We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Istanbul short stay”
Review of Golden Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Crown Hotel
Ranked #311 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Positives: Great location, friendly staff(male), clean room and bathroom, comfy bed, good, ample breakfast.

Negatives: Aircon made a noise but produced no cool air, therefore window had to be kept open at night so much street noise (I would guess that the first thing to give up the ghost on Turkish cars is the horn)
Keysystem - electronic card type - failed & took 2 days to correct meaning a staff member with master key was required to open room door each time.
Would still recommend for a short stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Golden Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 297 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is located quite close to many of the interesting sights in Instanbul. Our doubleroom was really tiny. The bathroom was small and sadly not very clean.
The breakfast was not really good, but okay for the small price.
The biggest problem was the airport pickup. We booked it online and it was confirmed, too - still nobody was showing up when we arrived at 2 in the morning. That was very annoying and we did not get any compensation for the trouble we had because of that.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

great location, 10 minutes walk from attractions, shops and bars nearby, most of the staff friendly and helpful. breakfast o.k. but boring. rooms small, but comfy, shower, toilets good.
rooms on 1st floor street facing noisy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcbfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews was satisfied that we had been booked in there. What a dissappointment when we got to our room. Bathroom not cleaned in the 5 days we were there. No place to put anything. Really not up to our expectatios at all. Tripadvisor shows the incorrect location for the hotel which is actially very well situated next to the Innova hotel and very close to all attractions. With a little but of effort it can be made into something decent. The breakfast also leaves much to be desired. Overall lucky to get a 2!

Thank Denton J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

A budget hotel and very expensive . we booked double room for honeymoon but give us two separate bed . excellent location. The hotel is situated in old city, close to Aya Sophia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. There is a supermarket in 50 metres. As for problems: the room we lived in was really very small, it was a little bit cold because the air-conditioner didn`t work properly. ... the staff very nice all the boy there so nice and helpful only 1 girl in the reception she is not nice

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahmed i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Hotel is a small one that features less than 40 rooms so very quaint and boutique like. The airport transfer from ataturk was included to the hotel as we stayed over 3 nights. We checked in quickly and got our room. Wile it was small, it was sufficient and clean. I highly recommend a room facing the street as the court yard retains heat and humidity which then require you to sleep with the AC on. The staff are really nice and friendly. Breakfast is simple but tasty and we enjoyed local cheeses, fresh tomatoes, cucumbers, breads and of course traditional turkish tea. The hotel is literally 5 minutes from the Grand Bazaar, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Aghia Sophia an even closer to restaurants and countless shops. The return transfer to the airport is 6 euros per person and must be booked a day prior. Overall a great place to setup base camp and enjoy the amazing City of Istanbul!

Room Tip: Street view rooms are best
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aleks-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel that is in the city center, close to all the important places, hotel rooms are large, clean and the staff very nice and friendly, good breakfast and free internet at the hotel, great for business travelers.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Shaul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#187 of 1,159 in Istanbul
158 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#583 of 1,159 in Istanbul
223 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#304 of 1,159 in Istanbul
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#144 of 1,159 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#204 of 1,159 in Istanbul
321 reviews
Sultanahmet
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
Harmony Hotel Istanbul
#363 of 1,159 in Istanbul
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Piyerloti Cad. No:10 Cemberlitas | Cemberlitas-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $38 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Crown has 34 full air conditioning standard rooms and 1 suit room.In our all rooms you could find to use your own minibar, LCD Televisions with foreign and local music channels,central heating system, private bathrooms, hair dryers,safe boxes and dial-direct phones . Designs of the rooms like the sense of traditional Turkish decorations.RESTAURANT & BAR.We have in our hotel a small cozy bar next to restaurant .It serves in 24 hours for your resting and taking your tasty drinks. In our lobby bar you can find all local and imported drinks.Open buffet breakfast in our large restaurant ,times between 07:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. everyday .Restaurant capacity 60 pax, RECEPTION & LOBBY.Hotel Golden Crown get the delicious taste of Turkish hospitality with the services of our experienced and friendly staff. You will be in the sense of staying like your own home and comfort in Hotel Golden Crown. Reception and room service is open 24 hours.It is possible to check your e-mails or send an e-mail from our free WIFI in your room or Lobby .We are arranging all the sightseeing tours, night shows and Anatolian tours from door to door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing