We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view - Almost like being in a cruise ship”
Review of Historia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historia Hotel
Ranked #154 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Although our original booking was in Atlantis hotel which apparently is their sister concern and we checked into Historia almost at 0300 in the morning the view from the sea facing room was so promising that we woke up early just to savour it. The sea facing rooms also have a relatively busy railway line running close by,but your sleep would hardly be disturbed thanks to the good sound proofing.

The size of the room although small is sufficient for tourists who intend to be out most of the day. The balcony however is quite spacious with respect to the room size and the views as we already stated makes you feel like you are in a cruise ship.

The location of the hotel is central and close to all the touristic attractions. The breakfast provided is basic but good enough. The housekeeping and cleanliness levels are above average. The staff , particularly the girl who was on the day shift (sorry we forgot her name) was very helpful and always willing to provide assistance on any issue with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for Rooms with the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UNNIMAYA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (556)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 556 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good position for city center, very kind and nice crew. my friends and me asked about some advices about city, turkish bath and they were very nice.clean room,good breakfast, internet free in the hall, but of course in turkey peolpe smoke everywhere!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milomio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

First of all I want to thank all the staff of this nice hotel for being so friendly and helpful.
We were a family of four and all of us were very pleased to have had chosen Historia Hotel.
The hotel has a perfect location (i.e. safe area, very close to the most popular historical places in Istanbul), comfortable rooms, good service, excellent skilled staff and a great manager.
We love Istanbul and above all we love "Historia Hotel". Look forward to come back!!!
Special thanks to the Manager (Onur), Mutlu, Onur, Demet, Mehmet, Vedat, Mohamet and Ali.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

First big advantage is the location... The hotel is situated in the midle of the turistic area. Rooms are ok, a litle bit small but kind of boem. ;) the personal was great and we staid very well there.
There were some minuses related to breakfast ... The cofee was so diluted and the juice wasn't so fresh like it's appears.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himbajumbya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Historia on the front and back end of a sailing trip in Turkey this month. We were 3 families traveling with kids trying to keep it affordable and easy.
Onur and his staff were helpful and accommodating with our room requests (extra beds, sea views, balconies) and made all of our airport transfer arrangements for us (included in the cost of our rooms).
The hotel was charming - small but complete - nice beds, good bathrooms, lots of towels, a fridge, AC.
Nice lobby with a bar and cold Efes beer and access to the internet - we met fellow trailers and shared stories there.
Lovely court yard both downstairs off the dining room and out in front of the hotel - a nice swing to sit in at the end of the day, surrounded by blooming flowers.
Breakfast (included in room fee) was great - lots of fresh fruit, traditional Turkish breakfast, meats, cheeses, cereals...
Location smack dab in the middle of the Historic District - minutes to the Mosiac Museum (go there!), Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia...
But mostly - The Staff - friendly, helpful, fun, kind, arranged a last minute (delicious!) birthday cake for us and sang Happy Birthday in English and in Turkish, called restaurants for us to ask about vegetarians and kid discounts, arranged taxis and made suggestions - they were tireless in their efforts for us. Onur, Demet, Mutlu - Tesekkur Aderim!!!
We loved Turkey and will stay at Hotel Historia when we go again.
8 Happy Americans.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabetsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

For the first time it's a cutting master! lol
This is my first visit to Istanbul, I was not disappointed with my friends for choosing this place after a fine research on the net ... The hotel is very well placed in relation to historical sites and methods transport, the place is very nice and very cute. The rooms are relatively small, but we will not live forever. I greet all the hotel staff for their kindness, patience, understanding and support, and great thank to Demet and others ... not forgetting of course Mr Onur, we have not a chance to thank him by ourself for his help and his kind correspondence before we arrived ... thank you very much. If I should return to Istanbul....Historia without hesitation ;)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We had a terrific time in historia hotel. The location is in the middle of istanbul's historic places. Surrounded by restaurants and cafes.
Rooms were clean, staff ( mehmet, onor, mohammed, vedat ,and demet ) were very friendly and very helpful. Everything was very organized. The breakfast was fabulous every morning.
They definitely made our stay more enjoyable and much easier.
We had no complaint in our two weeks stay.
definitely had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sumengen Hotel
Sumengen Hotel
#161 of 1,178 in Istanbul
281 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#164 of 1,178 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#293 of 1,178 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#17 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,023 reviews
Sultanahmet
Star Holiday Hotel
Star Holiday Hotel
#215 of 1,178 in Istanbul
209 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#62 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historia Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. Amiral Tafdil Sok. No:11 | Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#73 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#98 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#144 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $40 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historia Hotel is an excellent special class hotel in Istanbul located at the heart of the famous Old City. Istanbul Old City’s Historia Hotel has been welcoming guests from around the globe to the one of the most exciting city in the world for more than10 years. Histori Hotel puts visitors in closer proximity to everything there is to see and do in Old City and Istanbul. Historia Hotel is within easy walking distance of Old City Istanbul’s world famous celebrated historical highlights like The Blue Mosque , The Hagia Sophia , Topkapı Palace , Underground Cistern , Museum of Turkish and Islamic Art, Grand Bazaar , Egyptian Market and many shops. In less than five minutes you can walk to more than 100 restaurants. At Historia Hotel you will only minutes away to enjoy all Istanbul Old City has to over. Historia Hotel offers 27 oversized rooms, most overlooking to the Marmara Sea with magnificent sea view with balcony and terrace. Book now for an unforgettable hotel experience in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Historia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Historia Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing