We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont ever stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Crown Hotel
Ranked #275 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dont ever stay here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

booked in at 630 am was told to wait in the foyer until 930 am then got to the room and went to sleep . asked about 10 time about the faulty aircon and was tols they put it off in winter but the advertise fully airconditioned rooms . went for breakfast at 9 am witch is served till 10 am and when asking for eggs and sausage was then told it was finished . very poor service and a language problem as the staff did not speak english .......

Room Tip: dont always trust your travel agent !!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikepaul47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear mikepaul47 ,

Thanks for your feedback . It would allow us to be more careful in our future services. But I must reply your sentences for my all future guests via this important platform .
First of all , I must say that it is too difficult to see these kind of very negative sentences / rates for our lovely hotel ,however we are 10 year-old hotel ! All hotel's check in time , in general rules , is approximately 13:00/14:00 pm . Early c/in demands are only the request , could not be guaranteed neither by the agencies nor hotels, if you did not reserve the room one day before of your early arrival ! According to the hotel availability it could be served . It should be so favorable for you could check in 09:30 a.m while the c/in time is 14:00 pm ! About aircon , always we tell that it is main heater / cooler system and it must be fixed for winter condition on November . Breakfast time is 07:00 - 10:00 am , and we always add new ones when the products finish . So it is impossible to be answered at 09:00 that it was finished ! And finally , our breakfast staff could not speak only English , but also Russian fluently ! We thank you about your motivated feedback . If we had a chance to host you again , all of your negative opinions would be changed ...

KINDEST REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    105
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
59
103
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Spent 4 nights here - room was clean, although a bit small - not much room to unpack. Breakfast was fine - topped up as required. Reception staff were very helpful.
Very central for all the main sights - no need for a car. Trams go from top of the road.
Aker restaurant across the road was very good value, and lovely food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Anne O ,

Thanks a lot for your valuable feedback . It is so appreciated to share your nice experiences about your visit and our hotel with all our future guests via Tripadvisor .. It made us so happy to see your contentment of stay . We are looking forward to host you again in Golden Crown Hotel . Thank you very much .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel was everything you should expect from a cheap hotel. It was clean, the hotel staff as a majority were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best part, very nice!
The only thing that you might want to be careful about is if you ask the hotel to arrange a transfer for you from the airport and vice versa. We asked via email and were quoted 50 euros for 2 people both ways which seemed reasonable....however, when we got to the check in desk there is a notice for a shuttle transfer that states only 5 euro per person. When we asked we were quite rudely informed that we had requested a private transfer which is not true. We asked if we could cancel the return transfer and use the shuttle service but the answer was...you can cancel but you still have to pay the full 50 euros.
Well like i say, apart from this the hotel is good. Well located for the sights but take some earplugs if you have a room looking onto the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynwalker2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Drobynwalker2003 ,

Thanks for your feedback . It is important for us to see your critiques about our lovely hotel and amenities . Firstly , I would like to say that as a 3 star and 10 year-old hotel , we have been cooperating a lot of agencies ..So you could have your accomodation very budget price some of the terms via them .It is so nice for us and our all guests . About private transfer , you had done it before of your arrival via e-mail and we organised it for you pleasurely . But you chose for both way and we made you discount . That's mean it was a package transfer to be organised cheaper than one way . It was paid before of your arrival by us with a company which picked you up . Since it was a package and paid for , it could not be cancelled by us . Thanks for your chosing us and hope to see you again in Golden Crown Hotel .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights Slept well in generally quiet room on 5th floor. Breakfast a bit limited especially if arriving after 9.30. Great location however for all the main sights and beyond. We used the public transport a lot and there is a tram stop just up the road which was very convenient.
If you want a cheap and cheerful restaurant try the one on the corner just up the road.
A sight not highly advertised but worth a visit is the main railway terminus where you can see the Orient Express terminal building - just a couple of tram stops down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear CHRIS G ,

Thanks a lot for your valuble feedback . It made us so happy to see your pleasure of stay . It is so important for us that you shared your nice experiences and suggestions with our future guests via tripadvisor . We hope to see you again in Golden Crown Hotel for the next times .. Thank you very much .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We couldn't have picked a better location for all the main tourist sites like the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sofia, Topkapi Palace and the trams so handy for getting to further a field to go on a Bosphorus Cruise and to the Church of St Saviour in Chora but known to the locals as Kariye Camii which is well worth a visit. The hotel was very clean, breakfast plentiful with enough coffee to keep our energy levels up plus the staff were so friendly and very helpful to us by phoning to arrange our tranfer back to the airport and getting our boarding passes. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Istanbul. We feel it was a great time of year to visit Istanbul as we had lovely warm evenings and hot days but not to hot for sightseeing. Flat shoes are a must as best way to see the area is by walking. Thanks to all the staff for making our trip special as I have waited a long time to visit Istanbul. Can also recommend the Cosy Cafe roof top terrace as the views of the Blue Mosque lit up at night were fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendaG822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear BrendaG822 ,

Thanks a lot for your valuable comment . It is so appreciated to share your lovely experiences with all our future guests via Tripadvisor . It made us so happy to read about your beneficial visits and suggestions for others . Lovely words for staff and hotel location , too . We are looking forward to host you in our hotel soon . Please , do not hesitate to contact me if you need more assistance for everything about İstanbul . Thank you very much .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, uk
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 4 nights, four of us (me, wife, 2 adult sons) we had the 'family suite'. Bit of a black hole, poor daylighting but as a functional base perfectly ok with 2 bathrooms for the connected rooms. Problem on our last night with banging in fire escape by room.

Whole hotel is a bit gloomy, restaurant/breakfast room off reception with no direct daylighting. Breakfast was ok.

The big advantage is the hotel's location, a few minutes walk from the Hippodrome, Blue Mosque, etc. It is hilly immediately around the hotel and note comments by others about suitability if walking is difficult, and pavements are uneven!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front if you want soem daylight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chesterimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Chesterimp ,

Thank you very much for your feedback . It is so valuable for us to share your critiques about hotel , services and your experience . We would be more careful next times . But you must be sure that if the reception were informed about your inconvenience , they would be done their best for you . As a 3 star hotel , we are improving day by day for all services . If we have a chance to host you again in Golden Crown Hotel , it would be our pleasure to serve you more better . Thanks a lot .

Kindest REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in Istanbul for 8 days and stayed at this hotel. The four of us travelling all have the same last name so the hotel thought we were parents with two kids so they originally gave us the family suite. This was very thoughtful however, we were two couples travelling together. Luckily the next day they were able to give each couple our own rooms. The hotel was clean, functional and the staff was friendly, professional and helpful. Located only a 15 minute walk from Hagia Sofia, the Blue Mosque and the Grand Bazaar. The only issue we had was with the AC a couple of nights. Even then,the evening air was cool enough once we opened the window. The AC was fixed in short order and was only a minor issue. The gentleman that worked the night shift recommended a great Hamam (Turkish Bath) at a hotel just down the hill (5 minute walk). The breakfast was repetitive but filling, always fresh and adequate to start the day. Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Istanbul. Its location is great and really easy to locate when walking around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMS579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demet B, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Crown Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear LMS579 ,

I do thank you very much for your lovely comment . It was so nice to meet you . It is so appreciated to share your experiences with our future guests via Tripadvisor . Yesss, it made me so worry about you were inconvenient for your first night or not ! We had planned to be surprised you by giving a family suite :)) Thanks for your understanding . It was our pleasure to host you for 8 days and wish to see you again for more 8 days :) It is wonderful for us to see that you recommend our hotel to everyone . Looking forward to see you soon .

KINDEST REGARDS
Ms.Demet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#506 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Sultanahmet
Miran Hotel
Miran Hotel
#195 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#85 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Aprilis Hotel
Aprilis Hotel
#216 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Antea Palace Hotel & Spa
Sultanahmet
Kupeli Hotel
Kupeli Hotel
#397 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Crown Hotel

Property: Golden Crown Hotel
Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Piyerloti Cad. No:10 Cemberlitas | Cemberlitas-Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #275 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Golden Crown has 34 full air conditioning standard rooms and 1 suit room.In our all rooms you could find to use your own minibar, LCD Televisions with foreign and local music channels,central heating system, private bathrooms, hair dryers,safe boxes and dial-direct phones . Designs of the rooms like the sense of traditional Turkish decorations.RESTAURANT & BAR.We have in our hotel a small cozy bar next to restaurant .It serves in 24 hours for your resting and taking your tasty drinks. In our lobby bar you can find all local and imported drinks.Open buffet breakfast in our large restaurant ,times between 07:00 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. everyday .Restaurant capacity 60 pax, RECEPTION & LOBBY.Hotel Golden Crown get the delicious taste of Turkish hospitality with the services of our experienced and friendly staff. You will be in the sense of staying like your own home and comfort in Hotel Golden Crown. Reception and room service is open 24 hours.It is possible to check your e-mails or send an e-mail from our free WIFI in your room or Lobby .We are arranging all the sightseeing tours, night shows and Anatolian tours from door to door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Golden Crown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing