, we would recommend placement of the electric sockets near the dressing table and it is important to ensure guests are placed in the room they booked. We had a small cramped room on the first day instead of the family room. Whilst this wasn't an issue for us, we got moved the next day, I can imagine some impatient guests could see this as a significant issue.

Overall an enjoyable stay with excellent staff.

Room Tip: A room on the same floor as the reception means you only have to use the lift once a day to get to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farouqtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We enojyed all the time we spent in Istanbul thanks to the kindness and helpfulness of the director and all the hotel staff!
Very comfortable rooms, nice view, and a lot of advices by the director to see and visit the city!
We also forgot some things in the room, but they kindly sent everything to us without make us paying anything!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atomo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#76 of 1,151 in Istanbul
494 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,151 in Istanbul
729 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#89 of 1,151 in Istanbul
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Romantic Hotel Istanbul
Romantic Hotel Istanbul
#382 of 1,151 in Istanbul
373 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#138 of 1,151 in Istanbul
478 reviews
Sultanahmet
Senatus Hotel
Senatus Hotel
#25 of 1,151 in Istanbul
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Property: Historia Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:23 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#43 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#100 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#147 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing