We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naz Wooden House Inn
Ranked #64 of 1,087 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lovely little hotel, extremely polite and helpful staff and breakfast was amazing. Snacks and tea/coffee all day in the breakfast room/roof terrace (which both have amazing views of the sea and of the Blue Mosque) as well as free Wifi and a brilliant location.

3 minutes walk from Arasta Bazaar, the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofya, on a quiet road with a shop just opposite. The streets are thin and we would have had trouble finding it had we not got a taxi, although this might not be a problem if arriving in daylight.

Lovely rooms with tasteful decor and comfy beds. Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Room 3 (facing the street) has a huge LED sign outside the window, but careful curtain placement mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naz_Wooden, Guest Relations Manager at Naz Wooden House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us. We have been very happy to read your kind review, and are glad to see that you spent enjoyable stay in Naz Wooden House.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

Mr.Hakan Varan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 377 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Naz wooden house in Dec 2012-selecting it because of its low rates and positive reviews. We also opted for a room facing the street since other reviewers had suggested it would be quiet.Our experience was quite different.
From the tram station at Sultanahmet to get to the hotel was a struggle as it was not easy to get directions and we had huge luggage. At the hotel, we were shown into a room (No-3) as per our preference of a street facing room. It is a tiny box-we could barely move two steps sideways between the bed and the wall. So we asked for a bigger room. Immediately the day time receptionist showed us a bigger room (No-7) and said we could have it - but for 25Euros extra. She could see the dismay on our faces. A while later, after a so called consultation with her manager.....she came back with an offer of 15Euros extra for the bigger room. As we were pondering about looking for other places- she came back with an offer for 'just' 10Euros extra- that was her final offer. we took it-being exhausted from a long journey we had no energy to go hunting for alternative places. But this kind of psychological manipulation just left a very bad taste.not to mention having to lug our luggage through narrow winding staircases upstairs.

Room 7 was fine. the sound of trains passing was not a major disturbance.the breakfast as mentioned by other travelers was fantastic- but after 3 days of the exact same thing....one does wish there was some variety. Mr. Hakan Varan - the night receptionist was fantastic- very helpful telling us about the non-touristy sites, shopping areas, travel options etc, which made our travels in the city -smooth and fun.
By the end of the stay i was ill-and the day time receptionist was aware of it. We asked if we could use the room for a few extra hours beyond checkout time. She announced that would cost us 40 Euros more! this attitude of just wanting to fleece the customers at every little opportunity just left a very bad impression of the place. Would rather opt for a place that is straight-forward and upfront, with more spacious rooms and easier navigation- for the next time.

Room Tip: Room no-7 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaesFerns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Guys, I stayed in Naz wodden House in Dec.2012.
It was quite a good experience. The price is reasonable and the stuffs are friendly and helpful.The manger i met even told me some Turkish.There is tea coffee and simple snacks all day round.
In addition, the location is quite good, only 5 minutes walk from the city center where most the attractions were.

Just remind you, in winter,it's quite cold when you slept quite close to the window.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan1217_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend and were exceedingly comfortable - amazing value for money in January, the location was basically perfect, the service was great, it was clean, friendly, quiet and even laid on afternoon tea and cake! One room (the one facing the street and the Blue Mosque) was small but perfectly formed and the other (facing the Bosphorus) was so spacious it had a seating area and a balcony. The old structure of the building has been incorporated into the new building very sympathetically as well. I would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Apolobamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff in the reception was friendly and helpful. If the double room is quite small, you can try to book triple room, it was very huge. Hotel interior is awesome, in ottoman style. We were visiting during winter, the room heater and water heater was well working.
They served delicious traditional Turkish breakfast. Location is in the Sultanahmet tourist area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jokos84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naz_Wooden, Guest Relations Manager at Naz Wooden House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

It was a real pleasure for us to read your kind, detailed feedback and we are glad that we could contribute to making your stay with us a great experience.


We do look forward to welcoming you back soon in Naz Wooden House.

Best regards,

Mr.Hakan Varan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I can not say enough that this hotel is an amazing experience. First off this was our families first trip to Istanbul and it was very smooth. The staff could not have been more accommodating. We found the first room wonderful but since we had a child it was suggested that we could accept a larger room. We did and the room was much larger, yet harder to heat. Even though this was a small road bump the staff helped in a number of suggested ways. Hakan Varan was the most helpful! He helped us with our room rates, heater, food suggestions, taxi cabs, and so much more. He is the reason we ended up staying 4 nights! We usually experience a number of hotels but this proved to be worth the stay! Oh yeah the breakfast is traditional but fantastic. You must overdose on potatoes! The location is also a huge advantage but you can read that in all the other reviews.

Room Tip: only take the big room if you don't mind the temperature a bit cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

It is amazing that this place was possibly the cheapest hotel I could find in Istanbul, yet it is in such a great location, with very friendly staff and no real negatives that spring to mind.

It is around a 10 minute walk (or less if you are a quick walker like myself) from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, in a really atmospheric neighbourhood. You are very close to the water, with a lovely view on the roof terrace: on one side the sea and the other the Blue Mosque, and I found it to be an ideal base for my exploring the rest of the city.

The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful and whilst the room was small, it had everything I needed, and I can only remember hearing the train others have mentioned on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acwf2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses Hotel
Deniz Houses Hotel
#239 of 1,163 in Istanbul
682 reviews
Sultanahmet
Premist Hotel
Premist Hotel
#90 of 1,163 in Istanbul
751 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ahmet Efendi Evi
Ahmet Efendi Evi
#47 of 1,087 in Istanbul
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Med Cezir Hotel
Med Cezir Hotel
#14 of 1,087 in Istanbul
371 reviews
Sultanahmet
Seatanbul Apart
Seatanbul Apart
#66 of 1,246 in Istanbul
190 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old Mile Suites
Old Mile Suites
#87 of 1,087 in Istanbul
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naz Wooden House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naz Wooden House Inn

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Degirmeni Sok. No:7, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 1,087 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range: $28 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Naz Wooden House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NAZ Wooden House Inn today serves as a model for traditional housing and accommodation. It has 7 private rooms, 24 hours hot-water, air-condition/central heating, cable TV, mini bar and hair-dryer in all the rooms. We provide laundry service and telephone calls with reasonable fees. Referring to the internet service, we have free wireless internet service at the hotel lobby if you have your laptop with you, otherwise the internet cafe in our travel agency located close to the hotel welcomes you without any cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Naz Wooden House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naz Wooden House Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing