We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Erguvan Hotel in Istanbul”
Review of Erguvan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Erguvan Hotel
Ranked #149 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Rockwood TN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Erguvan Hotel in Istanbul”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We spent 4 nights (3 at the beginning of our trip and 1 at the end) and were quite pleased with the staff there--even though we came in late both times (and tired). Location was great---it was not far to walk to all the Sultanahmet sites, and we enjoyed walking down to the sea of marmara for a delightful sunset. The room was very comfortable, well planned. Breakfast buffet was typical Turkish but very complete and enjoyable on the terrace overlooking the Hippodrome walls, and the Sea of Marmara. I would highly recommend this as a delightful stay in Istanbul. It was quiet too. Try the Stone Cafe across the street for some great food. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredrica65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    192
    35
    7
    3
See reviews for
94
205
36
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brewster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

If you travel to Istanbul to see the historic sights, this is the perfect location. The staff are polite, helpful, friendly, English speaking, etc. The view from the restaurant/ breakfast area is splendid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eastutican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hotel is very good, staff are awesome. Amazing roof top breakfast views with variety of bread, cheese, fruits and egg. I would say we loved everything about this hotel (BTW, we had to come back to Istanbul, so we booked a room here again). the downside could be that you have to walk a bit distance to the tram station with some uphill walk, which makes it harder for kids or families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osamh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, MN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Nice rooms, with new windows that block out almost all of the street noise. Centrally located to Sultanahment area. 5 minute walk to blue mosque. Many restaurants around. Small fridge in room, no coffee maker. Very small bathrooms. The breakfast area is a nice patio on the top floor with a great view of the bay. We spent a couple of late afternoons enjoying wine by ourselves on the patio. Serviceable breakfast: eggs, fruits, cheeses, breads. Pretty large selection of breakfast food, actually. All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
586 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Not sure about Istanbul standard but this hotel is great based on its location that bring all point of interest within a walking distance and this make your stay easier. The staff is friendly but "passive" and hotel is clean as it should be. The bad part is that rooms have paper walls and you can hear anybody walking in the stairs, venues, doors and tv in next room...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This small hotel has really been fantastic for our 3 day stay. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Price was one of the cheapest we found, but the quality was top notch. Beautiful view from both the room and the rooftop patio. Friendly staff, nice bathroom, and good breakfast. The only downside is the weak wireless (sitting on the floor next to my room right now to write this review). Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
157 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed at the Erguvan Hotel during the 4-day holiday in late October. Many of the other hotels were booked up and we booked late, so ended up at the Erguvan. We were pleasantly surprised.

We stayed on the second floor and the room had hard wood floors and was clean. The bed was 2 singles pushed together but that is the standard in Europe so we were not surprised. Many other reviewers have commented that the beds were hard but we liked them that way. There was quite a lot of natural light during the day. The wall paper was really nice in the room - I don't know what it is about Turkey but they have really nice wallpaper everywhere!

The location of this hotel is really great for exploring the sites. We walked to Sultanahmet and Aya Sophia in about 5-10 minutes. We were able to walk to the Sultanahmet tram station in about 7 minutes. That tram took us across the bridge and we were able to take the funicular up to Beyoglu and to Taksim Square. Tram tickets cost TKL 3 each way and the funicular was TKL 3.50 each way.

We were also a short walk from Arasta Bazaar and the neighboring restaurants.

We booked on hotels.com and got a pretty good deal. Given the price and the quality of the room/service, I would rate this a "4". Sure, there could be improvements, but in this price range, this hotel does really well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderingnomad111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#65 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Sultanahmet
Celal Sultan Hotel
Celal Sultan Hotel
#163 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arena Hotel
Arena Hotel
#168 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#77 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#40 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erguvan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erguvan Hotel

Property: Erguvan Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Mah. Aksakal Cad. No:3 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Erguvan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique, family-run hotel in the center of Istanbul's historical attractions with comfortable and clean rooms, suites, lobby-bar terrace. The Erguvan Hotel is a special-class hotel located 15 miles from Istanbul Ataturk Havalimani Airport. This brand-new hotel is only 50 meters far from historical areas with high-quality and the prices are lower than of the similar range hotels. It is at the heart of the historical district of Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Erguvan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing