We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Affordable, Well-Located, Superior Service”
Review of Hippodrome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippodrome Hotel
Ranked #433 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2011

My stay at the Hippodrome was a great pleasure. The hotel is conveniently located in the historic district of Sultan Ahmet, and the rooms were charming and clean. The breakfast room on the rooftop overlooking the Bosphorus has a wonderful view and the buffet was superb. Staff are polite and non-intrusive, but if you ask for help, Samir can be trusted to look out for your interests and will give excellent advice. Great value at a more affordable price.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dancingrabbits7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

194 - 200 of 342 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2011

we recomanded for everybody because everythınghs ıs very good. The staff ıs very kındly and athmospahre ıs frıendly .Samır ıs helpfull and he ıs a very smıle .

Raccomandıamo questa scelta per la posızıone molto vıcına aı sıtı dı ınteresse . E'ben servıta daı mezzı pubblıcı che la collegano facılmente aı varı quartıerı della cıtta. La sımpatıa del personale cı ha conquıstatı: Samır e' sempre dısponıbıle e lo trovıamo ad accoglıercı ognı volta con un sorrıso e tanta sımpatıa. Perfetto! :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albertotrieste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

The hotel is really nice. It is situated in close proximity to the Blue Mosque in a quiet old neithbourhood. Me and my husband were especially happy with the hotel service. The front desk man Samir was very nice and polite. He was smiling the whole time and was always willing to help us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naseto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

we had great time in hippodorma hotels nice clean room , helpful staff near to most interesting location as blue mosque & H Sofia plus metro station which can leading around the city , and when you arrived to hottel ask Samer to arranged to you Turkish night in sultanah

thnaks

Greenius

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

So this hotel is a jump and leap away from the major attractions in that area.
Getting to hotel using the metro system was easy from the airport, ~roughly 45min to an hour. I travel light so carrying my bag from the Tram to hotel was ok. But if you are travelling with several pieces of luggage person consider getting an airport transfer.
And be prepared to walk through major touristy area.

I didn't at all mind going down 2 blocks for the complimentary breakfast. Inspiring view of the water. BUt the breakfast was the same every day I was there (4 days) Not too much of a selection.

The room was basic, with the decor and linens seeming a little older. BUt let's be realistic you will probably only spend time at the hotel to sleep. There is so much to do and explore in Instabul. Lots of great little shops around.
The A/C was decent, also older and it tool some time to cool the room. I was there in september and wonder what it would have been like if I went during the really warm season.

Sulthmet is a very busy and touristy area. All though the hotel was close to major attractions I was wishing to stay in another area. I wondered if staying at a different location and spending slightly more would have been worth it.

The front desk people were extremely helpful and cheerful. They made coming back to the hotel a great experience.

I would recomment the hotel if all you are looking for is a bare minimum hotel for a decent price.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LePetitPrince-Yaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

I hate to give such a good review because I sometimes feel like I'm helping a hotel raise its prices but I have to say that the Hippodrome in Istanbul was well worth the 38 Euros a night we ended up paying. We checked in really late around 2am and they were willing and able to take care of us. The hotel is in two buildings and we were directed to another building but don't let that scare you. The other building which was labeled Hippodrome Apart hotel was great and they called ahead to wake up the guy there to let us in. Despite being woken up he was very nice and friendly and personally showed us our room with a smile. The room was not huge but adequate and in a great location to start our stay in Istanbul, just steps from the Blue Mosque. The only downside which ended up being slightly creepy was being awoken at 530am by the blaring loudspeakers and the morning prayer. If its your first night in Istanbul be prepared for this, especially if your staying near the Blue Mosque. It can startle someone out of a dead sleep. Anyway, its fairly loud if your a light sleeper and hopefully you'll be able to get back to sleep. But really the hotel was great, and you can walk right over to the Best Western and have a great selection for your free breakfast. I seriously almost couldn't believe we paid what we did to get this place. It was clean, the people were helpful and friendly and I honestly couldn't have really asked for more. Your not going to get room service, or someone helping you with bags if you desire that sort of thing, but what you get is well worth the price, at least in the off season. I'm sure it won't be this inexpensive in the summertime.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFER1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

Breakfast location at sister Great Western Hotel had marvellous views over the marmara sea and Blue Mosque
All very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiegorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#293 of 1,178 in Istanbul
554 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#154 of 1,178 in Istanbul
556 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Premier
Azade Premier
#507 of 1,178 in Istanbul
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#168 of 1,178 in Istanbul
846 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Citadel Hotel
Best Western Citadel Hotel
#181 of 1,178 in Istanbul
467 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#107 of 1,178 in Istanbul
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Hotel

Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $34 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippodrome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in at our superb Istanbul Hotel, located in Sultanahmet in the heart of the old City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hippodrome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippodrome Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing