We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is very nice”
Review of Hippodrome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hippodrome Hotel
Ranked #392 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bruges, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This hotel is very nice”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I absolutely loved staying at this hotel,compared to the one I was staying in previously.The staff (Special thanks!Caner,Mesut,Arzu)were friendly,smiling and helpful at all times,especially the staff on the front desk who were always full of information.I have read the other comments about this hotel and it’s a shame that there were a few who were not happy with it,I’m sure that wires must have crossed somewhere along the line.found the stay to be very homely and comfortable.Breakfast on the terrace was relaxing and a perfect start to the day.There is so much to see in Istanbul which will make you go back for more.All the staff at the hotel speak good English,and are ready to help with any queries and information on places to eat and drink.I suggest tours for sightseeing in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anitai_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    133
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
78
120
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Everything about this hotel was wonderful.The people (Arzu,Caner,Hasan,İlker and bellboy) the room, the location, the price, the view, the breakfast. Everything was wonderful. The staff there were so helpful in giving information about places to see and things to do. Our vacation was very nice in Istanbul.

Room Tip: Perfect vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandracgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We recently stayed in a small room L2 behind reception (booked through trip with BA). On the morning of the day before leaving we found our suitcase lock had been forced. Also a pair of Prada sunglasses had been stolen but the case was still there. We found too that make up had been taken from the bathroom.This was extremely upsetting to find someone had been through everything in our room whilst we were out and taken things and this ruined our holiday. On advising the staff they were very surly and came in and searched the room to obviously no avail. No forced entry to the room so this must have been done by a member of staff! We went to the Tourist police station at Sultanahamet to report this who said because it was theft from a hotel we had to go to the local police station so they sent us to Kumkapi Polis Merkezi who said wrong place and sent us to Sirkeci Polis station (near the Sirkeci railway station. by the port) They couldn't speak english so a translator had to come to help us complete a report. Then one of the hotel staff came who tried to get us to sign a report to say the thefts had not been from the hotel - which obviously we did not agree to as it wouldn't have been true. So a true report was completed. BA was also advised..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent 5 nights here in early March so the price was low season. Easily accessible to nearby attractions, small bazaar and tram. Delightful staff at front desk. Spoke good English. Helped with our return shuttle to airport and kept our luggage after morning checkout for a late night flight. Breakfast at hotel down the street (100 yards away) gave us a wonderful view of the Straits and the Aya Sophia/ Blue Mosque. Food was good --typical turkish breakfast and well as "western" selections. I now miss olives and tomatoes for breakfast. Room was small but clean. We did not come to Istanbul to spend time in our room! The complaints about the call to prayer listed below seem inappropriate when visiting a Muslim country--it is part of the culture.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street but was not too noisy. It was,however, not high season nor warm weather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieK325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located in a convenient location to the popular tourist sites but the hotel leaves a lot to be desired. Rooms are small. The closet doors don't fully open without moving the bed. Morning prayers will wake you up unless you're a very deep sleeper. Wifi is free but pretty poor as well.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Like Lulujack we booked this hotel through BA. We were given a room in the 'Apartments', which are across the road from the main hotel. I think the range of reviews reflects the range of rooms available, and I suspect the hotel gives the worst rooms to customers who have booked through the airlines. The 'apartments' are simply rooms with no other facilities apart from a security desk in the foyer. Our room, 403, was very small. With 1 cupboard to store clothes we had to keep the rest of our clothes in our cases. There was not enough room to lay the cases flat on the floor so the 6 days we were there involved lots of heaving cases on and off the bed. The room overlooks the street, so it is too noisy to leave the window open. We assumed the other rooms were the same so didn't complain. At the end of the week the cleaners had the doors open to the other rooms, which were much more spacious, so if you are given 403, ask for a change; I suspect it is the smallest room in the hotel. There is no lift in the apartments either. Having said that, the position is great, the bed was reasonably copmfortable, there is a safe and breakfast is OK.
We had read critical comments about the food in Sultanahmet, but we enjoyed some good meals, especially at Sokullu. (www.sokullurestaurant.com) This small restaurant is in a side street just off the Hippodrome; the atmosphere was warm and friendly and the service excellent with humerous and attentive staff. The food was excellent and meze, 1 or 2 courses, 2 drinks and tea was about £20 per head. It was full on the 3 nights we were there and booking is recommended. We had a drink at Turquoise (up the street to your left as you come out of the hotel) and if we had had another night we would have eaten there. The 7 hills restaurant (up the road and turn right) has a high roof terrace and fantastic views. More expensive but worth going up for a coffee just for the views.
Whilst we might return to Istanbul, we would not return to the Hippodrome ~ too basic for a city break. Apologies for no photograph because the room is worse than any shown in the other traveller photographs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiftysomething100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sgp
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Got upgraded to their newest hotel just 10meters across the street.....superb....all in good brand new condition....beautiful decor.
Hotel location perfect.
Thanks Arzu....and Mutda...and Chalas...hope I spelt their names correct

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humaira01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#277 of 1,149 in Istanbul
535 reviews
Sultanahmet
Acra Hotel
Acra Hotel
#208 of 1,149 in Istanbul
737 reviews
Sultanahmet
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
Armagrandi Spina Istanbul
#292 of 1,149 in Istanbul
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
#598 of 1,149 in Istanbul
25 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#577 of 1,149 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#196 of 1,149 in Istanbul
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Hotel

Property: Hippodrome Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #392 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippodrome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in at our superb Istanbul Hotel, located in Sultanahmet in the heart of the old City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hippodrome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippodrome Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing