We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveler rating
306
206
39
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
206
39
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue mosquewalking distancerooftop terracethe hotel staffminute walktop floorturkeyhagia sophiaexcellent locationenjoyable staythe breakfast areasmall hotelcall to prayerthe main tourist attractionsi highly recommend this hotelold towneach morning
Filter
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 562 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2010

It's a small (3*) hotel in the old part of town and is within walking distance to all the various sites in the city. The reception staff are quite polite, helpful and advice given is fairly good. The european breakfast in the morning is good enough with a huge spread of various cakes. The noise from the busy bustling street can be quite annoying IF one has the room window open during the night. The AC/room temperature is centrally controlled. The rooms have a thermostat/fan which does not help much as it can become quite hot/muggy during the night.
There is no tea/coffee facility in the rooms, but on request the staff deliver hot water in cups to the room.
Overall, as one spends most of the time wandering through the streets of Istanbul, the location of the hotel is fairly good and hence the sparse room facilities can be overlooked.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sibiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

The Erguvan hotel is a great place to stay in Istanbul. It is in a good location, 5 minutes walk from the centre of Sultanahmet. The staff were friendly and helpful, and very accomadating to our family group of 9 who stayed there for a week. The highlight was the terrace on the roof where we ate breakfast in the morning and had drinks in the evening- the hotel will also cook dinner on the terrace in the evening if requested.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annas_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

The Sultanahmet in Istanbul is the historical district, and if you're looking for a charming hotel that reflects this feel of the neighborhood, look no further than Erguvan! Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Eyub. I have never met a friendlier person in a hotel! He spoke English extremely well and took the time to give us maps and acquaint us with the neighborhood. He proved to be very helpful over our stay as well! Our room was overlooking the street (and you could see the Sea of Marmara from our windows as well) on the third floor. Our room was large for European standards. It was very clean and had a lot of windows and sunlight. The only complaint I have is that the bed was hard as a rock! But after touring the city all day I feel asleep so easily, the bed softness didn't really matter... Breakfast buffet (cheeses, bread, cereal, spreads, boreks, meats, coffee, juice, pastries) was included each morning on the rooftop terrace. The terrace overlooked the sea and the Blue Mosque and it was wonderful to start our day here each morning! The hotel also has a small elevator which is really helpful for getting luggage up and down! I really enjoyed the feel and service of this unique boutique hotel and I would stay here again in the future!
P.S. There is free WIFI and free use of a computer in the lobby!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professorwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

The location of the hotel is very good, close to the blue mosque, within walking distance of the Haja Sofia and the Topkapi Palace.

The staff is great. We arrived at 1130pm and we asked if it was still possible to have a drink on the roof terrace. The receptionist told us the terrace was closing but he phoned upstairs and arranged for the terrace to be open a little longer.
And the drinks were on the house!
The next day we got free maps and a lot of advice for sightseeing.

Breakfast is also served on the roof. The selection is good.

The rooms are very clean and and everything looks new. Rooms have windows with double glass, so most of the street noise will stay outside. Besides that, some of the other rooms face a small inner courtyard so they should be even quiet.

There's a pc in the lobby with free internet and there's also Wifi in the building.

Our flight left late in the evening , we checked out at noon and left our luggage with the hotel. W\hen we came back to the hotel to pick up our luggage we were offered a room so we could take a quick shower before heading to the airport. .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaartenVWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this small hotel for three nights. The staff was very friendly and responsive. The room was bright and clean. The breakfast spread (included in the price) was great with local and more traditional offerings. The location was just right, near most of the tourist attractions. The view from the roof, where breakfast is served, was great overlooking the sea, the town and few mosques.
I highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamsho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews