We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Erguvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Erguvan Hotel
Ranked #136 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a lovely three night stay at The Erguvan. It is ideally situated within walking distance of the main attractions and restaurants, although be prepared to be woken at 5.30am with the call to prayer at the nearby Blue Mosque!

As we were travelling as a group of friends we requested the rooms to be on the same floor, however this was not allocated as the hotel was full, but as all the rooms had interconnecting phones this was not a problem. My room was on the first floor and at the front of the building and the traffic noise was constant, also the market set up in front of my room very early Wednesday morning! The rooms higher up and the ones at the back of the hotel were much quieter. The rooms were clean and well equipped; fresh towels are provided daily.

The manager, Mine, was most helpful directing us and booking evening entertainment, with transport provided. The shuttle service to and from the airport was well worth the supplement.

Breakfast on the roof top terrace was plentiful and varied. There were a selection of teas, but I would have preferred fresh fruit juice instead of squash! The view was amazing, it’s such a shame that the weather meant we had to stay undercover.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor for the view or a room at the back of the hotel for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 541 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Ok so i found this hotel on orbitz after searching & researching for hours for a "good" place to stay. Overall i was surprised with my discovery & very happy with my overall stay. It’s an average 3 star hotel when it comes to things about the hotel in general, but it’s a great value & helpful staff takes it to that next level. The hotel is located very well when it comes to things that are in the area & I walked literally all over city from this hotel. I believe I paid less than $80 per night at this hotel & stayed 3 nights –for what I received it was a great deal. Room was sized well with a window, clearly room was dated but clean so it didn’t matter to me –bathroom was tight with a standing shower fully enclosed with great hot water and pressure. I could find nothing improper about the hotel & they were informative on things so I could sightsee efficiently. The hotels greatest feature is the terrace on the roof overlooking the bay of ships & the blue mosque; they also serve a passable breakfast here. There are no restaurants/eateries or shopping at this hotel, but a few minutes’ walk and you will have everything. If you’re traveling on a budget or you’re choosing to travel to solely focus on the city that you are in, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TattooedPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We arrived in Istanbul to a perfect location with a terrace overlooking the sea and the Blue mosque. Clean rooms, powerful warm showers, fresh towels daily, a superb breakfast buffet with so much variety. There were different home made dishes made daily for breakfast! The family members were also helpful with tips about where to go and booked us a taxi back. They called up places to speak in Turkish to help us plan our tours. The location is outstanding, central, but not in the heart of the noise! 10 minutes walk to the Grand Bazar, and a stone's throw from the hippodrome! A few corner shops nearby and a lovely souvenir shop around the corner. Very peaceful. What a wonderful holiday experience! Thoroughly happy with our experience and we would all recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelstar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Erguvan is a clean, cosy and friendly hotel in the great location of sultanahmet . We spent five nights at the Erguvan hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. breakfast was great, there were lots of options and the helpful staff gave us lots of great advice and tips on what to do everyday. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. great value for money!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alisonk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Erguvan is in a great location for a visit to this fabulous city. We have just returned from 5 nights here and we would happily suggest it as an option for friends. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast sets you up for the day.
We found the staff very helpful and Mineh (sp?) was often on hand to offer suggestions and options for trips or days out.
With the 3 top Istanbul locations and the tram station within a 20 minute walk (albeit partly uphill) well worth consideration.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have less road noise, although this would be minimal if the drain cover didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LickeyEndBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Staff is wonderful. Super close to everything. Clean. Free breakfast with amazing view. Free wifi works well. Rooms are small, but nice. for $50 a night, I cannot complain. I would highly recommend this and would stay again if I come back to Istanbul.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I went to erguvan in January 2013 and i found it amazing .
Very clean hotel with a great location in heart of sultanahmet and very near to hippodrome, blue mosque ,aya Sofia and topkapi palace. I really had fun and the staff was very nice and very helpful and I would like to thank cigdem ,Murat and eyub staff of hotel for their extraordinary efforts to help us ,they really know what they are doing.
Thank you very much
Hisham

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hisham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#71 of 1,171 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#333 of 1,171 in Istanbul
450 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
Sarnic Hotel (Ottoman Mansion)
#234 of 1,171 in Istanbul
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Sultan Tughra Hotel
Sultan Tughra Hotel
#122 of 1,171 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,171 in Istanbul
3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erguvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erguvan Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Cad. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $43 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Erguvan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, family-run hotel in the center of Istanbul's historical attractions with comfortable and clean rooms, suites, lobby-bar terrace. The Erguvan Hotel is a special-class hotel located 15 miles from Istanbul Ataturk Havalimani Airport. This brand-new hotel is only 50 meters far from historical areas with high-quality and the prices are lower than of the similar range hotels. It is at the heart of the historical district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Erguvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing