We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“functional hotel in good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albatros Premier Hotel
Ranked #447 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Ended up here for one night after a mix-up (our fault) at next door Hotel Amira, which is the only place to stay in this location if you can afford it. Albatros has functional if slightly drab and dated rooms. They have nice little balconies to sit and people watch from, and the roof terrace is pleasant. The GOOD is the friendly and helpful staff (except the cleaners, who hang about outside your room waiting for you to leave). The BAD is the showers, which as other reviewers have mentioned are incredibly temperamental. The breakfast fare was average, with a toaster that you had to cut your own bread for. Bizarrely, the breakfast plates are also in this corner meaning anyone cutting bread is blocking access to the plates (admittedly a minor inconvenience). The Wifi was free but access was patchy.

You are certainly spoiled for choice in terms of accommodation in this area. I can't really think of an outstanding reason either way to stay in or avoid Albatros.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
There are newer reviews for Albatros Premier Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 584 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked this hotel because heard good reviews about it. And made right dicision.
Stayed in hotel from 02.11.2012 to 04.11.2012.

The staff are amazing. Savash Chelenk ( front office manager ) and other staff was very nice and hospitable with us. Incredibly helpful. Special thanks for them.

Location- is ideally situated in the heart of Sultanhamet. From hotel you can get to the most interested touristic places just by walking.

Rooms - were clean, spacious and the bathrooms were lovely. The beds were very comfortable

Breakfast was very delicious. large selection of food.

Wonderful roof top restaurant with fantastic views of Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and Bosphorous.

We really enjoid staying in this hotel. and i definitely know that next time wi will stay only in ALBATROS PREMIER BOUTIQUE .

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emiliya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Albatros Hotel in Sultanahmet is walking distance from many of the main atractions, including the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace the and the Grand Bazaar. It is a small friendly place with a rooftop bar. On the last day I left a scarf I am fond of in the dining room, I emailed them asking if they would post it to me in the UK, and they did. Very kind of them. Denise

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DD3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have mixed feelings regarding this hotel. Let start with the plusses.

- Location – close to perfect. The hotel is located close to the tip of Sultanameth, a bit on the opposite side to the Golden Horn. You have everything within walking distance - even the Galata bridge. But you have to start with a climb up the hill. Up to where the sights like Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Topkapi and the Grand Bazar are situated. Up to where you can catch the tram.

- Looks – fantastic. It is a beautiful hotel. At least on the outside. We constantly saw people on the street take photos of the hotel.

- Service – outstanding. They were ever so helpful to book and rebook restaurants, tours etc. They even stayed way past closing time in the rooftop bar to serve us drinks and wine.

- Rooms – fair. We were a group who had several rooms. Some were real small others were real spacey. In particular 301 (with a Jacuzzi) and 306. Look first before accepting.

- Cleanness – fair. The rooms were generally clean - even if not perfect. Some dirt in the corners, but not much to complain about.

- Breakfast – fair. Fair but not more. Some days you could get an egg or some scrambled eggs. But if you were late it was gone and not replenished.

- Beds – hard. Very hard. So hard we had difficulties to adapt. The first night we had difficulties to sleep for more than an hour. Then you woke with pain and had to turn.

- Shower – horrible. Worst of all were the showers. Water pressure is very low – but if I stretch it ample. But adjusting the water temperature was almost impossible. You had to adjust the faucet within a millimeter or two. And when the temperature was just right and you went into the shower the water temperature changed to either freezing cold burning hot. That was really really bad.


All in all I would rate this as a very friendly 2½ star hotel. If they fix the showers and improves the breakfast I would give a strong three. Include slightly softer beds and they get 3½.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kjellkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Good facilities in room and roof top garden & eating area excellent as well as a spacious
dining room on the ground floor. within easy walking distance of the major attractions such as the Blue Mosque, Sultans square & Underwater aqua Cistern. Not to far away from the Spice Market
and Grand Bazaar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast, beds a bit too firm and roomcleaning could be better. Splendid view from roof terrace to the Marmara sea and to the Blue Mosque. Within walking distance to most main attractions. This was our second time in the same hotel, and we'll probably be staying here again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that's not on ground level, as you would probably be disturbed by traffic...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneliba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We throughly enjoyed everything about our stay at the Albatros. From the location to the staff to the breakfast and the rooms, it has everything you need for a wonderful stay in Istanbul. It is housed in a beautiful building-so beautiful, in fact, that people are always taking pictures of it from the street!

As others have said the location is great--just a short walk to all the major sites and to the tram for points farther away. What I would add to that is that while it is a very central location it is also tucked away in a charming little neighborhood with quaint shops and lots of restaurants. Just off the eaten path, we felt more like locals than tourists.

We made full use of the rooftop deck. It's a great place to relax after a long day, have a beer, watch the sunset over the sea and the lights come up on the Blue Mosque.

The typically Turkish breakfast is quite extensive and fresh. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. By the way we are a gay couple and we were treated with nothing but respect and kindness by all.

WE stayed there twice-at the beginning and the end of our two-week trip to Turkey. The first room we had was typically small (as most are in Europe) with a small balcony. Upon our return we were upgraded to a suite which was huge and even had a Turkish bath If you need more room opt for a suite. At these prices it is well worth it.

If you enjoy a small boutique hotel I highly recommend the Albatros.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony or a suite if you need more space.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhtpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#71 of 1,159 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Burckin Suites Hotel
Burckin Suites Hotel
#308 of 1,159 in Istanbul
443 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#85 of 1,159 in Istanbul
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#334 of 1,159 in Istanbul
474 reviews
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#247 of 1,159 in Istanbul
716 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#306 of 1,159 in Istanbul
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albatros Premier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatros Premier Hotel

Address: Kucukayasofya Mahallesi Cayiroglu Sok No 1, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#299 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $38 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albatros Premier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albatros Premier Hotel is located in the hearth of old city Sultanahmet. Located next to the Blue Mosque, Little Hagia Sophia and just 500 mt. to the worldwide famous Hagia Sophia aND Topkapi Palace.The Hotel has 55 rooms and some of them has sea view and balcony as well, also corner and family suites are available for your vacation in Istanbul. The roof top terrace has an amazing view of the Blue Mosque and Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albatros Premier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatros Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing