We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel at a great location”
Review of Hippodrome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hippodrome Hotel
Ranked #403 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel at a great location”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Breakfast (served in a hotel across the street) was excellent. The room was not so big, but the bed and the shower was great. Nice and friendly staff. Good hotel for a good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 01Yolanda29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    133
    48
    17
    12
See reviews for
77
120
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Just returned from 4 nights in a twin room at the Hippodrome. Its very central in Sultanahmet for the blue mosque, restaurants and tram stop. Staff were very polite and helpful but hotel was just a lot smaller than i expected. It feels more like a B&B.

Room was ok, clean and had air con but could do with a refurb etc, curtains do not fit windows and rugs are worn etc.

Breakfast is taken on a roof top terrace in a hotel opposite. Great views but not great food!

I would stay here again now i know what to expect. Good value for its location.

Room Tip: You will get woken for the call for prayer from the Blue Mosque blasting out at 4,30am in our case!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gra90travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in May and were so very happy with our experience. The staff was helpful and speaks very good English. The manager, who arranged several tours for us, including a day in Bursa and also a half-day cruise on the Bosphorus, was gracious and very responsive. The price of our stay had included a van pick-up at the airport; when we exited the baggage area there was a man waiting with the name of the hotel and he directed us, plus 4 other arriving guests, to the driver of a van who helped us with our luggage and got us directly to our hotel. All very easy.

The hotel is actually in two locations; the smaller rooms are in one building (where the reception desk and manager are located) and the larger, what they call "apartment" rooms (which aren't necessarily suites in the way many of us think of apartments; you should ask for the details), in another building diagonally across the street. Both hotel buildings are located in a kind of little tourist neighborhood or cul de sac that is a 10 minute walk from the Blue Mosque and Haghia Sophia. Here there are literally dozens of small hotels lining several streets sharing the area with restaurants, outdoor cafes, little convenience stores, and lots of nice shops -- including the inevitable hard-selling rug and carpet shops.

The Hippodrome doesn't serve your breakfast. For this you walk about 50 feet from the front door of the Hippodrome to an adjacent larger hotel that serves breakfast to guests from a number of the smaller tourist hotels in this cul de sac. Its very pleasant breakfast room is on the top floor, with fabulous views of the Bosphorus and also a lovely terrace where you can eat during nice weather; in the evening this room is a restaurant and bar. The food is quite good -- typical tourist breakfast but including a yogurt bar with fruits, honeys, grains, and syrups (I got hooked on a fabulous cherry syrup that included sweet cherries); classic Turkish breakfast foods -- cheese, olives and bread; plus very good eggs, beef sausages, and cakes and sweets. Plus excellent fresh orange juice and always fresh fruit.

Back in the hotel, the rooms are small but nicely furnished. Our beds were good (firm) with very clean linens and multiple pillows. While we didn't need it, we saw there was a room-controlled air conditioner, there is a mini bar, very reliable WiFi in the room, plus a little service to make tea or instant coffee. Our bathroom had a tub and shower. Every day it was perfectly cleaned and our supply of soft towels and toiletries -- little bottles of shampoo, conditioner, bath gel, and body lotion -- was restocked. Every afternoon the hotel puts out the makings for coffee and tea in the lobby, plus a tray of little cookies -- a nice gesture to come back to after a day of sightseeing.

Knowing we'd be in the hotel for a long period we had requested a quiet room in the back which I think was a wise thing to do. Although the front rooms have lovely little balconies, these rooms also face the street where there are several cafes and restaurants with outdoor tables and music, making the street rather noisy until a late hour (midnight?). Whereas the back of the hotel is very quiet as the rooms face interior gardens. You do hear the call to prayer several times a day but it is beautiful and melodic, the last one being at mid-evening (9:00-ish depending on the time of year).

The combination of location, comfort, quiet, price and service made this a perfect choice for us. We would recommend this hotel to our friends and family and if we returned to Istanbul, we'd stay there again. We don't think there is a better recommendation than to say we'd absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: For a balcony facing the main street, ask for a room in the front. For a more quiet room, request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KateNYC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel has a very convenient location,close the city centre and two minute walk from the sultanahmet area.. The hotel staff is very friendly,kind and helpful (Mr.Caner Arzu) Our room in the top floor was a peaceful and very clean room and a balcony. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zedie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, IN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hippodrome Hotel in Istanbul for a week in May 2012. We took a cab from the airport, and our driver had a little trouble finding the hotel. The Sultanahmet is like a maze! After asking for directions a couple of times, he found it and we were in business. We had arrived in Turkey around 10 a.m., and when we got to the hotel, our room was already available, which was a huge plus. After the long flight, it was very nice to be able to check in and freshen up rather than have to leave our bags and come back in a few hours. The staff was very friendly and helpful all week. The only thing keeping me from 5 stars was upon checkout, we were charged for several local phone calls we didn't make. It only came to about 8 Lira, which is less than $5, so we paid it rather than argue, but it was slightly annoying. Our room was nicely sized, always a nice surprise in Europe, with two twin beds. If that bothers you just ask for a double bed, but we don't care, (just pretend you're a TV couple in the 50's). :) The bathroom was very large with a full tub/shower and plenty of room for our toiletries. I did burn up the room's hair dryer one morning (oops!) but by the time we returned that evening they had replaced it with a brand new one. The breakfast buffet across the street at the sister hotel Obelisk was AMAZING! Aside from the great views on the terrace (Blue Mosque on one side, Bosphorus on the other) there was a great selection of breads, cereal, honeys, olives, vegetables, cheeses, meats, coffee, and juice. Definitely a good way to start your day! The hotel is very close to the Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia, Underground Cistern, Topkapi Palace, and the tram line. Less than 5 minutes up the hill and you're in the middle of everything. There are also several "convenience" type stores nearby, handy for snacks and drinks, especially since it is not recommended to drink the tap water in Istanbul. Bottled water was very inexpensive. The hotel is definitely in a great location, and we would absolutely stay there again. If you're on the fence about traveling to Istanbul, don't be! Go, and stay at the Hippodrome!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbandjb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Hotel was in a really good location for seeing the main sights of Istanbul, nothing fancy but just right for our needs, our room was comfortable and a nice size for our 3 night break. Good towels and crisp bed linen. 3 mins walk from the tram stop and a few mins from the Blue Mosque, Cisterns, Palace etc. The room we were allocated was not in the main hotel building but having read reviews we were aware this might be the case before we booked.

Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff extremely friendly. Coffee and tea facilities were available in the room and air con. if required. Our room was located 2 floors up which was not a problem to us but may not suit everyone as there is no lift - not sure if main building offers a lift. A very good breakfast selection (hot and cold) was served in a large room with a fabulous terrace offering views of the Blue Mosque and surrounding area. Breakfast is served in another hotel which is a short stroll away (50-100 yards at most) down the road - it might not sound ideal but it really is not a problem and your reward is certainly worth the stroll. Overall we thought that this hotel was very good value for money and in an excellent location for our needs.

Tip. Next door to our building was a travel agency that offered a service to the airport for 5.00 Euros each - really good value. On our arrival we caught the Light Railway which connects with the tram it only cost about 4 Euros (Probably not ideal if you have loads of luggage).

A lovely spot to have a sundowner and dinner is under the Galata Bridge where you will find a really good selection of restaurants and places to sit and watch the world go by....fabulous. We did not use the river tours but caught local ferries which only charge about 2 Euros to visit the Asian side of Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Central location but nice and quiet place close Hagia Sophia. Friendly and helpful staff. Comfortable and clean rooms. Very good breakfast on the terrace with nice view over Bosphorus, Sultan Ahmed Mosque and Hagia Spohia. Many good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank via14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Acra Hotel
Acra Hotel
#202 of 1,140 in Istanbul
736 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Hotel
Azade Hotel
#283 of 1,140 in Istanbul
534 reviews
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#891 of 1,140 in Istanbul
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Ferman Hotel
Ferman Hotel
#184 of 1,140 in Istanbul
738 reviews
Sultanahmet
Azade Suites
Azade Suites
#565 of 1,140 in Istanbul
60 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
Agora Boutique Hotel Bistro
#599 of 1,140 in Istanbul
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippodrome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippodrome Hotel

Property: Hippodrome Hotel
Address: Mimar Mehmet Aga Cad. No:38 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #403 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hippodrome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you in at our superb Istanbul Hotel, located in Sultanahmet in the heart of the old City centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hippodrome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippodrome Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing