We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #150 of 1,173 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location of the hotel is excellent, with easy walking access to many of the main tourist sites and with good public transport links. The staff are very friendly and helpful. A good spread for breakfast is provided.

Room Tip: Our top floor room facing south (601) was on the small size, but this was more than compensated by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 551 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location, great helpful staff. The rooms are adequate, hallway is a little noisy. The paid airport shuttle was very convenient, the driver was right there to meet me. It was a lot less than taking a taxi. It was wonderful being just minutes from Topkapi, Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Bazaar. I definitely plan to stay here again. The air conditioning works great!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Turkish people in general seem to be most warm and welcoming and right from the start those who run the Historia Hotel made us feel right at home. We flew in from Shanghai before dawn and were welcomed by Onur, who was manning the night desk. Our room was not ready (we were hours early) so he took our luggage and stored it, then made us a fabulous coffee "on the house" and settled us in the comfortable reception area bar to await the sunrise. we were then offered breakfast (great fresh fruit, yoghurt, dried fruit, many cheeses, eggs, fruit juices etc etc) all served in a lovely courtyard. our room was small but excellent, with views of the sea of Marmara and the Blue Mosque, linked to a fine ensuite bathroom and lovely balcony. the staff were kind and helpful throughout the 4 days we stayed, the hotel's location couldn't be more convenient for the main sights of istanbul and hundreds of fine restaurants. great value and even better fun. a perfect springing off point for istanbul.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 999michaelP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The building is sweet and the beds are comfortable. The staff are friendly warm and welcoming. The situation is perfect. Our room, 605 was the pick of the bunch, with sea views and street views. The breakfasts are feasts of delight. Honestly it has a modesty and homeliness that warmed my weary travelling heart and I cannot recommend the hotel, the management and the staff more highly. If ever I return this is where I will come.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tracytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

i loved that hotel. i stayed for 2 nights only and they were simply great. brilliant location in the Sultan Ahmed district, very close to the major sightseeing spots in Istanbul. the rooms are nicely furnished, room service is great, hotel staff are excellent, very very friendly and helpful. they helped us in booking tickets for a sema ceremony show, allowed us to stay a bit longer till our airport pickup arrives, they even waved us goodbye at the doorway while leaving. the breakfast buffet is great, & the breakfast terrace made it even more enjoyable. i had an amazing stay at this great hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marwa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed at the Histortia Hotel with my family, there were a large number of us. We stayed in three family rooms as well as a two small rooms. I would like to say that overall my experience staying at the Historia was fantastic. All of my family had a great stay, the staff were very friendly and catered for all of us- despite our large numbers!
I recommend the Historia as a great hotel which can cater for large and small families without compromising any effort or delivery in customer service.
The breakfast was great- The perfect way to start each day! lol. I have great admiration for the management who were always avalilble to ensure that I and my family had the best stay possible!

Room Tip: Although all the rooms are good- I highly recommend the 5th and 6th floors, with the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammad Reza D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in a family room at the Historia with 4 adults. The room was large enough even though there were so many of us. The staff was courteous and helpful. We enjoyed the breakfasts very much. The location is excellent for being close enough to walk to all the sites but it requires some uphill walking and so those who have difficulty walking might want to choose another location. There was insufficient water pressure in the shower. Our room was next to a train track and the train did make noise when it passed every hour or so but it didn't bother any of us at night and we slept well. the Internet was very slow and intermittently unavailable. I would have liked conditioner in the shower along with the shampoo. The room was clean, the price very reasonable, and overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#195 of 1,173 in Istanbul
276 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#171 of 1,173 in Istanbul
491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Ilkay
Hotel Ilkay
#53 of 1,173 in Istanbul
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#132 of 1,173 in Istanbul
499 reviews
Sultanahmet
Esans Hotel
Esans Hotel
#27 of 1,173 in Istanbul
858 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#196 of 1,173 in Istanbul
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:11 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#82 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#146 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $32 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing